92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful, Wonderful! The only thing I did different was to cut the salt to 1/4 teaspoon since the cream of chicken soup has plenty of salt for my taste. Since I was out of slivered almonds, I used pine nuts instead. I used plenty of fresh tarragon out of my herb garden. I served this dish over brown rice. Thank you, Papergoddess, for sharing this wonderful recipe. I will be making this over and over again.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot June 25, 2002

Super fast, super simple yet highly tasty meal made from things I always have in the house! I've made this recipe 3 times in the past month (hubby LOVES it), and been thrilled with it each time. The onions are amazingly yummy and I love the crunch of the almonds. The 2nd time I made it I added a scant quarter-cup of sherry and the 3rd time I made it I added the sherry and a small can of sliced mushrooms. I think I'm done adding to what's already a top notch recipe. ;) Oh, and I also do it in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. I think it would be wonderful with just simple buttered noodles on the side, although so far I've only served it with brocolli (good) and asparagus (even better!).

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avarah March 27, 2003

Very good! I even made this with non fat milk and low fat soup; served this over white rice. Easy.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook September 12, 2002

Absolutely delicious! The aroma while this is cooking is heavenly; eating it is an experience for the tastebuds! Thanks, Papergodess, for a wonderful recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Ann August 27, 2002

I agree, Merlot. That should be edited. I don't know how it got in there, but that is definitely TOO much salt! Thanks for pointing it out, and for the great review. Glad you liked it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess June 26, 2002

EASY! I didn't have tarragon and thought since the recipe was actually NAMED for this spice, it would be a no-go, but I did a Google Search and found that fennel seed would be an appropriate substitute and apparently it was because this was awesome! The flavor was so good, it actually surprised me! I followed the rest of the recipe exactly (using a white onion) and DEFINITELY opt-in for the almonds! YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo August 12, 2007

What a great combination of taste and textures! I used a white onion and 1/4 cup slivered almonds. I hovered between 4 stars or 5 - it was just a tad too salty. I think next time I'll leave out the 1/4 t salt. I didn't season the rice, and that helped. But, OH the overall taste was fantastic. Decided it definitely deserved 5 stars. Thanks papergoddess!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satisfied Kris August 08, 2006

This was a great recipe!! I, like the others, omitted the salt from the recipe. I also added some green peppers with the onions served it over white rice. This was a excellent Sunday dinner!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila01 June 22, 2003

this is outstanding!! i only used 1 lbs chicken but left the sauce amounts the same. i made a few changes, i used an 8x8 casserole, i diced and seasoned the chicken first, i used more tarragon (about 2 teaspoons total...i might even add a little more next time!), i added about a cup of sour cream and some minced garlic to the sauce, and i garnished the dish at the end with fresh parsley. this was so rich, creamy and delicious !! i thought the flavors were outstanding. this is a keeper. the crunch of the almonds and onions is key. thanks for the keeper, papergoddess!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD January 07, 2009

I only had frozen chicken breasts so I decided to give this a try in the crockpot. I cooked on high for 5 hours and served over brown rice. The end result was tasty, but a little salty for our tastes. Next time I will just leave out the salt or maybe try reduced sodium soup. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilchris June 21, 2008
Tarragon Chicken Casserole