Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tastes Like Apple Pie Apple Squares! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tastes Like Apple Pie Apple Squares!

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2011

      I've been missing apple squares since my great grandmother passed. These are a great substitue. The flavor was fantastic, I used 6 medium/large gala apples. In my jelly roll pan (18x13) the crust did not completely cover the bottom and top so next time I will likely try to make 1.5 times the crust recipe. Crust is light, flaky and delicious & filling is just the right amount of sugar /cinnamon. The glaze I had to add an extra Tbsp of water but is a great topping. Serves beatuifully warm or cold and is even better with some vanilla ice cream. Thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Loved this recipe. Cuts beautifully. Used a 10x15 pan. I used butter for the shortening and it worked perfect. Needed a tad more crust, so next time I will do 3 cups of flour and 3/4 cups of milk. Used a simple egg wash, which browned beautifully. I did not put the glaze on and it didn't need it at all. I use a convection oven at 375 degrees. Looks just like an apple pie but square, but better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      VERY GOOD! After reading the reviews I cut the sugar back to 2/3 cup and doubled the dough, it was perfect. I made a plate of these for my sons preschool. All the children loved them and one of the teachers asked me which bakery I bought them from! It's a keeper:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Very good...just like an apple pie. I too had troubles stretching the crust...so the next time I made it I used 1 and 1/2 times the crust. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I loved it, reminds me of my childhood, we had an apple tree and my mom used to make apple pie squares with icing. I did make 1-1/2 times the dough tho. I never rolled out so much pie crust dough before. I'm always looking for something new to bake for my significant other's lunch. I can't wait to see his reaction :)))) Think I'd maybe add a few more apples tho, I used a Jelly Roll pan, it's pretty big.. AND I dunno about everyone else but I had to cut the baking time by 10 minutes.. was getting toooo brown :))) Thanks for sharing this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      Great recipe! I had to make a few changes so my grandson could eat it (he can't have dairy or eggs). I omitted the eggs and the milk. I used 3 1/4 cups flour to 1 1/2 cups shortening, 1 1/2 tsp salt and roughly 2/3 cup cold water for the crust. For the filling, I used a little less sugar (which was half white and half brown) and I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and about 2 tablespoons lemon juice. I used a 10x15 glass baking dish., and baked for 30-35 minutes. Perfect! The glaze was a nice touch. By the way, this is the only time I've made pie crust that I could actually fold in quarters to lay over my filling, without it ripping. I'd give you more stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      I just made this today and I'm waiting for it to cool enough to cut. It looks great but just like so many others, the crust was a pistol to try to stretch into that big pan, but I made it. I had to cut the baking time to 40 minutes on 375 and it is perfectly brown. It looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe. My brother-in-law had asked me if I had ever made them because his mom had always made it, so I looked on here and found it! I hope he likes it..thanks again for the recipe. Ok, it cooled, I cut it into squares (so easy to cut!) and everyone loved it!! Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      My daughter brought apples and I made this. It was tasty. It was a nice change from pie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      These were OK. Nothing special in my books. I had to make them in a 9x13 pan because that's as thin as I could get the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Yum O! We loved these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I substituted Splenda sugar baking and this was great-also,(why do I use a recipe?) I used a premade roll out crust, didn't even frost it, it was that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Very yummy and easy to make for someone like me who is not skilled at making pie-crust. I made extra dough (per suggestions) and used a 9x13 inch pan. I did reduce the sugar a little since I had very sweet apples. It turned out very wet though, I had to take the juices out with a turkey baster. Maybe next time I'll dredge the apple slices in flour first or add cornflakes like someone else suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I have made this a couple times now. Although i don't always follow the direction exactly, i always use the idea of baking it in a square pan...i cannot make a pretty looking pie even if my life depended on it. We esp love the glaze topping its delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      What a tasty dessert! I doubled the dough and forgot the glaze, but i think it doesn't need it! I'll be making this again and again! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      My Husband loves apple pie and gave this recipe a 5 star rating..I did make 1 and 1/2 times the dough,for easier handling.I used 6 apples...And cut the sugar to 2/3 cup..I was really glad I did.It was sweet enough.. I used a 13x9 pan..Thank U for this recipe ..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This was very good! Tastes very similar to apple pie - just a little too sweet. I think I'll cut the white sugar back to 2/3 cup next time. I don't usually have much luck with pastry but this worked like a dream for me!! I also used a 9X13 glass pan for this instead of the cookie sheet. Because I didn't pinch the 2 crusts together well enough, the sugar mixture leaked and made a huge mess - so, make sure you take the extra time to get those crusts sealed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Someone I work with makes this every year, we beg her to bring it in. It is sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      I made this recipe today for my father, who had been in the hospital for several days. We all met for a picnic and I brought these. These were exactly what I was looking for and I'm so glad that the help boards help me find this recipe. I doubled the pastry/crust, tripled the filling and glaze portions and I baked baked in a half sheet pan. I had never really attempted rolling my own crusts and especally one as big as I needed. I did roll between to pieces of parchment paper and sprinkled a little extra flour. I pieced any that might not have covered. I did also take one tip from another recipe and I added 2 cups of crushed corn flakes in between the crust and the filling to help keep the crust from getting soggy. Thank you for helping me give a special treat to my father. Just as a side note, it took me about 2 hours from start to finish with all the peeling and slicing I had to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      I took Chef Trumpies hint and made extra dough, this was very good! Great treat for those who LOVE apple pie (ME!). I had a few extra apples so I used a little more than the recipe called for, it worked fine. I served these cut up on a platter with pieces of cheddar cheese and it made a lovely presentation as well as a great snack. My son enjoyed this too, which was a surprise because he wanted no part of apple pie at Christmas. I think this appealed more to him because it was "finger food". That is fine with me because these do not have too much sugar. I think it would be very interesting to mix up the fruit a bit, try pears, raisens ect. THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tastes Like Apple Pie Apple Squares!

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.7
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    40%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 196.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes