10 Reviews

I SO wanted to love this - maybe our expectations were too high after reading all the rave reviews. I made homemade bread, used Creamy Bacon Salad Dressing instead of the bottled salad dressing and had a gorgeous fresh out of the garden tomato. I made the salad dressing 4 hours prior to making the sandwich - maybe that wasn't enough time to allow the flavors to meld. Or perhaps my cold cuts were lacking. I'm not sure but was disappointed in the results. I REALLY like the ingredients so I'm not giving up. Next time I'll try adding a layer of avacado and bacon. Now THAT sounds like a winner! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn September 27, 2009

A bit messy to eat, but quite tasty. :) I used a loaf of homemade sourdough that was a little smaller, so I scaled the ingredients down a tad, but stuffed all I could fit into the shell. Rather than cutting the loaf in half, filling both halves, then trying to turn the filled top half over without making a mess, I just cut the top of the loaf off and stuffed the bottom, then replaced the top. I layered the ingredients in the order directed, then layered them again in reverse so they would be ordered the same they would be if I had filled the two halves (if that makes sense :) ). I used red leaf lettuce and just added crumbled bacon to ranch-style dressing. Great sandwich--thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ July 17, 2007

This is a winner! I double up the lettuce on the bottom but topped off each layer with strips of bacon instead of lettuce. I always get rave reviews from friends and relatives. Thanks Martini Guy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spin August 12, 2012

Very tasty but a little difficult to eat. Don't think I will make it again just because of that but thanks for sharing anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
constantlycooking! February 07, 2010

I followed the recipe except i didn't take out all the bread that the recipe called for... Well, that is one thing you must do! It tasted great but too much bread. I`ll do better next time around. I think brisket would be great in this sandwich. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CMarsh6744 September 27, 2009

One of the best sandwiches I've ever eaten.. Reminds me alot of my monster sandwich What's Maui Chips?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ September 25, 2009

This is FANTASTIC! I especially love the idea of hollowing out the center of the loaf. It's something I do with paninis now too. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe November 18, 2008

Wow this got rave reviews from my DH! The only thing that would have made this sandwich any better is bacon and maybe some sliced avocado which I think I'll add next time. I am lactose intolerant so on my corner of the sandwich I did not include any cheese or any of the bacon ranch dressing I used on my husband's part. It was still totally delicious and it blew my husband's mind that a sandwich could fill him up so much. As the name suggests, it would make a great tailgating or super bowl party sandwich. I am definitely going to make it this weekend when the Longhorns beat Oklahoma State!!! Hook 'em!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana October 20, 2008

Made these again for Christmas day lunch and what a hit they were! It was doubly great since I could assemble the loaf the night before when doing all that other Christmas-dinner-prep too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 January 01, 2005

Quick, easy and delicious! I substituted hoagie rolls for the round bread. Next time I'll add thinly sliced bell pepper to add some crunch. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burnhamtx June 26, 2004
Tailgate Club Sandwich