9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a delicious and tender roast, and the veggies were done just right, too. I did use a very "peppery" bbq sauce, and it was a little much, but the method is really good. Thanks for sharing this nice recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie April 22, 2004

Hey CountryLady! will make this again to taste them the next Day;)!! We love lemony stuff so this was right up our merry alley!! Made it in the pressure cooker (1 kg meat) though to save me some time, for Sunday lunch. Did not use any flour. DH and DS loved it too. Served it over rice with a cabbage vegetable at the side. :) Fay

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl from India April 18, 2004

I cooked this in the crockpot, and the result was flavorful, very tender beef! The gravy was deliciously different, due to the BBQ sauce. I did use a "tangy" BBQ sauce, and that, along with the lemon resulted in a meal too "tangy" for my DH, so if you don't like that flavor you may not enjoy it as much. However, 5 stars from me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou March 19, 2004

I think the BBQ sauce I used was too tangy to begin with. It was just way too overpowering!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deborahjn October 10, 2007

I'm always on the lookout for a good crockpot Pot Roast recipe. This recipe was very easy to make but I wasn't thrilled with the result. The meat was nice and tender but there wasn't as much flavor as I had hoped. I think if I make this recipe again, I will try a smokey barbeque sauce to hopefully get some more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith October 09, 2006

Absolutely tasty!! I've always had trouble making a good pot roast, those days are over now! This recipe got rave reviews from some of the toughest critics! Thank you for sharing this delightful and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KellyF September 20, 2006

Delicious, delicious, delicious! I used to cringe whenever my mom would make a pot roast because it would always be dry and bland. Not this one though. I used a hearty chuck roast and a cheap-o bottle of Open Pit BBQ sauce. Followed the directions otherwise and had a fantastic dinner. A definite keeper and one of my new favourites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salmon of Doubt January 04, 2006

Outstanding and delicious! Add simple to the equation and you have a 5 star recipe! The only thing I added was a cup of multi-colored sweet peppers, only additional color on the plate. It was a huge success with my family. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Waters December 21, 2004

The only problem I had with this recipe, was that I had to smell it so long before I got the chance to eat it!!!! Made exactly as directed, using Bulls Eye Barbeque Sauce and it was wonderful. Will be eating the leftovers until they are all gone and sopping the sauce with sourdough bread!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen October 07, 2004
Tangy Chuck Wagon Pot Roast