Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tarator - Bulgarian Cold Cucumber Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tarator - Bulgarian Cold Cucumber Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2013

      As a Bulgarian I would say: make it as it is. Do not fry the garlic, it's a healthy and delish recipe why ruin it, and do not blend it. But, that's just me. It is my all time favorite soup. Well done, Nelke.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I really love this simple and refreshing side dish. I usually prefer it thicker, as a salad versus a soup. I recommend eating it immediately upon preparing it because I find the garlic flavor becomes too strong by the next day. I guess an alternative to this would be to soak the cucumbers and sliced garlic in salt water or several hours (like a wilted cucumber salad) then drain thoroughly, toss out the garlic and then add the yogurt, dill and walnuts. Just a thought to make leftovers less "leftover" :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      Super easy and delicious! Don't change a thing, make it as is and enjoy on a hot summer day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Love this recipe! I change it up just a little bit- first I recommend sauteing the garlic in olive oil, which eliminates that intense raw garlic flavor. I also make it in a food processor to even out the consistency, and add a serrano pepper to give it some spice. Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

    • on May 10, 2010

      Loved it!! I had tarator when I was in Bulgaria and have been craving it for some time now! Thanks for the recipe!! Didn't have any fresh dill so I just used some thym , still worked out great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      My Bulgarian husband was thrilled when he came home and this was chilling in the fridge. (Yes, I actually served it with Rakiya, too!) Toasted almonds can also be used in lieu of walnuts. Either way, AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

    • on August 28, 2006

      This is a fabulous recipe -- but the walnuts are not optional! They are what makes this recipe different and special. Also, I put the whole business in a food processor and make a smooth soup. Garnish with a little chopped chive, dill, cucumber, or tomato. Fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      This recipe has become one of my favorites. It is easy, delicious, and so cooooool. I modified it by blending the cucumbers, as I am not a chunky-type soup eater. Also I use it as a drink, carry it in a thermos, or drink it from a soup cup. I usually don't carry a spoon with me. At home I leave some chunks of cukes and decorate with additional chopped dill, which I love. This is a winner and a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tarator - Bulgarian Cold Cucumber Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.2
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    37%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 21.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 81.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh dill

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites