Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tangy Spaghetti Sauce for Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tangy Spaghetti Sauce for Canning

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2010

      This is one great recipe!! My aunt recommended it to me, and I've made (and canned) three batches already!! Although I must cook mine down quite a bit, b/c I only get 5 qts and not the 7-8 noted in the recipe.
      I made one major change that I would highly recommend - to be safe when canning tomatoes, all recipes MUST be acidified, otherwise you run the risk of spoilage. B/c of that, I added 1/2 cup red wine vinegar and 3/4 cup lemon juice, and upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. It may sound like a lot of acid, but it is needed to keep my (and your) family safe.
      other than that, this is one amazing recipe, I'm sure it will taste better after sitting in the jars for a few weeks/months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      I have canned 3 batches of this recipe this summer using tomatoes, peppers, onions and herbs from my vegetable garden. I have used this sauce for homemade pizza from scratch, spaghetti and lasagna as well. The sauce is a great sauce. A little sweet and that is what I love about it the most. When I cann it, I use quart, pint & half pint jars so that I will have a variety of sizes for whatever I decide to fix, & so none goes to waste by opening a jar too big for what I am fixing. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      I made this recipe exactly as written and it was wonderful. I gave a jar to my neighbor and he said it was the best, just enough tang. I have made 4 batches and am preparing to make another. I think I will up the brown sugar to 4 tablespoons this next batch and throw in some parsley. We simply love this recipe. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Great Sauce. Openned the first jar today. I followed the recipe except I pressure canned it. Served over stuffed shell.
      The only bad thing is I didn't can enough of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Just made this up today. It is delicious! I left out the canned mushrooms and added a large zuchinni and fresh basil from my garden. Also added a large hot green chili pepper instead of the wax chile. It is more spicy than tangy but I love this recipe...it makes up quite alot. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      This turned out great. I didn't do it exactly like the recipe. Here are the changes I made. I didn't add the hugarian pepper (didn't have one), I used two packages of bella mushrooms cut up (I don't like the canned ones), spices I did all the same with the exception of some added fennel, then I added pureed zucchini, spinach and various colored peppers. The spinach made the sauce a little darker red but the added nutrition was worth it. It turned out pretty chunky so I threw some in the blender to smooth it out a bit. Also, the extra vegetables made it a little runnier so I added another can of tomato paste. I canned in a pressure cooker in pints. I wasn't sure about the timing - I did them for 35 minutes at 15 pounds pressure. We ate the extra today for dinner and it was great. Thanks! We'll be doing this every year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      We ran our tomatoes through a Victorio as the kids don't like chunky. Added some zucchini and summer squash since we have an abundance. I think this is the all-time best sauce I've ever had! Sorry mom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      My whole family loves this recipe. I dont think well will buy store bought sauce again. This summer we made 49 quarts. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Delicious!!! Made the recipe as directed and wouldn't change a thing. I did blend it to make it smooth. Thanks for sharing your keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      Hot damn girl you hit this one on the head! I've been canning for 30 years so not a lot of recipes turn my head-most are "expected". This one-it turned my head, and then some. I did make some changes to suit our taste. I omited the canned mushrooms (google maggots and canned mushrooms), I added 1 cup of merlot wine, and 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar. I also upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. After an hour I tasted and added another 1/4 cup of white sugar. My husband likes a sweet sauce. The Italian Spice you called for, I used Tuscan. Everything else I kept as you posted. Well, I'm hear to tell you this is one outstanding pasta sauce to can!!! I got 3 pints and 4 half pints plus 7 additional cups which I did not can. I'm making spaghetti with meatballs tomorrow night so I am going to use that. The next time I make this (and that will be tomorrow as I have a LOAD of tomatoes) I will omit the black pepper. Mine may be off but I found it a titch sharp. Even then this is one amazing sauce. Like 10 star sauce! Thank you so much for posting!!!!! Dib's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Love this recipe. It didn't say to remove the skins from the tomatoes, but I did. 10-15 seconds in boiling water and the skins come right off. I just made this and I intend to freeze it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Great recipe! I made it last year and again this year. Since there are only two of us, I use pint jars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      This is an awesome recipe. The right spices and the perfect amounts. Even my wife said it was excellent. A keeper for sure. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This spaghetti sauce was delicious! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      This is a great recipe! Txs for sharing. I did however add 3/4 cup of white sugar to tame some of the tangy tomato taste and I also used garlic salt instead of fresh garlic. I will definately make this again once the garden tomato's are ready!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This sauce is wonderful. I put a small yellow chilli pepper in with no seeds, and it has just enough kick to it. Absolutely wonderful. Made 7 quarts on Sat., and another 7 on Sunday, with my son and daughter in law. They both just loved it. thank you
      Jan buesgens

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      Nice and thick, everyone loved it, I thought it was a little spicy but everyone else said don't change a thing, make more. Thanks for sharing, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was my first time canning spaghetti sauce and I saw this recipe and it looked good so I tried it...I loved it!! I'm making my second batch today. Thanks so much for summiting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Great sauce! Made 2 batches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This is good. I added 1 T. lemon juice, 1 zucchini, and 1 small eggplant (because I wanted to use it up). The flavor is really good, and I'm still cooking it down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tangy Spaghetti Sauce for Canning

    Serving Size: 1 (4845 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.6
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    41%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2517.5 mg
    104%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 13.2 g
    52%
    Sugars 38.2 g
    152%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hungarian wax chiles

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites