Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tangy BBQ Pork Roast (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tangy BBQ Pork Roast (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2003

      This makes one heck-of-a mmmmm...yummy BBQ pork sandwich! We like our BBQ sauce a bit more on the sweet side, so I added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the sauce. Instead of Step #6 - draining the excess liquid, I thickened the sauce on the stove using Gold Medal Wondra, a quick mixing fine flour. I returned the shredded pork to the bbq sauce and kept warm 'till Suppertime, served with corn on the cob, french fries, and salad. Try Crockpot Peach Cake Dessert #38331 with Breyers Peach Ice Cream. Our Company loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      First BBQ recipe that the whole family loves! I used celery salt since I didn't have celery on hand and onion powder instead of onion so my children wouldn't turn their noses up at the onion pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      I've made this (as written) many, many times over the past 2 years and I love it! The taste is fantastic and I've recommended this recipe to many friends too. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      OMG this was my first time making anything like this and it was AMAZEBALLS. No changes except put Red Wine Vinegar insstead of reg vinegar. SO GOOD. We will definitely be making this a lot - I took the meat out and shredded it and added a little flour to thicken the liquids and added the meat back and it was perfect. yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

    • on August 12, 2010

      so good with roasted sweet potatoes & slaw! thanks for posting, will DEFINITELY make again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Made and shared with others. Now there asking me to make more. One guy had even got his appetite back from the meds that he was on while eating and had seconds. Insted of adding 1 cup water I [Because I wanted to use up] added 3-5 cups more celery and onion used CIDER vineger and HICKERY Salt. VERY GOOD!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      We loved it. I was hesitant about the chili powder but no taste of it at all. I decreased the water(1/2 cup) as recommended. I will decrease it even more next time. There is no thickness to the sauce so I would thicken it if you want a thicker consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      YUM! Just made this earlier for dinner. It was great. Smelled so good all day. I omitted several items (celery, onion, chili powder) that I didn't have, but it was still great. I'd probably cut down on the water some, since the pork creates some juice of its own. My only issue was the amount of liquid... Even with using a slotted serving spoon, our buns were soggy. Either way.. I'm writing this one down in my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Super easy to make. Great taste too. I substitute vinegar with rice vinegar, and used only 3/4 cup BBQ and Ketchup because I only have 3 pound meat. Still turned out LOTS of sauce. Have to scoop out some so the pork doesn't soak in it too much. Flavor wise, definately taste better after you shread it and put it back in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This was my first try at pulled pork and it was amazing. We thought it was perfect...it's better to have too much water and drain before putting it on a bun than dried out. We will definitely make this again! Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This was my first attempt at pulled pork and it was quite good! We like our sauce sweeter than this one so I added an additional 2 Tbsp brown sugar in the last 30 minutes after a taste. The sauce was definitely too watery, and we decided not to pour off the liquid, since the liquid was the sauce! I'll likely cut the amount of water in the next attempt. I left my crockpot on and uncovered as we were eating, and after we were done it had cooked down very nicely. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      My first time making bbq pork sandwiches and it was a big success! I used 1/2 of a pork loin, I think it was about 2 1/2 lbs. I followed the recipe exactly, and next time I will chop the celery into smaller pieces as mine were kinda bigger and they got mushy, but I think it would be better if I had chopped them the same size as the onions. Next time I might also throw in some teriyaki, just to try it. Oh, and I used cider vinegar, cuz it was already out. DH topped his with http://www.recipezaar.com/26143 Creamy Coleslaw, and I also served http://www.recipezaar.com/10404 Refrigerator Pickles, and http://www.recipezaar.com/273342 Toffee Cookie Bites. We were apparently on a sugar binge!!! Try this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I have tried several pulled pork recipes and this one is my favorite. I've made it several times and this last time, I realized the flavor is much better if I don't trim the fat from the meat (this was probably obvious to everyone else). Also, this time, I used lemon-lime soda instead of water. And, because I was out of Ketchup, I used a small can of tomato sauce. Anyway, I absolutely love this recipe. It has the right amount of BBQ w/out overpowering the flavor of the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      DELICIOUS! I only used 1.8 lbs of pork roast so I cut down on the ingredients and omitted the celery and onions out of personal taste. I kept it on low for 9-10 hours and it cooked great! Very juicy! This was a weeknight dinner for DH and me. I took the leftovers to my parents for a weekend lunch and they couldn't get enough. The extra juice made re-heating great. Would do this again--so simple and oh so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      YUMMY. I forgot the celery and onions so it was runny, but i used 2 small roasts and the meat took up most of the sauce. A great summer BBQ dish. Tangy and quite sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      this was yummy. I only had a half a cup of BBQ sauce available, so I added a half cup of picante sauce to make up the difference. Family enjoyed the pork over Kaiser rools.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      i wanted to try something diffrent besides just adding BBQ sauce for pulled pork and this was a great choice. I used 1/2 cup sweet baby rays honey BBQ and 1/2 cup sweet baby rays hickory smoked brown sugar BBQ. We like ours sweeter too so i added added two extra tbsps of brown sugar and I also nixed the onions and celery and just used some onion powder because we dont like veggie chunks in ours. I cooked for 7 hours on high then shredded the pork and cooked another 45 minutes on low. We were away most of the day but when we came home the house smelled great! I wasnt going to drain the liquid but sandwhiches were dripping and the meat was so flavorful that you really dont need the extra sauce, especially if you just drain the extra and dont try to "squeeze out" the liquid in the meat. Definatly a recipe to save and try again. Also as a side note - i left it cooking for another hour on low after the 7 hours 45 minutes and the sauce didnt burn - which when i use regular BBQ sauce it usually does - so dont be afraid to leave this in alittle longer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Excellent!! I made this in my 1 1/2-qt crockpot using 2 thick boneless chops and cut the remaining ingredients in half. I kept it "saucy" and served it over biscuits. The pork was so tender and the sweet tangy sauce was delicious. Made for Alphabet Soup Game. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      This recipe looked like my favorite pork roast recipe that I misplaced, so I tried it. It turned out to be completely different from my favorite recipe, but it was so good, I couldn't give it any less than 5 stars. I had planned to make gravy out of the sauce, and serve it over mashed potatoes, but it had a decidedly sweet and sour taste, so I scrapped the potato idea and made rice instead. After cooking, I added a cup of orange juice, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, and some cornstarch (don't remember how much, sorry.) to thicken it up. We ate it like sweet and sour pork. I think it would have been extra good if a 20 ounce can of pineapple tidbits in juice were added in lieu of the OJ, but didn't have any on hand. Whatever, it was wonderful AND it's a recipe you can play with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tangy BBQ Pork Roast (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.7
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    32%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 77.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 557.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites