Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tarragon Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tarragon Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    91 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 91

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2012

      I made this recipe again on 2/27/2012 and made exactly as written,but left off the almonds.But I still pounded out the chicken to about a 3/4 inch thickness for more even cooking.The liquid at the end of thebaking time seemed to be a little thin so I poured it into a small saucepan, added a bit of flour, pepper, and some milk to make a gravy. Then it was served with the chicken and mashed potatoes. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe. " Keep Smiling :) "
      Original Review: June 5th.,2006
      since there are just two of us,I used only two huge thick chicken breasts,and cut them into a total of four pieces.i pounded them to about 3/4 inch thick so they would cook more evenly.and you were so right on the cooking time.as some of the other posters stated i left out the salt,since there was enough in the soup.(maybe a little too much salt in the soup).this will be made again using a lower sodium cream of chicken soup.thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      This was not a "casserole" by my standards, however, it was a delicious way to prepare baked chicken. I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken because that's all I had, and it was great. I will definitely make this again. It's so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      My family really liked this recipe. I would not change anything about this recipe if I did not need it to be gluten free. However, I needed to modify it to be gluten free for my daughter so instead of using the cream of chicken soup, I substituted it for a packet of gluten free cream soup mix, and omitted the 1/4 cup of milk. I also added a tsp of gluten free powdered chicken flavoring to match the taste of cream of chicken soup. Even with the changes I made, this was fast and easy to make..thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Excellent!! Made recipe exactly as stated and it was a huge hit with my husband and 5 kids. I loved that it was so easy. This is going to become a regular at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      So yummy! Didn't have onions, but still tasted great. Also didn't have poultry seasoning, but made my own with a mix of celery salt, marjoram, savory, thyme, oregano, rosemary and parsley. Served it over brown rice, but I might try egg noodles next time so it doesn't soak up so much of the sauce. My husband absolutely loved it and is so happy to bring the leftovers to work. Next time I'll just need to double it so we have even more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

    • on May 21, 2010

      We thought this was okay, but was expecting more flavor. I agree with another reviewer that the sauce was too thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I really liked the simplicity of this recipe and the use of tarragon, which I had never used before. I would omit the milk, however, as the consistency of the sauce was way too runny. The chicken was very tender and quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This was really easy to make. The onions were delicious, the sauce was OK - I might try a bit more tarragon next time - I also added garlic powder and will try this recipe with some other spice blends and mushroom soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I needed a quick dinner with ingredients on hand, and this fit the bill! I didn't have any tarragon, so I subbed basil. I omitted the salt because the condensed soup has a high sodium content, and it turned out lovely. Served with brown rice, and roasted cherry tomatoes with asparagus. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I made this for the first time a few weeks ago and made it again tonight. Very elegant, simple and it tastes delicious. Didn't have any almonds, served over rice with veggies. Even my picky two year old was asking for seconds. He did the same thing last time I made it, therefore it is definitely a keeper. Thanks papergoddess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Prepared 2 boneless, skinless breasts for DH and me. Found I did not have cream of chicken soup, and used cream of mushroom. It was done in 35 minutes at 375*. Thanks for posting, papergoddess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Wow, I really liked this a lot! I'm sure I've had tarragon before, but I'd never used it myself. This was a great intro to it. I quadrupled this recipe first time out and used thighs instead of breast meat. I paired this up with brown rice, of which I made plenty. After dinner, I took the meat off the bones, portioned out the casserole and brown rice, and froze them to take to work for lunch or for a quick dinner for the kids. It was perfect! I just finished the last frozen meal earlier this week. This is easily an OAMC dish. I'll be making this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      very good recipe...we did enjoy it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This was a big hit. I have realized that I am not a big fan of tarragon but I have 2 jars (by accident) and want to use some up. My sauce seemed a little salty so I think next time I will leave out the salt. Thanks for a simple winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Quick, simple, and delicious! I was under the weather and didn't feel like standing in front of the stove, so I chose this. It goes together in a snap and has a wonderful taste and texture. My only changes were to add minced onion to the sauce instead of topping the chicken with sliced onions, and I omitted the optional almonds. A real family pleaser that is special enough for company. I will make it again and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This recipe is great. It is so simple yet so tasty. I might try leek or green onions next time instead of regular onions, think they may work better. My 3 daughters asked for more chicken (the cat usually ends up eating their leftovers) which is a huge plus for me. I will definately make this again, yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Made this tonight. Used Cream of Chicken Soup for the cream of chicken soup. I made 1/2 a recipe, used 1/2 the soup, and omitted the milk, since the homemade cream of chicken was not condensed. This was sooo good that my normally meat picky preschooler ate almost 1/2 a breast on his own. We had mashed potatoes with it and used the soup for a gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Good flavor but the sauce was somewhat gluey and gloppy...I'm wondering if baking it covered would solve this??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Good recipe, very easy to make. I thought it was a little bland, but it still was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tarragon Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.1
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    27%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 153.3 mg
    51%
    Sodium 940.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 50.9 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites