20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is very moist and has a great banana flavor. I agree with other reviewers that the 3 cups of sugar is too much, when I make this again, I will cut that by half. Also, the baking time stated is not long enough. I used a Bundt pan and my cake took a little over an hour before it was done. The top was getting too brown, so I covered it with foil and lowered the oven temp. to 325 degrees F. I also added a little vanilla extract to the cake. I would make this cake again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig May 22, 2006

Substittuted 1 cup plain yogurt and I halved the amount of sugar. Baking time, little over an hour with bundt pan. Very moist. Pecans, chopped gave a nice addition. Really good and easy to make...DizieZoe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dixiezoe July 09, 2003

Very good banana cake and so easy. Takes very little time. Did not make any adjustments, except it takes longer to bake than 45 minutes. May add English walnuts the next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catdirect June 04, 2003

This cake is extremely moist and delicious! It is the BEST ever! I found, though, that making it in a 2 piece Angel food cake (tube) pan worked out better than a bundt pan. It seemed to cook more thoroughly. In the Angel food cake pan, I bake it for about 1 hr. 15 mins. to 1 hr. 25 mins. or until toothpick comes out almost clean. I also add raisins--about 1 1/2 cups--to the batter. Sifting powdered sugar over the top of the cake when cooled, is perfect! The cake is sweet enough as it is. I thought I had a great banana cake recipe from my Mom before a friend shared this recipe with me, but I was WRONG! Sorry, Mom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jageag January 21, 2010

This was a great cake. I added 1/2 tsp salt and decreased sugar by 1/2 cup. I also made it as a layer cake with a cream cheese frosting. I took most of it to work and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Good Cook Wanda November 22, 2009

Very, very good cake. Lots of banana flavor, and an outstanding moist texture. One of the best scratch cakes I have ever had, and SO easy!. Perfect recipe for very ripe bananas -- I will be making this again. The family loved it. I used a confectioners sugar glaze and drizzled it over the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kippy2 November 30, 2008

delightful cake. followed recipe as directed except as another reviewer noted, it took longer than 45 mins to bake. needs no frosting as noted as well. came out of pan beautifully. will make again when i have ripe bananas sitting on the counter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renoopsk October 09, 2008

I have tried many banana cakes in my time. I no longer will serch. This is the best ever. So good needs no icing. Will try less sugar next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
largent September 02, 2008

This recipe is easy and cake turns out great, light and fluffy. Substitute sour cream with yogurt, used 1/2 tsp soda, 11/2 cup sugar with 1/2 tsp baking powder. Cake raise to a slight dome and cracked slightly when baked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom & Jerry April 08, 2007

Beautiful and moist, will try with less sugar as advised

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uralla February 27, 2007
Taqueria Victoria's Banana Cake