22 Reviews

I've been missing apple squares since my great grandmother passed. These are a great substitue. The flavor was fantastic, I used 6 medium/large gala apples. In my jelly roll pan (18x13) the crust did not completely cover the bottom and top so next time I will likely try to make 1.5 times the crust recipe. Crust is light, flaky and delicious & filling is just the right amount of sugar /cinnamon. The glaze I had to add an extra Tbsp of water but is a great topping. Serves beatuifully warm or cold and is even better with some vanilla ice cream. Thanks for a keeper!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy Jayne July 27, 2011

Loved this recipe. Cuts beautifully. Used a 10x15 pan. I used butter for the shortening and it worked perfect. Needed a tad more crust, so next time I will do 3 cups of flour and 3/4 cups of milk. Used a simple egg wash, which browned beautifully. I did not put the glaze on and it didn't need it at all. I use a convection oven at 375 degrees. Looks just like an apple pie but square, but better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Binkie November 01, 2009

VERY GOOD! After reading the reviews I cut the sugar back to 2/3 cup and doubled the dough, it was perfect. I made a plate of these for my sons preschool. All the children loved them and one of the teachers asked me which bakery I bought them from! It's a keeper:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz November 04, 2007

Very good...just like an apple pie. I too had troubles stretching the crust...so the next time I made it I used 1 and 1/2 times the crust. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC March 04, 2007

I loved it, reminds me of my childhood, we had an apple tree and my mom used to make apple pie squares with icing. I did make 1-1/2 times the dough tho. I never rolled out so much pie crust dough before. I'm always looking for something new to bake for my significant other's lunch. I can't wait to see his reaction :)))) Think I'd maybe add a few more apples tho, I used a Jelly Roll pan, it's pretty big.. AND I dunno about everyone else but I had to cut the baking time by 10 minutes.. was getting toooo brown :))) Thanks for sharing this recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnesotaCook September 21, 2006

I thought this crust was very bland; I prefer a buttery crust. The filling is also bland even though I added more ground cinnamon and also ground nutmeg. I won't be making this again, sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in MA May 23, 2015

Great recipe! I had to make a few changes so my grandson could eat it (he can't have dairy or eggs). I omitted the eggs and the milk. I used 3 1/4 cups flour to 1 1/2 cups shortening, 1 1/2 tsp salt and roughly 2/3 cup cold water for the crust. For the filling, I used a little less sugar (which was half white and half brown) and I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and about 2 tablespoons lemon juice. I used a 10x15 glass baking dish., and baked for 30-35 minutes. Perfect! The glaze was a nice touch. By the way, this is the only time I've made pie crust that I could actually fold in quarters to lay over my filling, without it ripping. I'd give you more stars if I could!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jburlingame6027 November 26, 2014

I just made this today and I'm waiting for it to cool enough to cut. It looks great but just like so many others, the crust was a pistol to try to stretch into that big pan, but I made it. I had to cut the baking time to 40 minutes on 375 and it is perfectly brown. It looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe. My brother-in-law had asked me if I had ever made them because his mom had always made it, so I looked on here and found it! I hope he likes it..thanks again for the recipe. Ok, it cooled, I cut it into squares (so easy to cut!) and everyone loved it!! Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjrose046_915090 January 08, 2013

My daughter brought apples and I made this. It was tasty. It was a nice change from pie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop September 11, 2009

These were OK. Nothing special in my books. I had to make them in a 9x13 pan because that's as thin as I could get the dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilsweetie March 01, 2009
Tastes Like Apple Pie Apple Squares!