17 Reviews

My DH and I thought this was very tasty. I didn't put as much old bay as the recipe called for as my DH isn't in to spicy food. I also added some yellow pepper to replace the onion as I didn't have any. We had it as a leftover again tonight, and it was just as tasty. Thanks for posting Andi! Made for Let's Party 2011 tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo January 02, 2012

Wowee, wowee! This was delicious!! I put enough in 2 ramekins and saved the rest for this weekend. I think I'll try putting them in muffin tins. Anyway, the taste is what matters. This hit the spot. Wonderful!!! I followed the recipe and will make again!! Thanks for this one. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag Game 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty December 05, 2009

Oh my Andi ~ this was fabulous!!! I made as posted being careful not to break up the beautiful crab meat too much while mixing. I took your suggestion and served with bread but it's fabulous by itself, too. Thanks so much for posting a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook February 26, 2009

Well Andi, all I can say is WOW!!!!! This is delicious! 5 stars are just not enough! This tastes like the best crab cakes ever. We live near the shore in NJ and have had crab cakes at all the best seafood places, casinos, Cape May, Delaware, Maryland, you name it. This is hands down the best tasting crab cake we've had. I liked 2Bleu's suggestions and sauteed the onions (I used green onions sliced thin) then mixed everything together, folding in the crab last like Bird did. I added an extra egg because it seemed to need one more. Other than that, I made this exactly as written. It was perfect all the way down the line including the cooking time of 30 minutes. Although we have eaten crab everywhere, this was the first time I have tried making my own- thanks so much for making me look like I have magic powers in the kitchen!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night January 28, 2009

This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 3/11/08 - Andi, Thanks for posting this wonderful crabmeat dish! Truly outstanding in flavor, texture, taste, etc. I prepared it a bit different to start it off. I saute'd the onions in the butter with some added finely chopped green and red bell peppers. Then added the seasonings, and ending by folding in the crabmeat. Then baked as directed. Absolutely superb! :) ~Bird

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 28, 2008

We loved this, very much like one big tasty crab cake. An instant favorite!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni Boni March 17, 2008

This recipe was great! I'm a seafood lover in Hampton Roads, VA where seafood is plentiful. The only reason I didn't give the recipe 5 stars is because I didn't add the bread crumbs, I do not like filler. Other than that the only thing I changed was instead of a med. onion, I used a little very finely chopped onion & celery, sauteed. DELICIOUS!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Romanczyks March 12, 2008

The flavor here is grand and it's simple to mix up. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I baked it exactly by the recipe and it was very dry at the end of the baking time. It wasn't dark or over baked, just dry. That said, there isn't anything wrong with huge crab cake that you can serve up with a large cooking spoon! Yumm. Thanks for sharing Andi this much crab made a real treat on New Year's day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 01, 2008

Andi we really enjoyed this flavor of Maryland! I have been missing blue crab and this helped satisfy my craving. I do think it needs a touch more moisture, and next time will do as Twissis did and add an extra egg or maybe just one more Tblsp of mayo (I think I might add a bit more Old Bay as well!) Thanks so much for posting such a fabulous crab recipe! (For those of you without access to lump blue crab, they sell Phillips brand at Costco in the can, and it is really great and all lump meat!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall August 13, 2007

Great dish! I made a very small version of this, the only thing diffrent I did was top it with moz. cheese since my family never can get enough cheese on their foods! Awesome recipe, I def. make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme July 07, 2007
Tangier Island - Baked Hot Crab, a La Maryland - Longmeadow Farm