Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tangier Island - Baked Hot Crab, a La Maryland - Longmeadow Farm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tangier Island - Baked Hot Crab, a La Maryland - Longmeadow Farm

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2012

      My DH and I thought this was very tasty. I didn't put as much old bay as the recipe called for as my DH isn't in to spicy food. I also added some yellow pepper to replace the onion as I didn't have any. We had it as a leftover again tonight, and it was just as tasty. Thanks for posting Andi! Made for Let's Party 2011 tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Wowee, wowee! This was delicious!! I put enough in 2 ramekins and saved the rest for this weekend. I think I'll try putting them in muffin tins. Anyway, the taste is what matters. This hit the spot. Wonderful!!! I followed the recipe and will make again!! Thanks for this one. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag Game 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Oh my Andi ~ this was fabulous!!! I made as posted being careful not to break up the beautiful crab meat too much while mixing. I took your suggestion and served with bread but it's fabulous by itself, too. Thanks so much for posting a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Well Andi, all I can say is WOW!!!!! This is delicious! 5 stars are just not enough! This tastes like the best crab cakes ever. We live near the shore in NJ and have had crab cakes at all the best seafood places, casinos, Cape May, Delaware, Maryland, you name it. This is hands down the best tasting crab cake we've had. I liked 2Bleu's suggestions and sauteed the onions (I used green onions sliced thin) then mixed everything together, folding in the crab last like Bird did. I added an extra egg because it seemed to need one more. Other than that, I made this exactly as written. It was perfect all the way down the line including the cooking time of 30 minutes. Although we have eaten crab everywhere, this was the first time I have tried making my own- thanks so much for making me look like I have magic powers in the kitchen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 3/11/08 - Andi, Thanks for posting this wonderful crabmeat dish! Truly outstanding in flavor, texture, taste, etc. I prepared it a bit different to start it off. I saute'd the onions in the butter with some added finely chopped green and red bell peppers. Then added the seasonings, and ending by folding in the crabmeat. Then baked as directed. Absolutely superb! :) ~Bird

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      We loved this, very much like one big tasty crab cake. An instant favorite!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This recipe was great! I'm a seafood lover in Hampton Roads, VA where seafood is plentiful. The only reason I didn't give the recipe 5 stars is because I didn't add the bread crumbs, I do not like filler. Other than that the only thing I changed was instead of a med. onion, I used a little very finely chopped onion & celery, sauteed. DELICIOUS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      The flavor here is grand and it's simple to mix up. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I baked it exactly by the recipe and it was very dry at the end of the baking time. It wasn't dark or over baked, just dry. That said, there isn't anything wrong with huge crab cake that you can serve up with a large cooking spoon! Yumm. Thanks for sharing Andi this much crab made a real treat on New Year's day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Andi we really enjoyed this flavor of Maryland! I have been missing blue crab and this helped satisfy my craving. I do think it needs a touch more moisture, and next time will do as Twissis did and add an extra egg or maybe just one more Tblsp of mayo (I think I might add a bit more Old Bay as well!) Thanks so much for posting such a fabulous crab recipe! (For those of you without access to lump blue crab, they sell Phillips brand at Costco in the can, and it is really great and all lump meat!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Great dish! I made a very small version of this, the only thing diffrent I did was top it with moz. cheese since my family never can get enough cheese on their foods! Awesome recipe, I def. make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      had a weird smell. i didnt mind the texture, sort of like a big moist crab cake, but the flavor was just 'ehh', and the smell was off-putting, not sure where and how that smell came about, everything was fresh...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I meant to take the picture before serving but hey, I am blonde! heh heh. This crab dish is delightful! You can serve this as an appetizer or main dish, which is what I did. DH is a crab lover and gave it 2 thumbs up! I love the addition of the wooster and texas pete hot sauce. Next time I will add a little more hot sauce! Thank you Andi for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      After seeing the picture by twissis, I can't wait to try this recipe. We've lived near the Chesapeake Bay for about a year now and I'm always on the lookout for crab recipes that even a novice like me can make. I promise to post a review as soon as I try this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I tagged this recipe earlier today, went to my kitchen & had it in the oven in no time at all. I had been looking at the recipe for some time in an effort to find a crab appy that I could serve hot or at room temp as a starter course for dinner parties. I used canned lump crabmeat brought back from the US & made a half recipe as written except I did use 2 eggs, mostly because the crab mixture seemed a bit dry & I wanted a puffed, almost souffle texture. I got just that, so I took the next step & applied creativity. It looked like it would easily serve 4 as a starter ... so I cut & placed 4 slices of smoked salmon on top, added a scant tsp of my Gravlaxsosa (The Real Deal) on ea slice & topped that w/Icelandic baby shrimp. Then I put a bit of sauce in the center w/a few tiny capers & sprinkled the effort w/parsley. We ate it as a main course w/just a green salad & DH pronounced it *excellent and dinner party worthy* :-) Thx for posting this quick-fix & tasty recipe that got me creatively inspired & met my goal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      For some reason I thought this would have a creamier, more dip-like consisitency, as we had trouble spreading it on the bread & crackers. But now that I note the name, it does say 'baked crab' & not a spread or dip. I'll probably add some heavy cream or more mayo to the rest and conjure up some crab cakes. The flavor is pretty good so if you love crab in a drier, flakier form you might want to whip this up and just enjoy it with a spoon or fork. For a dip- maybe an 8oz. block of cream cheese & a little heavy cream. Thanks for sharing- it's always fun to try new recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This is like a giant, yummy lump crab cake. It's soooo good! I mixed everything together first, then gently folded in my jumbo lump crabmeat (careful not to break it up much). I used Dijon mustard. Wonderful dish for all the crab-lovers! Thanx for sharing. I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      These were good but my family thought they could use more flavor. I followed the recipe other then I didn't use the onion and added three tablespoons of mayo since others stated they were dry. Next time I would use a wet mustard instead of dry and see if that doesn't give it more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tangier Island - Baked Hot Crab, a La Maryland - Longmeadow Farm

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.0
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    45%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 84.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 883.1 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    texas pete

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes