Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taqueria Victoria's Banana Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taqueria Victoria's Banana Cake

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2006

      This cake is very moist and has a great banana flavor. I agree with other reviewers that the 3 cups of sugar is too much, when I make this again, I will cut that by half. Also, the baking time stated is not long enough. I used a Bundt pan and my cake took a little over an hour before it was done. The top was getting too brown, so I covered it with foil and lowered the oven temp. to 325 degrees F. I also added a little vanilla extract to the cake. I would make this cake again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      Substittuted 1 cup plain yogurt and I halved the amount of sugar. Baking time, little over an hour with bundt pan. Very moist. Pecans, chopped gave a nice addition. Really good and easy to make...DizieZoe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      Very good banana cake and so easy. Takes very little time. Did not make any adjustments, except it takes longer to bake than 45 minutes. May add English walnuts the next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This cake is extremely moist and delicious! It is the BEST ever! I found, though, that making it in a 2 piece Angel food cake (tube) pan worked out better than a bundt pan. It seemed to cook more thoroughly. In the Angel food cake pan, I bake it for about 1 hr. 15 mins. to 1 hr. 25 mins. or until toothpick comes out almost clean. I also add raisins--about 1 1/2 cups--to the batter. Sifting powdered sugar over the top of the cake when cooled, is perfect! The cake is sweet enough as it is. I thought I had a great banana cake recipe from my Mom before a friend shared this recipe with me, but I was WRONG! Sorry, Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This was a great cake. I added 1/2 tsp salt and decreased sugar by 1/2 cup. I also made it as a layer cake with a cream cheese frosting. I took most of it to work and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Very, very good cake. Lots of banana flavor, and an outstanding moist texture. One of the best scratch cakes I have ever had, and SO easy!. Perfect recipe for very ripe bananas -- I will be making this again. The family loved it. I used a confectioners sugar glaze and drizzled it over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      delightful cake. followed recipe as directed except as another reviewer noted, it took longer than 45 mins to bake. needs no frosting as noted as well. came out of pan beautifully. will make again when i have ripe bananas sitting on the counter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I have tried many banana cakes in my time. I no longer will serch. This is the best ever. So good needs no icing. Will try less sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This recipe is easy and cake turns out great, light and fluffy. Substitute sour cream with yogurt, used 1/2 tsp soda, 11/2 cup sugar with 1/2 tsp baking powder. Cake raise to a slight dome and cracked slightly when baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Beautiful and moist, will try with less sugar as advised

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      This is an amazing, dense banana cake. one of the best. I did everything in the recipe and baked in bundt pan.It took 1 our and 10 min and was perfect. Last 10 min I reduced temp to 325*.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      This is my friends & family's new favorite! I use 1/2 cup less sugar, and a chocolate frosting made with a little coffee. Mmmmm! Chocolate & banana, nothing better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2004

      This is an "excellent" recipe for banana cake. Easy and very tasty! I did bake my cake in a 13x9 baking pan. When cooled I frosted it with Peanut butter cream cheese frosting. I will definetly use this one again. Thanks for a goody!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Another winner, Cher! This was such a wonderful cake. It really is so moist it just melts apart. Great simple flavors that really let the bananas shine. Mine did take 50 minutes to cook. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      Now that I'm back in the Canaries and we have an abundnace of bananas, I am on a mission for banana recipes...This cake is absolutely delicious! Just a bit sweeter than banana bread, a perfect way to end a meal. Funny side note: Canaries are not familiar with banana bread or banana cake. :O I'm quite sure I can start a trend with this recipe. :) The recipe works perfectly as stated...I did add 3 bananas, because they're smaller here. I garnished with powdered sugar and half of a recipe of my mom's fudge frosting-thinned a little to make it kind of like a ganache type thing. Thanks Cher!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      HOLY COW! This cake is MARVELOUS! I agree with Linda475, this is the best banana cake Ive ever had! My fiance thoroughly enjoyed it for his birthday :) Thank you so much for this recipe! It was wonderful with cream cheese frosting! Someone said the cake was too sweet, but I would disagree... we love it that way! :) Thanks again! This will be my regular banana cake from now on! You rock, 'Just Cher'! :) hehe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      This makes a nice big cake although I did find it a little sweet. I think I'd cut out about 1/2 cup of sugar next time. I also ended up using 1/2 cup sourcream and 1/2 cup of plain yogurt (ran out of sour cream) but it turned out great. It takes a good hour to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      This is a nice change from banana bread. I added chopped pecans and peanut butter chips. But I found it made more than a bundt cake. I also used a round cake pan, it didn't take a long to cook so I just watch it. I didn't ice the cake at all but it was just as good without it. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This was a great banana cake. It was very moist (and rather fattening, but you only live once). It did take over an hour to bake, but it was well worth the wait. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      Best banana cake I've ever tasted! All the family LOVED it and asked for the recipe. The cake was dense and not overly sweet. I drizzled some icing that was quickly mixed together over the cake which was a nice complement. The icing consisted of 1/4 C butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 2/3 C brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1/8 tsp salt. Can't wait to make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taqueria Victoria's Banana Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 652.0
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    35%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 143.5 mg
    47%
    Sodium 298.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.5 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 66.0 g
    264%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites