Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tarragon Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tarragon Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2002

      Wonderful, Wonderful! The only thing I did different was to cut the salt to 1/4 teaspoon since the cream of chicken soup has plenty of salt for my taste. Since I was out of slivered almonds, I used pine nuts instead. I used plenty of fresh tarragon out of my herb garden. I served this dish over brown rice. Thank you, Papergoddess, for sharing this wonderful recipe. I will be making this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      Super fast, super simple yet highly tasty meal made from things I always have in the house! I've made this recipe 3 times in the past month (hubby LOVES it), and been thrilled with it each time. The onions are amazingly yummy and I love the crunch of the almonds. The 2nd time I made it I added a scant quarter-cup of sherry and the 3rd time I made it I added the sherry and a small can of sliced mushrooms. I think I'm done adding to what's already a top notch recipe. ;) Oh, and I also do it in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. I think it would be wonderful with just simple buttered noodles on the side, although so far I've only served it with brocolli (good) and asparagus (even better!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Very good! I even made this with non fat milk and low fat soup; served this over white rice. Easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! The aroma while this is cooking is heavenly; eating it is an experience for the tastebuds! Thanks, Papergodess, for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      I agree, Merlot. That should be edited. I don't know how it got in there, but that is definitely TOO much salt! Thanks for pointing it out, and for the great review. Glad you liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      EASY! I didn't have tarragon and thought since the recipe was actually NAMED for this spice, it would be a no-go, but I did a Google Search and found that fennel seed would be an appropriate substitute and apparently it was because this was awesome! The flavor was so good, it actually surprised me! I followed the rest of the recipe exactly (using a white onion) and DEFINITELY opt-in for the almonds! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      What a great combination of taste and textures! I used a white onion and 1/4 cup slivered almonds. I hovered between 4 stars or 5 - it was just a tad too salty. I think next time I'll leave out the 1/4 t salt. I didn't season the rice, and that helped. But, OH the overall taste was fantastic. Decided it definitely deserved 5 stars. Thanks papergoddess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This was a great recipe!! I, like the others, omitted the salt from the recipe. I also added some green peppers with the onions served it over white rice. This was a excellent Sunday dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      this is outstanding!! i only used 1 lbs chicken but left the sauce amounts the same. i made a few changes, i used an 8x8 casserole, i diced and seasoned the chicken first, i used more tarragon (about 2 teaspoons total...i might even add a little more next time!), i added about a cup of sour cream and some minced garlic to the sauce, and i garnished the dish at the end with fresh parsley. this was so rich, creamy and delicious !! i thought the flavors were outstanding. this is a keeper. the crunch of the almonds and onions is key. thanks for the keeper, papergoddess!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I only had frozen chicken breasts so I decided to give this a try in the crockpot. I cooked on high for 5 hours and served over brown rice. The end result was tasty, but a little salty for our tastes. Next time I will just leave out the salt or maybe try reduced sodium soup. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I wont do the star review bc I didn't follow the directions correctly, so learn from my mistake. I threw everything into the crock pot and used pieces with skin on! Oh yuck. I had a layer of fat bubbling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Excellent! Husband said "this would impress company". Such a compliment for something so easy to make. I too added a 4 oz. can of mushrooms over the onion rings and under the soup. We used the sauce on mashed potatoes, delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      After reading the rave reviews on the sauce, I decided to double it, and it's a good thing! There was barely enough, after it was served over rice. I didn't use any almonds since I didn't have any. It was good, but not quite as good as I was expecting after reading the other reviews. Probably personal taste, though, and not the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Very good my wife really liked it. I did not use the slivered almonds maybe I will try it next time and there will be a next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      If there is any weakness to this recipe it would be that there's not quite enough of the delicious sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2014

      We LOVED this!!!! I doubled the sauce and served it with saffron rice. My DH ate 3 helpings of the chicken with the rice & sauce!!! Definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      This was very good. I made this for my family, but wasn't sure if they would like the tarragon. I had nothing to worry about they loved it. I served this was rice and a veggie. Thank you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Just wasn't our cup of tea. I thought there needed to be more milk added to the soup. All I tasted was the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      I cant rate this based on me because I am sick and everything is bland:( BUT I can rate based on my DH & my 3 boys ages 5, 3, and 1 and they LOVED this chicken. I made mashed potatoes with it, and used the sauce as the gravy. Will make this again, so I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      I give this 4 stars because it was so simple and quite good. I don't cook much with cream soups, but I was tired and hungry and this was so easy. Slice an onion, add a few spices (I like the idea of adding garlic powder) and put it into the oven. Started brown rice at the same time - and both were done in 40 minutes.... Add a steamed asparagus and quick and easy dinner. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tarragon Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.1
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    27%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 153.3 mg
    51%
    Sodium 940.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 50.9 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes