Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tamale Pie With Cheddar & Cornmeal Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tamale Pie With Cheddar & Cornmeal Crust

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2010

      This was really good. However, I did half the cornbread topping mixture since I've had similar things before and it always seemed like too much. Half of the topping was perfect. Even DH (who doesn't like casseroles), liked it. I left out the olives, bell pepper (don't really like) and tomato paste (didn't have), added in a little rotel I had leftover and some brine from jar of pickled jalapenos just to use it up. Will make again! Thanks so much for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      I gave this a five star. At first I had a problem with the cornbread topping, but I spoke with the poster and she informed me that she meant to post 1 1/4 Cup of yogurt instead of 1/8 cup. The taste is great. I made it just as it was posted. Didn't need any extras.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      I'm giving it a 4 because I adjusted things so I could use masa harina. All in all not bad! I'm going to keep searching until I find a pie that really melts on your tongue. But the filling was great. I also wish there was a cooking temp given? But thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was quick and quite tasty, very filling as well. I halved the recipe and used meatless grounds in place of the beef. I left out the beer because my son was going to be eating it as well. I had no olives so that had to go as well. The cornbread topping was just a tad too hard/dry. I wasn't sure what temp to bake the dish at, so I went with 350F - after 30min, the bottom of the crust was still soggy, so I covered it with foil and baked it longer. That dried it out somewhat, but the filling was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Easy and tasty. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used chopped sun dried tomato paste in olive oil. I also found the filling just a little quite, so I added additional salt and pepper. Rewarming the next day benefitted from pickled jalapeno slices and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      We enjoyed this very much. We thought the bread overwhelmed the filling so next time we will either cut the crust recipe in half or double the filling recipe, depending on how much we need to make. Other than that, the recipe was fabulous and enjoyed by all. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This was delicious! I made a few small changes, mostly to add more flavor of chiles (I used to live in New Mexico). I used 1 T powdered red chile and reduced cumin to 1 t. I added fresh garlic & skipped the tomato paste, olives, and beer as I was out. For the crust I added 1 small (4 oz) can of chopped green chiles to the batter and skipped the jalapenos. I used 1 only 1 cup cornmeal and 1 cup whole wheat flour. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making it often! Update: I've made this several times now, and I still need more like 30 min. prep time. My husband loves this dish, as do my teenage son and his friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      Hearty, good food! The chilli filling soaks up wonderfully in to the cheesy crust, which is crisp on top. I have made this pie twice, now. First time we found the dough very bulky and dry, and there was not quite enough flavor in the filling, either. The basis of the recipe is so tempting, though, that I decided to improve it a little for our liking and now it is 4 star for us. We love it. For the filling I added 2 1/2 tsp chilli powder, 1 tbs corn flour and 1 1/2 beef stock cubes. I substituted salsa with 2 tbs tomato paste, some chopped pickled jalapeno and some jalapeno juice from the jar. For the crust I reduced cornmeal to 1 cup only and used 1 tsp salt. We like the crust slightly sweet and 2 tbs sugar was just right. There was still a lot of crust, and as nice as it is, it tends to get bit dry on top. I might try to use half the batch to cover the pie bottom, bake it 10 minutes and then add the filling and dot the remainig crust dough on top and bake as instructed. Sorry for all the alterations, but this was too good a recipe to just forget about, when minor modifications made it just right for us. Thank you Rita, once again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      Very tastey, not at all tomaleish though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      The crust is just wonderful as well as the entire dish. I added some garlic, parsely and hot sauce to the filling. This is a great crowd pleaser. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      What a delicious way to stretch 1/2 lb ground beef to the maximum! We loved everything about this one, but the cornmeal crust really raises this to another level-fabulous flavor and nice mouth feel. I haven't had the pleasure of eating a real tamale in 5 years, but the crust on this one did bring back that flavor and sensation (thank you Rita!). So good that dh insisted on taking cold leftovers for lunch today . . . thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      This was wonderful. Even the kids loved it. I used 1 1/4# of meat and added mex. corn to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tamale Pie With Cheddar & Cornmeal Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    38%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 57.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 560.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites