58 Reviews

amazing!!! Changes I made (suggest) -fresh garlic (3 cloves) - 1/2 to 1tsp smoked paprika -use thighs not breast Best Way To cook: -cook over highest heat setting on bbq just to char each side -then cook using indirect heat for about 30+ minutes... closest thing to a tandoor oven taste! ENJOY this great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roccobertuzzi June 17, 2009

Yum! Made this using skinless boneless chicken breasts tonight on the George Foreman and it turned out wonderful. I used fresh garlic and ginger, 2 thai bird chiles instead and no turmeric because I didn't have any. I also didn't need to oil the grill, which made this recipe even healthier. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peko August 13, 2006

A family favorite!! I omit the jalepenos & put it under the broiler for about 5 minutes to get it nice & crisp. Also add red food coloring (to the marinade) to give it a beautiful red color. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty Cooks July 19, 2011

This was absolutely fantastic! I let the chicken marinate for 5 hours and it still came out very flavourful and tasty. I did not find it spicy, but am sure that the heat will increase the longer you let it marinate. I added a bit of salt on top of the chicken just before placing in oven (saw review that recommended more salt) and I am glad I did. I used chicken legs. It will definitely not be the last time I make this; served it with Cilantro and Coriander Seed Naan Bread, Cilantro and Coriander Seed Naan Bread and Onion Salad - Indian Inspired - we had an Indian feast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini November 08, 2009

Sue: Great healthy, family-friendly recipe! I marinated for 24 hours, then grilled the boneless thighs for 4-5 minutes on each side. I had to substitute cardamom for the coriander (didn't have any); and I added fresh garlic and ginger instead of powdered. Also added garlic salt and 2 tbsp. madras (hot) curry powder (I doubled the recipe). This is saved in my cookbook and it will be used often! I think it would make fabulous kabobs....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel Grinnell June 22, 2006

I really liked the marinade, but the cooking method dried out the chicken more than my usual hottest-temp-shorter-time. I think I'll use this marinade for ease and the other recipe's cooking method.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 28, 2014

So good! Love the flavour! As another reviewer suggested, I added paprika and lots of fresh garlic, along with the garlic powder, to keep all the vampires at bay. I grilled it as well to give it those lovely charred bits. This is so yummy that even my husband, who is wary of anything not meat and potatoes, loved it. I plan on making this again very soon and very often. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChloeBaby February 25, 2013

a friend had given me a tandori recipe for salmon or chicken, she said to make sure to bbq the chicken and put foil down on bbq for fish (yogurt, cumin,gram masala,fresh garlic,fresh ginger, cayanne, paprika for colour). couldnt find her recipe at the time so made this one, omitted the lime juice, chillis and cloves and put on salmon fillets and wrapped in foil and baked. was really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oishi August 25, 2011

This is too sour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes July 11, 2011

Marinated for two days due to change of plans. It was insanely good. 16 year old son is asking for it again after just 2 weeks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia June 11, 2011
Tandoori Style Chicken