Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tangy Sweet and Sour Pork Shoulder Steak Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tangy Sweet and Sour Pork Shoulder Steak Bake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2013

      Great! Easy dinner. I got some pork shoulder on sale and found this recipe. I had everything on hand! I doubled the green pepper, omitted the horseradish and halved the red pepper. I have a 5 year old and 1 year old and didn't want it too spicy. They both LOVED It! I served with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      Very easy to make and it was delish. I had never thought of using pork steak. Glad I found this recipe. I made a few changes, One I left out the horseradish as I didn't have any; secondly I used a chicken and seafood spice instead of salt when I fried the steaks. I can't have much salt so it was a great sub in. I served over rice. Next time I make this I will thicken the sauce just a little bit. Other than that it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Mmmmmmm.....my new favorite way to prepare pork steaks. These were so tender and juicy. And we loved the sauce on the top. DH liked the "zip" from the horseradish. I served this with mashed potatoes and we spooned the sauce on top of them too. Thank you Kittencal, I alway know I can depend on you for a winner recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Really good, need to trim additional fat off next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This was a GREAT fall-off-thebone-recipe! It did take more time than I'm accustomed to prepare for dinner but it was definitely worth the wait. The steaks were very very tender. I'm not much of a steak or meat eater because I can never seem to get the meat tender enough to suit me but these were scrumptious! A great balance of sweet & spicy! My boyfriend LOVED them (he's more the meat eater). Thanks so much for the recipe! I plan to pass it on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This makes tender pork steaks. Half of us really liked it and half of us didn't. (There are 8 of us) I think it was the cider vinegar that was a deterrent to some... The horseradish was a perfect touch. I served it over rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Have made this dish twice now for my husband, 8 year old and 1 year old and a set of friends of varying ages. All really liked it. Good tasty economical dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I didn't have horseradish on hand so I omitted it and I substitued more thiny sliced onions for my lack of bell peppers and it still turned out DEEELICIOUS! The pork shoulder was very tender and juicy and it was tangy, sweet and sour, with a hint of hot. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      I changed the recipe slightly to meet my families tastebuds and it was a huge hit. I cooked this on a hot Missouri day so I placed in the Crock Pot instead of the oven. My son is already asking for me to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      My husband found this recipe, and I'm oh so glad he did! The sauce smelled fantastic in the kitchen, and when the pork came out of the oven, it was so tender that we didn't even need a knife to cut it! Even my picky 9 year old son loved it and asked for more! It's already on my list of favorites and I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      This was very good! The sauce is tangy and sweet, alittle too sweet for us in the future will cut the honey way back. I probably will taste without the honey and go from there. I used home dried serranos for the chilli flakes and could only use 4 of those and it was perfectly heated for me. Husband would like it hotter, but then no one else could eat it. Since it was only the two of us I used two 1 1/2-2 inch pork loin chops but kept the sauce the same. No leftovers :) Was thinking "I wonder why kit didn't saute the bells with the onions and garlic", but Kit knows best:) Also I believe this could be done in a crock pot, after browning the chops. I did cook it for the one hour covered, but when I went and uncovered them they were done and almost falling off the bone. So, I probably will cut the time down next time. I served this over rice with steamed broccoli on the side. The sauce was good over the broccoli also :) Thank you Kit for posting this delicious recipe. Shirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      this recipes was very good i added a little tabasco to it to heat it up a bit will make again thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. DH and I recently had our first pig butchered, 238 lbs of the best pork. However, I was having a problem with the pork shoulder steaks, and we have alot. Coming from the northeast coast ( now homesteading in rural Missouri) I had not become aquainted with that cut of the other "white" meat. Tried another recipe, just didn't do it for me, great flavor, just too tough. I figured braising was the key. Researched Zaar and found your recipe. WOW, the flavor and so tender. The only addition was I added some brown sugar to the sauce as the vinegar was a little too tangy for my taste buds and I threw in some peeled and guartered potatoes. Thanks again Kittencal, this is a keeper for us. Leslie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tangy Sweet and Sour Pork Shoulder Steak Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 686.9
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    29%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 202.6 mg
    67%
    Sodium 1188.4 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 51.6 g
    206%
    Protein 61.8 g
    123%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites