139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had just fried up two lbs of shrimp and realized I forgot to pick up tartar sauce for DH so I decided to check Recipezaar for a homemade one.... DH said it was better than the last tartar sauce we got at the store and said it was 5 stars! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana January 26, 2010

Awesome! Only thing I wish I would have done is made the full amount rather than half...we were practically drinking the stuff :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thumbs January 14, 2010

We don't like any sweetness either, so this is just perfect for us! I've made this many times now so don't even use the recipe anymore! ;) It is that good!!! Thanks Nan! I know I'll be using this recipe for years to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom December 17, 2009

This is excellent. No need to buy from store anymore. I just need to remember to make this in advance so it has time to develop all the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN October 06, 2009

this was really good for homemade sauce! It makes me never want to buy from the store again. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Oregon September 29, 2009

Love this tarter sauce. I have made it a couple of times. We have lived in Mexico (loved that), and when we first went down we didn't ever see lemons at the market, so I made limes the sub for lemons. That is what I did with this recipe the first time, and it works well. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Lauralee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee September 27, 2009

Very tasty, not sweet at all. All the kids really liked it One said it was too "dilly" but no one else thought so. I also didn't have onion flakes or parsley, but onion powder worked fine for me. Chilling really refines and brings out the taste, so don't forget that step. I will be making this again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boy named Sous September 04, 2009

I love this tartar sauce! I had another one that I used for years, but I found this one when I was looking for something different. I will NEVER use another tartar sauce at home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foonaka August 25, 2009

I loved this! I'm not a big tartar sauce fan but this was delicious. I'm going to keep dill relish in the fridge from now on just so I can make this anytime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanddwarfs August 09, 2009
Tartar Sauce