19 Reviews

I made this last weekend and it turned out great. I did use more cucumbers, because I removed the seeds. Also used my food processor to "grind" the cukes. Added a red pepper too and did not add any sugar.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tim964 August 17, 2009

This stuff is really good....I did not use any sugar. This is so much better than the grocery store stuff!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird August 10, 2008

I've always made sweet relishes, never dill, but wanted to try something different for my 3rd batch of relish this season. This recipe is fantastic, I wish I'd made 2 batches, maybe I will if there are plenty more cukes. I did cut back on the salt and cut the sugar (to taste), used fresh dill, and Clear Jel instead of cornstarch but I just know from eating the couple teaspoons leftover in the pan that this will be our new favorite relish! Can't wait to open some in a few weeks! Thanks for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma2IsaacWifey2Jim July 29, 2011

I made this relish last fall, but forgot to review it. Was reminded now because I'm making it again! My hubby never liked relish until we found Bick's Tangy Dill relish, which is what we buy whenever we can find it. Last year I had so many cucumbers that I thought I would see if I could find a recipe for homemade tangy dill relish and I stumbled upon this one. We love this relish so much - even better than Bicks :) Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalB September 02, 2010

this recipe was very easy....iaccidentally put my cornstarch in when boing the spices. it still turned out, and you can taste the mustard. I was impressed. very easy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkclan September 13, 2009

I used my food processor to shred the cukes and onions...it gave it a great texture! This is really tasty relish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HelloPossum July 19, 2009

Delicious! 5 stars! However, I am glad I read all the reviews before trying this recipe. I noticed a lot of people wanted to use less sugar or less celery seed so I decided to sneak up on those two items. I began with 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/4 tsp of celery seed and tasted the brine. I kept slowly adding and tasting. I did end up using the full 3/4 cup of sugar the recipe calls for but I am a major sugar person. I can see how that might be much too sweet for someone who doesn't eat a lot of sugar. I stopped at 1 3/4 tsp of the celery seed. After tasting it I just could not add that last 1/4 tsp but then I have never used celery seed in cooking so to me that was more than enough. Wow, it is tangy! The initial taste seemed mild and then the tangy part hit me. Whoa. I have never made either dill pickles or dill relish before and I rarely eat dill so I was taken aback at first but now I am starting to fall in love with this recipe. Next time I will add more garlic because I am a garlic nut but otherwise I will keep everything the same except leave out that last 1/4 tsp of celery seed. Thanks for sharing such a good recipe. My advice to all is to add the sugar and spices a little at a time and taste the brine as you go! Everyone has such different takes you cannot expect everyone to love the same recipe with no adjustments. And for those that gave this 1 star because it tasted to sweet or too much celery I think that you owe it to yourself to try this recipe again and use less of whatever it was you found offensive. This recipe is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barnes.kathryn August 02, 2014

I made this recipe (tripled) with a mixture of zucchini and cucumbers. I used fewer onions than called for and omitted the sugar and cornstarch. It's an excellent recipe!! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaofmany June 07, 2013

This is a very good and tangy relish and it is easy to make, too. Thanks so much for the addition to my pickle recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamawCook August 03, 2008

This is fabulous, makes up easy, I chopped half the cukes and put the other in the mini chopper for a great texture

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstevec593 August 11, 2007
Tangy Dill Pickle Relish