Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tamale Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tamale Casserole

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2013

      I have not cook the recipe yet, but it sounds like is easy and yummmy. I'll write more after I make this recipe today for Valentine's day for my husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      The other comments here were helpful, I added more seasonings to the corm meal, and baked it by itself for a few to let it set up. It was still too wet and a bit mushy, not very attractive. The leftovers firmed up, so it was better round two. I substituted some shredded chicken (5 large chicken breasts) in place of the round beef (healthier). I also used 1 1/2 times the corn mixture since I was making a little larger amount. It is a forgiving recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      i added olives to this its really good thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      I find this to be a bit bland although I added more salt than the stated amount. I even added cumin and coriander as suggested by previous reviews. The dish was very good!However, I'd also would add more salt to the corn meal if I make it again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      This casserole was good. I thought the cornmeal mixture would stiffen up when cooked in the oven like it does on tamales. Instead, it was just gooey, like the consistency of malt-0-meal. I added shredded cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking, and extra spices as recommended by the other reviewers. Topped off with green onion and cilantro. I served this with plain yogurt instead of sour cream. My expectations were different than the outcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing. I increased the spices a little and added ground cumin and corriander. Otherwise I followed the recipe as described and it turned out really good. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      Delicious! It was light on the spices which was fine for DH and I. We don't like alot of hot spices so this good. It was quick and easy to come together. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I did add black olives and more spice--it was a little bland for my taste--but a very good recipe which came together beautifully. I too used fresh tomatoes and served with some sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      My whole family really liked this! It has just the right balance of spice for us, not so overpowering that you can't taste all the other flavors. I used fresh tomatoes, which I think made the mixture a little drier, so only simmered the meat mixture for about 10 minutes. This is an easy and quick recipe, and I'll definitely make it again! Thanks Jessica!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tamale Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.4
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    38%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 740.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes