140 Reviews

Glad to hear someone abhors sweet relish in tartar sauce. I make it the exact same way, except I use a squirt of ketchup instead of the Worcestershire sauce, I will try it your way next time. Nothing beats homemade tartar sauce, the stuff in the jars does not compare!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 02, 2002

Excellent Tartar Sauce I make this often and had not reviewed in the past. I serve with fried razor clams and oysters. Last night I made Salmon Patties, this was perfect on the buns. I use fresh onion finely chopped or grated, and dried parsley. Thanks for posting PanNan I too will never purchase jarred Sauce again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks May 16, 2012

Thanks for the great recipe!! I did not have onion flakes so I subbed in a dashr or two of onion powder... I also did not have parsley so I left it out... What a great taste... This one is not for the ones that like sweet tartar sauce... Has a little bite, but excellent quality...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan Stokley June 05, 2003

Really good. I will use this all the time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada January 26, 2015

This is great! I used sweet pickle relish instead of dill.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC September 18, 2014

Just what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 28, 2014

WOW great tartar sauce. Loved the fresh flavors, will make this one all the time to use with fish. This time I served it with Cod Fish Cakes and coleslaw.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 18, 2014

The flavor is fantastic! I think next time I will seed the pickle since it was a little thinner than I prefer. I also added a couple splashes of malt vinegar, a trick I learned from a British pub. I will definitely be making this again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyberry117 April 10, 2014

I made this recipe a few nights ago to go with the Fish and Chips that I made. (The Beer Batter on this site - the one with the most reviews is the one I used). This tartar sauce was excellent and really tasted good with the battered fish. I halved the recipe for one person and used chopped dill pickle and fresh lemon juice. I will not buy tartar sauce in the store anymore - will make this recipe. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. Much tastier than store bought.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.cheryl April 08, 2014

Excellent Tartar sauce, I only made one change to this. I used fresh yellow onion and used 2 tbsp. after sitting in the fridge all day it had a great flavor with my fish and chips. thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian_mcco January 24, 2014
Tartar Sauce