Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Take-Out Fried Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Take-Out Fried Rice

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2012

      Really good! Made it just like the recipe with ham....and used low sodium Soy sauce. Next time I'm gonna try it with mushrooms...thanks Chef Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This was good, and it made a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I wound up leaving out the celery, halving the carrots and onion, and we're vegan so I excluded the eggs as well and halved the soy sauce for health reasons--there was still a lot in the bottom of our skillet, so next time I may halve it again. I also used "asian style savory baked tofu" from 'zaar instead of ham/pork, and like other reviewers, I added a pinch of ground ginger. We'll be making this again, and closer to the original recipe, but next time I'll throw in some cornstarch (since we leave out the egg) and forget about the ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      We LOVED this! I made it exactly as written, except added a little chicken base to the rice steamer. I did wash my rice first and had no trouble with it sticking, even though it wasn't cold. I used leftover spiral sliced ham and it was delicious! Thanks for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This was good, I added some ground ginger and a shot of worchestershire sauce at the end. I also used chicken for the meat. I think it is the best fried rice that I have tried so far. I also only added the peas at the end because we like ours to retain some texture. Thanks for a keeper Chef Dee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was easy and good, but seemed like it's missing something. It needs some added flavor. Maybe some chicken broth? Very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Made this last night to go with Bourbon Chicken (#45809), so I didn't add the meat. I followed the tip some other reviewers' gave about chilling the rice before adding it to everything else. I skipped the sesame oil this time because I didn't have any on hand, but I'll try to get some to add in in the future. The recipe as is makes A LOT of rice. In the future, I'll make again but probably halve the amounts of everything (because our small family doesn't need that much leftover rice - haha); however, I'll leave the egg amount the same as the original recipe - we like extra scrambled egg in our fried rice. The texture was really good/authentic to take-out and it was very easy to make. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Liked it alot, great with Chicken & Shrimp too thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I didn't use any meat as I was making Bourbon Chicken to go with it. I just added the carrots and peas and some mushrooms. Great choice to go with my main dish! Oh, and by the way, I did use brown rice and it didn't make a difference at all! The key to good fried rice is to start out with COLD rice, not hot. That may have been the downfall of some of the other posters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I'm guessing it was my fault, I used brown rice, but we were not crazy about this one...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      this was pretty good though i will make a few changes next time. mainly, i used plain HOT cheap white rice and it turned out pretty gummy. not sure if the gummy factor was because it wasn't cold, or the fact i didn't rinse it before cooking. but next time i'll either rinse it well first and cool it, or just use basmati which i love. also, i used chicken base when cooking the rice which i'll probably leave out next time, this dish doesn't need the extra flavor or salt. i served w/ hoisin grilled pork chops and wanted veggie rice, so i used a can each of bamboo shoots, water chesnuts, and sprouts. i might even add some cabbage next time and an extra egg since i added so many extra veggies. all in all very good w/ good flavor and i'll definitely make again. my 4yo DD absolutely loved the stuff and i'm making rice bowls for her out of the leftovers (this made ALOT!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Wow...this turned out terrific Chef Dee. I cooked my rice in the morning in homemade chicken stock and chilled it in the fridge all day. I stir fried my veggies in a little olive oil, as I don't like the taste of sesame oil. I added just a couple of drops of seseme oil when I added the rice. I also added a handful of fresh sprouts. It turned out great and was very easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I really found this in an effort to use up some leftover ham. I ended up with an entire Chinese feast, also making your Lemon Chicken-Just Like Take out ! as suggested. The fried rice was really good and very easy to put together. I thought that the ham made the dish slightly too salty, so I might use plain cooked pork next time. Also, I thought the rice was flavorful enough that it actually competed with the flavors of the other dish, so I will reserve this to eat as a meal on its own next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was a good substitute for chinese take out. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I made this rice today and it was great .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I make this alot. If you love fried rice this is a great recipe. I use bacon drippings for frying vegetables instead of sesame oil for more flavor,(not the healthiest, but the taste is good) and add 1 can of bean sprouts. I do sprinke on a little sesame oil at the end of cooking. Everything else the same. Thanks for posting Chef Dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Whipped this up last night, took a hint from another review and used a combination of frozen peas and carrots. I also cut back on the sesame oil by one tablespoon due to a bad experience I had once when I used too much and it made me sick. I cut up some leftover smoked pork chops for the meat and didn't put as much soy sauce in as called for, I thought DH could add more if he wanted. This stuff came out absolutely awesome! It smells and tastes exactly like take out, and so easy to make! Thanks for the recipe, I'll make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

    • on April 30, 2007

      Love it!!! I'll go easy on sesame oil, it was alittle too strong but otherwise its perfect, so quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      I loved this! I threw some chicken tenders in the oven while I was cooking the rice and used that instead of ham or pork. I also used frozen peas and carrots, and I used a whole onion. I would slightly reduce the soy sauce next time, but that's just me; the rest of the family thought it was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Take-Out Fried Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.9
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    32%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 111.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 2642.0 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes