139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I cut this down to 1/2 cup, as that was all I needed for dinner. I rarely use tarter sauce, but enjoy it on the occasions where I have fish and chips. It's nice to have such an easy and classic sauce that I can make from ingredients that I normally keep on hand. The lemon and Worcestershire sauce gave this a brightness that most homemade recipes don't have, and the parsley gave it a nice fresh note. I used dill pickle this time, but I may try with capers instead next time (I prefer capers to pickles). Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH August 17, 2012

Just what we want in a tartar sauce. Served with Fish and Chips made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn August 15, 2012

Excellent Tartar Sauce I make this often and had not reviewed in the past. I serve with fried razor clams and oysters. Last night I made Salmon Patties, this was perfect on the buns. I use fresh onion finely chopped or grated, and dried parsley. Thanks for posting PanNan I too will never purchase jarred Sauce again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks May 16, 2012

Fantastic! I was too lazy to go to the store so I decided to make a tartar sauce recipe. I am very pleased with the results. I didn't have time to put it in the fridge for a hour so I put it in the freezer for about 10 mintues turned out perfect. Thank you so much for sharing. I will never buy tartar sauce again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita April 26, 2012

This was so great! I hope I never buy tartar sauce again. DH said it was the best he had ever had! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo April 17, 2012

This was much better than store-bought tartar sauce. I like that it calls for dill pickle and that it lasts longer in the fridge than most homemade sauces do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppergrrl March 29, 2012

This is really good. I made this to go with some baked fish and we loved it. Today I took it out and make a sandwich with the leftover fish and it was even better. The flavors blended so nicely, I plan on using this sauce always. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 20, 2012

This was great!!! My mother wanted to mix sweet relish and mayo together and call it tartar sauce! I just whipped some up for dinner and it still tasted great without sitting for a bit. I think I am going to have to try the fish you recommend as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danni85 October 04, 2011

Ditto people....can't stand sweet tartar sauce!!Gives me shivers just thinkin about it.This on the other hand was sooo good...and equally as easy to make!Will never have to buy it again.I made 1/2 cp as its only for two of us.I did add ranch powder and fresh pepper.May sound weird but I luv the dipping sauce for the calamari at Olive Garden.Come to find out its a peppercorn ranch!Not a tartar at all...so I thought the same theory would apply...and boy did it!My hubby doesn't care for tartar but he enjoyed this.I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge.I also added a bit of dill weed and the zest from the lemon that was used for juice.Thx for finally a good tartar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWantABe September 04, 2011

Super easy to make and excellent results. I won't buy tartar sauce again, this is just too good. My wife wants to try it with miracale whip to see if it is a little sweeter. I'm great with it made with mayo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejmonahan July 13, 2011
Tartar Sauce