Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tartar Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tartar Sauce

    Average Rating:

    135 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 135

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2002

      Glad to hear someone abhors sweet relish in tartar sauce. I make it the exact same way, except I use a squirt of ketchup instead of the Worcestershire sauce, I will try it your way next time. Nothing beats homemade tartar sauce, the stuff in the jars does not compare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Thanks for the great recipe!! I did not have onion flakes so I subbed in a dashr or two of onion powder... I also did not have parsley so I left it out... What a great taste... This one is not for the ones that like sweet tartar sauce... Has a little bite, but excellent quality...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Perfect! Made it with vegan mayo and it tastes exactly like store-bought.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      This was way better than the grocery store and no preservatives. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

    • on April 10, 2014

      The flavor is fantastic! I think next time I will seed the pickle since it was a little thinner than I prefer. I also added a couple splashes of malt vinegar, a trick I learned from a British pub. I will definitely be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I made this recipe a few nights ago to go with the Fish and Chips that I made. (The Beer Batter on this site - the one with the most reviews is the one I used). This tartar sauce was excellent and really tasted good with the battered fish. I halved the recipe for one person and used chopped dill pickle and fresh lemon juice. I will not buy tartar sauce in the store anymore - will make this recipe. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. Much tastier than store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      Excellent Tartar sauce, I only made one change to this. I used fresh yellow onion and used 2 tbsp. after sitting in the fridge all day it had a great flavor with my fish and chips. thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Very good. I did add salt and pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Made this homemade tartar sauce to go with some oven-baked fish. We really enjoyed the sauce -- so much better to make it from scratch vs. bottled sauce. I made a couple of minor changes by reducing the amount of mayo and increasing the dill pickle relish - just our preference. Will definitely make this sauce again - so easy to prepare. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      This is very good... I want it to have a little kick but am not sure how to accomplish that. In any case, it's a great recipe and I prefer making things to buying them. I'll see if flavor develops after it ages a day... and I'll read some reviews to see how I might tweak it to make it perfect... the kids really loved it.

      Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Very similar to the one I've been making for years. I used dill relish and fresh onion. The worcestershire sauce gave it a nice little kick. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Tasty! My last tag for ZWT#8 and Pee Wee Herman would be proud...another great adventure!!! Made for ZWT#8~Australia/Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This is quite different than the store bought tartar sauce, the parsley really sets it apart. We very much enjoyed this version. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I made it using dill relish. I still used the food processor. It was great with our fish tonight. Thanks PanNan :) Made for ZWT8 for Diners, Winers and Chives

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This is delicious homemade tartar sauce. I loved it and will use it again.
      Made for ZWT8 for the Diners, Winers and Chives team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      I cut this down to 1/2 cup, as that was all I needed for dinner. I rarely use tarter sauce, but enjoy it on the occasions where I have fish and chips. It's nice to have such an easy and classic sauce that I can make from ingredients that I normally keep on hand. The lemon and Worcestershire sauce gave this a brightness that most homemade recipes don't have, and the parsley gave it a nice fresh note. I used dill pickle this time, but I may try with capers instead next time (I prefer capers to pickles). Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Just what we want in a tartar sauce. Served with Fish and Chips made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      Excellent Tartar Sauce I make this often and had not reviewed in the past. I serve with fried razor clams and oysters. Last night I made Salmon Patties, this was perfect on the buns. I use fresh onion finely chopped or grated, and dried parsley. Thanks for posting PanNan I too will never purchase jarred Sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Fantastic! I was too lazy to go to the store so I decided to make a tartar sauce recipe. I am very pleased with the results. I didn't have time to put it in the fridge for a hour so I put it in the freezer for about 10 mintues turned out perfect. Thank you so much for sharing. I will never buy tartar sauce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tartar Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.3
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    76%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 9.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 334.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites