Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tandoori Style Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tandoori Style Chicken

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2009

      amazing!!! Changes I made (suggest) -fresh garlic (3 cloves) - 1/2 to 1tsp smoked paprika -use thighs not breast Best Way To cook: -cook over highest heat setting on bbq just to char each side -then cook using indirect heat for about 30+ minutes... closest thing to a tandoor oven taste! ENJOY this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Yum! Made this using skinless boneless chicken breasts tonight on the George Foreman and it turned out wonderful. I used fresh garlic and ginger, 2 thai bird chiles instead and no turmeric because I didn't have any. I also didn't need to oil the grill, which made this recipe even healthier. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      A family favorite!! I omit the jalepenos & put it under the broiler for about 5 minutes to get it nice & crisp. Also add red food coloring (to the marinade) to give it a beautiful red color. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This was absolutely fantastic! I let the chicken marinate for 5 hours and it still came out very flavourful and tasty. I did not find it spicy, but am sure that the heat will increase the longer you let it marinate. I added a bit of salt on top of the chicken just before placing in oven (saw review that recommended more salt) and I am glad I did. I used chicken legs. It will definitely not be the last time I make this; served it with Cilantro and Coriander Seed Naan Bread, Cilantro and Coriander Seed Naan Bread and Onion Salad - Indian Inspired - we had an Indian feast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Sue: Great healthy, family-friendly recipe! I marinated for 24 hours, then grilled the boneless thighs for 4-5 minutes on each side. I had to substitute cardamom for the coriander (didn't have any); and I added fresh garlic and ginger instead of powdered. Also added garlic salt and 2 tbsp. madras (hot) curry powder (I doubled the recipe). This is saved in my cookbook and it will be used often! I think it would make fabulous kabobs....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I really liked the marinade, but the cooking method dried out the chicken more than my usual hottest-temp-shorter-time. I think I'll use this marinade for ease and the other recipe's cooking method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      So good! Love the flavour! As another reviewer suggested, I added paprika and lots of fresh garlic, along with the garlic powder, to keep all the vampires at bay. I grilled it as well to give it those lovely charred bits. This is so yummy that even my husband, who is wary of anything not meat and potatoes, loved it. I plan on making this again very soon and very often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      a friend had given me a tandori recipe for salmon or chicken, she said to make sure to bbq the chicken and put foil down on bbq for fish (yogurt, cumin,gram masala,fresh garlic,fresh ginger, cayanne, paprika for colour). couldnt find her recipe at the time so made this one, omitted the lime juice, chillis and cloves and put on salmon fillets and wrapped in foil and baked. was really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      This is too sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      Marinated for two days due to change of plans. It was insanely good. 16 year old son is asking for it again after just 2 weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      52 reviews got this right!
      Made my day today AND night!
      Tandoori Style, SOOOOOOOOOO easy to do!
      Marinated chicken overnight and also keep temperature constant (190C)so would not dry out too! (Cooking it bit longer til done! WHOO HOO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This was wonderful! I've never had Tandoori chicken before, but needed to find a new chicken recipe to add some variety to our repertoire. Made exactly is instructed, served with rice, steamed veggies and a yogurt sauce (a la Tzatziki, I just skipped the garlic). The family loved it, even my super picky 12-yr old. Thank you for a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Loved this! I didn't have yogurt but used low fat sour cream instead, and the flavours were great! The marinade was really nice and thick and created this great crust on the chicken after baking. The blend of spices was fantastic. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Another huge Wow! Used granulated garlic & powdered ginger but fresh ground cumin & coriander. Had to leave out tumeric (was out) so used red food coloring to get the accustomed bright red. Used smoked chipotle pepper - actually had not heat using 1 t. Roasted in the oven @425 degrees F. House smelled delish & the chicken was even better! Keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Loved it and will make again. My husband was very happy to have this for supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This had great flavor! I also really like the cooking method. I'd like to try this on the BBQ too. Only change I made was to use fresh garlic and ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      This chicken is so delicious and flavourful. I used half of the recipe and it was enough for 2 chicken legs. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Great recipe and enjoyed very much,especially by DH. Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

    • on April 12, 2010

      This is wonderful! I used chicken thighs and it was fantastic. Not quite the same as real tandoori, but excellent nonetheless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tandoori Style Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.9
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    37%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 183.3 mg
    61%
    Sodium 784.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 46.4 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes