24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my first try at pulled pork and it was amazing. We thought it was perfect...it's better to have too much water and drain before putting it on a bun than dried out. We will definitely make this again! Thank you for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding October 11, 2008

This was my first attempt at pulled pork and it was quite good! We like our sauce sweeter than this one so I added an additional 2 Tbsp brown sugar in the last 30 minutes after a taste. The sauce was definitely too watery, and we decided not to pour off the liquid, since the liquid was the sauce! I'll likely cut the amount of water in the next attempt. I left my crockpot on and uncovered as we were eating, and after we were done it had cooked down very nicely. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa and Her Pants September 03, 2008

My first time making bbq pork sandwiches and it was a big success! I used 1/2 of a pork loin, I think it was about 2 1/2 lbs. I followed the recipe exactly, and next time I will chop the celery into smaller pieces as mine were kinda bigger and they got mushy, but I think it would be better if I had chopped them the same size as the onions. Next time I might also throw in some teriyaki, just to try it. Oh, and I used cider vinegar, cuz it was already out. DH topped his with http://www.recipezaar.com/26143 Creamy Coleslaw, and I also served http://www.recipezaar.com/10404 Refrigerator Pickles, and http://www.recipezaar.com/273342 Toffee Cookie Bites. We were apparently on a sugar binge!!! Try this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment August 28, 2008

I have tried several pulled pork recipes and this one is my favorite. I've made it several times and this last time, I realized the flavor is much better if I don't trim the fat from the meat (this was probably obvious to everyone else). Also, this time, I used lemon-lime soda instead of water. And, because I was out of Ketchup, I used a small can of tomato sauce. Anyway, I absolutely love this recipe. It has the right amount of BBQ w/out overpowering the flavor of the meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
selajash May 03, 2008

DELICIOUS! I only used 1.8 lbs of pork roast so I cut down on the ingredients and omitted the celery and onions out of personal taste. I kept it on low for 9-10 hours and it cooked great! Very juicy! This was a weeknight dinner for DH and me. I took the leftovers to my parents for a weekend lunch and they couldn't get enough. The extra juice made re-heating great. Would do this again--so simple and oh so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flacucia February 13, 2008

YUMMY. I forgot the celery and onions so it was runny, but i used 2 small roasts and the meat took up most of the sauce. A great summer BBQ dish. Tangy and quite sweet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memphis361 February 12, 2008

this was yummy. I only had a half a cup of BBQ sauce available, so I added a half cup of picante sauce to make up the difference. Family enjoyed the pork over Kaiser rools.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q January 22, 2008

i wanted to try something diffrent besides just adding BBQ sauce for pulled pork and this was a great choice. I used 1/2 cup sweet baby rays honey BBQ and 1/2 cup sweet baby rays hickory smoked brown sugar BBQ. We like ours sweeter too so i added added two extra tbsps of brown sugar and I also nixed the onions and celery and just used some onion powder because we dont like veggie chunks in ours. I cooked for 7 hours on high then shredded the pork and cooked another 45 minutes on low. We were away most of the day but when we came home the house smelled great! I wasnt going to drain the liquid but sandwhiches were dripping and the meat was so flavorful that you really dont need the extra sauce, especially if you just drain the extra and dont try to "squeeze out" the liquid in the meat. Definatly a recipe to save and try again. Also as a side note - i left it cooking for another hour on low after the 7 hours 45 minutes and the sauce didnt burn - which when i use regular BBQ sauce it usually does - so dont be afraid to leave this in alittle longer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle November 16, 2007

Excellent!! I made this in my 1 1/2-qt crockpot using 2 thick boneless chops and cut the remaining ingredients in half. I kept it "saucy" and served it over biscuits. The pork was so tender and the sweet tangy sauce was delicious. Made for Alphabet Soup Game. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn December 20, 2006

This recipe looked like my favorite pork roast recipe that I misplaced, so I tried it. It turned out to be completely different from my favorite recipe, but it was so good, I couldn't give it any less than 5 stars. I had planned to make gravy out of the sauce, and serve it over mashed potatoes, but it had a decidedly sweet and sour taste, so I scrapped the potato idea and made rice instead. After cooking, I added a cup of orange juice, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, and some cornstarch (don't remember how much, sorry.) to thicken it up. We ate it like sweet and sour pork. I think it would have been extra good if a 20 ounce can of pineapple tidbits in juice were added in lieu of the OJ, but didn't have any on hand. Whatever, it was wonderful AND it's a recipe you can play with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marissa Genta Pineda July 25, 2006
Tangy BBQ Pork Roast (Crock Pot)