92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really, really good! This sauce could be used on many things.....delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim May 23, 2012

I made this recipe again on 2/27/2012 and made exactly as written,but left off the almonds.But I still pounded out the chicken to about a 3/4 inch thickness for more even cooking.The liquid at the end of thebaking time seemed to be a little thin so I poured it into a small saucepan, added a bit of flour, pepper, and some milk to make a gravy. Then it was served with the chicken and mashed potatoes. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe. " Keep Smiling :) "
Original Review: June 5th.,2006
since there are just two of us,I used only two huge thick chicken breasts,and cut them into a total of four pieces.i pounded them to about 3/4 inch thick so they would cook more evenly.and you were so right on the cooking time.as some of the other posters stated i left out the salt,since there was enough in the soup.(maybe a little too much salt in the soup).this will be made again using a lower sodium cream of chicken soup.thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 28, 2012

This was not a "casserole" by my standards, however, it was a delicious way to prepare baked chicken. I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken because that's all I had, and it was great. I will definitely make this again. It's so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Lo Carb Queen February 16, 2012

My family really liked this recipe. I would not change anything about this recipe if I did not need it to be gluten free. However, I needed to modify it to be gluten free for my daughter so instead of using the cream of chicken soup, I substituted it for a packet of gluten free cream soup mix, and omitted the 1/4 cup of milk. I also added a tsp of gluten free powdered chicken flavoring to match the taste of cream of chicken soup. Even with the changes I made, this was fast and easy to make..thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DownHomeDinner November 03, 2011

Excellent!! Made recipe exactly as stated and it was a huge hit with my husband and 5 kids. I loved that it was so easy. This is going to become a regular at our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendover April 13, 2011

So yummy! Didn't have onions, but still tasted great. Also didn't have poultry seasoning, but made my own with a mix of celery salt, marjoram, savory, thyme, oregano, rosemary and parsley. Served it over brown rice, but I might try egg noodles next time so it doesn't soak up so much of the sauce. My husband absolutely loved it and is so happy to bring the leftovers to work. Next time I'll just need to double it so we have even more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wbishop26 November 10, 2010

We thought this was okay, but was expecting more flavor. I agree with another reviewer that the sauce was too thin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy May 21, 2010

I really liked the simplicity of this recipe and the use of tarragon, which I had never used before. I would omit the milk, however, as the consistency of the sauce was way too runny. The chicken was very tender and quite good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC March 31, 2010

This was really easy to make. The onions were delicious, the sauce was OK - I might try a bit more tarragon next time - I also added garlic powder and will try this recipe with some other spice blends and mushroom soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Foodologist December 28, 2009
Tarragon Chicken Casserole