9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family really enjoyed this dish. The flavours where intense Will definately be making again. Just a couple of changes - I didn't have enough lemons, so I added sliced preserved lemons instead of lemon wedges. I had the fresh coriander so used that and I cooked it on the stove top in my new tangine. To balance out the sharp citrus taste and served this with steamed couscous studded with currants and pinenuts. I made this as part of Recipe Swap #35

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coasty December 03, 2009

This is a very pretty dish - has a lot of good flavors - salt is a definte must in this recipe - just lacks a little in depth of flavors tried them again as leftovers the day after the day after and there was something there that wasn't there the day it was made so perhaps like good soups and stews this one taste's better with age!!! thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravenseyes December 31, 2007

Magnificent was the verdict.... I followed the recipe exactly and it was great... the flavor was just so different and yummy thanks for posting. its going to be added to my menus at home

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook October 10, 2007

Wow, was this fantastic. I left out only the tomatoes, otherwise one picky child in my household would not have eaten her supper. This was a keeper, I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too September 27, 2007

This is a VERY NICE COLORFUL FLAVORFUL recipe! I used 4 large boneless skinless chicken breasts and 3 bunches of chopped cilantro. I omitted the flour. I used 2 (15oz) cans of chopped tomatoes which ended up being too much. For the olives I used kalamata, green stuffed with pimentos and green stuffed with garlic. I didn't find it too sour but it did need salt to bring out the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed September 10, 2007

We really loved the sour lemon flavour of this dish. I used boneless, skinless thighs, and they came out so tender. So simple and tasty. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz June 13, 2007

This is an easy 5-star recipe. I made it in a tagine cooker and the chicken was so tender. The sauce was sublime. My dinner company loved it and even took some back home with them. I served it with plain basmati rice and homemade bread. Wonderful recipe Flower.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 March 04, 2007

This is one of the most difficult reviews I've ever done. Not having 1/2 star is hard enough! First the good news: the spice mixture is incredibly good. I'd like to repeat that: the spice mixture ...! In fact, I'd suggest that the marinating mixture be doubled! I had about 2 lbs or more of chicken pieces and I could have done with more spice mix. I followed Chef floWer's recipe as closely as I could and used no substitutions. I could have made the marinade hotter. Now the other news is that I decided to dribble over the dish (before it went into the oven) quite an amount of honey, otherwise certain people in this household would have complained that the dish was too sour or acidic. Tomatoes tend to be sour when cooked, and there were all that lemon juice and lemon pieces ... So in the end the dish was absolutely great. I did not use the olive oil, as I could see the chicken with skin had enough fat. I suspect that I used too much tomato ... But honestly, I recommend this recipe to anyone who comes across it. I feel a few tweaks (increased spices for a whole chicken in pieces, and some sweetening) could bring this dish into the 4 1/2 star category!! Thanks, Chef floWer, please realise that you pleased us!!! I apologise for the photo, which had to be taken under artificial light as it was almost dark when the lovely dish came out of the oven! I sort of put it down and shot it, so it's not Food Art!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie March 02, 2007

Very good - did not change a thing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet'n More! March 02, 2007
Tajine Msir Zeetoon - Moroccan Chicken With Lemons