25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good! Made it just like the recipe with ham....and used low sodium Soy sauce. Next time I'm gonna try it with mushrooms...thanks Chef Dee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamster888 December 05, 2012

This was good, and it made a ton!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC January 09, 2010

I wound up leaving out the celery, halving the carrots and onion, and we're vegan so I excluded the eggs as well and halved the soy sauce for health reasons--there was still a lot in the bottom of our skillet, so next time I may halve it again. I also used "asian style savory baked tofu" from 'zaar instead of ham/pork, and like other reviewers, I added a pinch of ground ginger. We'll be making this again, and closer to the original recipe, but next time I'll throw in some cornstarch (since we leave out the egg) and forget about the ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS December 27, 2009

We LOVED this! I made it exactly as written, except added a little chicken base to the rice steamer. I did wash my rice first and had no trouble with it sticking, even though it wasn't cold. I used leftover spiral sliced ham and it was delicious! Thanks for a terrific recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 July 07, 2009

This was good, I added some ground ginger and a shot of worchestershire sauce at the end. I also used chicken for the meat. I think it is the best fried rice that I have tried so far. I also only added the peas at the end because we like ours to retain some texture. Thanks for a keeper Chef Dee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 March 19, 2009

This was easy and good, but seemed like it's missing something. It needs some added flavor. Maybe some chicken broth? Very good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom March 03, 2009

Made this last night to go with Bourbon Chicken (#45809), so I didn't add the meat. I followed the tip some other reviewers' gave about chilling the rice before adding it to everything else. I skipped the sesame oil this time because I didn't have any on hand, but I'll try to get some to add in in the future. The recipe as is makes A LOT of rice. In the future, I'll make again but probably halve the amounts of everything (because our small family doesn't need that much leftover rice - haha); however, I'll leave the egg amount the same as the original recipe - we like extra scrambled egg in our fried rice. The texture was really good/authentic to take-out and it was very easy to make. Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts February 21, 2009

Liked it alot, great with Chicken & Shrimp too thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve2702 November 07, 2008

I didn't use any meat as I was making Bourbon Chicken to go with it. I just added the carrots and peas and some mushrooms. Great choice to go with my main dish! Oh, and by the way, I did use brown rice and it didn't make a difference at all! The key to good fried rice is to start out with COLD rice, not hot. That may have been the downfall of some of the other posters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy October 04, 2008

I'm guessing it was my fault, I used brown rice, but we were not crazy about this one...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! August 10, 2008
Take-Out Fried Rice