Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tarte Aux Pommes (French Apple - Custard Tart) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tarte Aux Pommes (French Apple - Custard Tart)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2011

      I forgot to rate this. This is special and wonderful comfort food. I made this when invited over to dinner by friends who had just returned from a cruise and still had other friends from the cruise staying with them. They said they enjoyed this more than any desserts they had on the cruise. Simple and delicious! If I remember right, I made homemade cinnamon ice cream to go with this, but it is really just fine on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This was big hit with my family. I served it with a little whipped cream on top. I had a bunch of apples that I needed to use up and this was a great way to use them! I will make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Very nice and sophisticated, I used cognac and loved the icing sugar on top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This is a very pretty and very delicious tart. I used a large tart pan, more apples, but the same amount of custard. As a result, the apples in my tart were much more prominent than in Paula's. I used Pastryismybiz' Pate' Brisee- French Style Tart Dough for the crust and a nice cognac in the custard. The sprinkling on of the confectioners' sugar mid-bake is brilliant--it loses its powderiness, adds so much to the appearance and contributes just the right note of sweetness. A lovely dessert, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Really nice flavor and texture. We all enjoyed it. Instrutions were great. I followed them exactly and it turned out great Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      As I've said before, and I'll say again, I do NOT do pastry. Past experiments could stand up to re-entry into the atmosphere, so I made this and set it on a ready made sponge cake. In a word...SUPERB. In two words SUPERB and EASY. Thankyou evelyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      This was our Christmas Eve dessert. Tart apples in a flaky crust topped with a rich custard--WOW. This is not overly sweet and has a wonderful flavor. The timing was perfect. I served this at room temperature. It was enjoyed by everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Made this for a special Easter lunch, and it got a really great response! The custard had a yummy flavour, although it seemed a little runnier than i expected it to be - it didn't set, but the apples were quite juicy, so that may be why (!) - but the combination of buttery pastry, tart apples and rich creamy custard was definitely a good one! One thing i will say - 3 lbs of apples was way more than was needed, 3 actual apples filled my tarte nicely with a couple of slices left over for nibbling on while it cooked ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tarte Aux Pommes (French Apple - Custard Tart)

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.9
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    29%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 43.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 15.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites