Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tartar Sauce That Makes You Scream... Oh Yes! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tartar Sauce That Makes You Scream... Oh Yes!

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2010

      I didn't think I'd like such a tangy tartar (not my usual choice), but after it sat a while, it just got better & better. I served it with Crispy Tilapia (#47391) as suggested by someone else & it made that recipe even more outstanding. And yes, the capers really make it. BTW, I finally figured out how to "chop" those little suckers that kept rolling off or flying off my cutting board. I put them in a ZipLock bag & took the smooth side of my meat mallet & smashed them up. It worked great. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      I was making fried fish for dinner tonight, and when I went to the fridge to look for tartar sauce, it was all gone! I checked a few recipes to try and make one from scratch, and yours looked really good so I chose it. I had all the ingredients on hand, it took only a few minutes to make, and I put it in refrigerator for the flavors to meld as I started to prepare dinner.... Well, your recipe made the best tartar sauce I have ever had. It was so smooth, creamy and fresh-tasting. SO much better than the stuff in a jar -- I'll never buy store-made tartar sauce again. Yours is the one I'll be serving from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      Yummy! I used lime juice because that's what I had...and dried parsley (1 T) instead of fresh...and we love it! Now I'm going to have to find more fish recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Oh Yes!! This is amazing sauce. I wanted to eat it by the spoonful - not a healthy choice even though I did use light mayo. It isn't just for fish either. I had used the last of the mayo to make this up, so I was putting this on my turkey sandwich for lunch the next day - excellent. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      This is BY FAR the BEST tartar sauce recipe I have found. Actually, it's the BEST tartar sauce I've ever tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      There was a discussion on Facebook about the Luby's tartar sauce and how incredible it was. I was lacking one ingredient, and never could find the "real" recipe, so I opted for this one. I'm so glad I did. It's really excellent. This is going to be my tartar sauce recipe for life!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      I made it exactly as it was written and it was great, especially with my homemade mayonnaise. I'm thinking some horseradish might be good in it as well, but it's certainly fine the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Yummy! Made a half-recipe for Luby's Cafeteria Chicken Durango. Thick, fresh-tasting, and easy to whip up from ingredients in the fridge. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Yep - great stuff here! I could only find sweet gherkins at the store for some reason, so I swapped out for dill pickle relish. Rough chopped the green onion, tossed everything in the food processor and whirled it last night. Today with dinner - it was fab! My batch was more than a cup by volume - closer to 1 1/2 cups. I filled up my 1 1/4 container and had not even scraped down the FP bowl - so grab an appropriate container; don't want to waste any of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I had no parsely so I left it out and used a generous amount of cayenne pepper sauce, a 1/4 cup sweet pickle relish and fresh chopped onion instead of scallion. This was delicious! Better after it sat for awhile. thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Wow, thank you so much for a delicious recipe! Needed Tartar sauce at the last minute and made yours and it was wonderful! Thanks again! -Italianmomof2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Oh yes...oh yes...i will never buy bottled tartar sauce again...we loved this stuff !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Very good, used it on some lake perch. Also used sweet relish in place of the dill, next time I plan to divide and try both types to see which is better! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      We will never buy tartar sauce again! This is perfect. For our taste, we exchanged the dilled gherkins for sweet relish... it was fabulous! Thanks so much for making something so simple so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      My husband loved this sauce so much that he actually went to the store to buy more fish so he could use up the leftovers. I really never cared for tartar sauce until now. It was incredible. I will NEVER buy tartar sauce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      This was my first attempt in making tartar sauce~~yummy!! Next time I will leave the capers chunkier as we really like them, but otherwise it's great just as is. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This tartar sauce is sooo good! I had never used capers before and I was glad to have the opportunity to try them. They really made this recipe special. All of these flavors combined were just out of this world. We had the sauce with both fried fish fillets with fish sticks. The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      We dipped our fried fish in this and we loved it. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Take the time to make this! It only takes about 15 more seconds than squeezing the yukky store bought tartar sauce! This is so delicious, and everyone else is right--do not skip the capers! I'm going to have to buy more fish just so I can eat this again.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Very easy and verrry yummy, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tartar Sauce That Makes You Scream... Oh Yes!

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.4
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    75%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 282.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites