139 Reviews

I made this recipe a few nights ago to go with the Fish and Chips that I made. (The Beer Batter on this site - the one with the most reviews is the one I used). This tartar sauce was excellent and really tasted good with the battered fish. I halved the recipe for one person and used chopped dill pickle and fresh lemon juice. I will not buy tartar sauce in the store anymore - will make this recipe. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. Much tastier than store bought.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.cheryl April 09, 2014

Excellent Tartar sauce, I only made one change to this. I used fresh yellow onion and used 2 tbsp. after sitting in the fridge all day it had a great flavor with my fish and chips. thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian_mcco January 24, 2014

Very good. I did add salt and pepper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icandoit185 August 18, 2013

Made this homemade tartar sauce to go with some oven-baked fish. We really enjoyed the sauce -- so much better to make it from scratch vs. bottled sauce. I made a couple of minor changes by reducing the amount of mayo and increasing the dill pickle relish - just our preference. Will definitely make this sauce again - so easy to prepare. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry December 06, 2012

This is very good... I want it to have a little kick but am not sure how to accomplish that. In any case, it's a great recipe and I prefer making things to buying them. I'll see if flavor develops after it ages a day... and I'll read some reviews to see how I might tweak it to make it perfect... the kids really loved it.

Thanks a bunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW September 13, 2012

Very similar to the one I've been making for years. I used dill relish and fresh onion. The worcestershire sauce gave it a nice little kick. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY August 30, 2012

Tasty! My last tag for ZWT#8 and Pee Wee Herman would be proud...another great adventure!!! Made for ZWT#8~Australia/Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 27, 2012

This is quite different than the store bought tartar sauce, the parsley really sets it apart. We very much enjoyed this version. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets August 19, 2012

I made it using dill relish. I still used the food processor. It was great with our fish tonight. Thanks PanNan :) Made for ZWT8 for Diners, Winers and Chives

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 18, 2012

This is delicious homemade tartar sauce. I loved it and will use it again.
Made for ZWT8 for the Diners, Winers and Chives team.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 18, 2012
Tartar Sauce