Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tahini Goddess Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tahini Goddess Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2005

      With a bottle of store bought Annie's Goddess Dressing by my side in the kitchen as reference, I mixed and adjusted this copycat recipe until I got it just right. My husband and I both agreed that this dressing is better than the original. You can thin it down with water if you like a more pourable salad dressing or keep thicker and use as a dip for vegetables and chips. I added one heaping tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley. (Parsley is one of the ingredients in original Annie's that is missing from this recipe.) I also made two versions: one using the two different sesame oils above and the next batch using olive oil. I use the best quality oils I can find. If you want to tone down the pronounced sesame taste a few notches use olive oil. However, we liked both versions equally. The salad dressing is best made several hours in advance to allow the ingredients to work their magic. One more thing, I was out of my homemade tahini so I used an organic brand made by the Maranatha Natural Foods' Company in Oregon. It is a roasted tahini which eliminated the need to toast the sesame seeds as indicated in the recipe. You've made friends of mine and coworkers of husband's very happy to have found this jewel of a recipe. Thank you for sharing it with 'Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      It tastes pretty good but it was SOOO thick I had to add juice from 2 lemons & an extra 1/4 cup of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Very Good recipe. Thank you so much for posting. I used Bragg's raw organic unfiltered apple cider vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar to be more consistent with Annie's ingredients. I found that I needed a little extra lemon juice and vinegar. Looking forward to making it again and having fun tweaking it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      So good, so very fattening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      This really is pretty close to Annie's...which I adore and almost never buy since it's so spendy here. As some other reviewers mentioned, I too found the amount of garlic and green onion just a bit too much. I only used 3 grn onions (they were large though), next time I'd scale both of those ingredients back. I tinkered around with more of the other ingredients to lessen the garlic/onion punch, and I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. Planning to make a potato salad with this, I think it will be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe! So happy to have found it. I just spent close to $10 for two bottles of Annie's and decided to find a cheaper alternative, and finally overcome my addiction, and this recipe fit the bill!
      I used organic wheat-free Tamari (soy sauce) instead of the Shoyu, and plain, unsweetened rice vinegar. I didn't have roasted sesame oil, and figured the Tahini should have enough sesame. I instead used a lite-tasting olive oil. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I am a huge fan of Simply Natural's Goddess Dressing and this recipe came the closest to matching the ingredient list on the bottle. I am sugar/honey free, so I adapted this recipe and posted it here on my blog (with a yummy falafel spinach salad recipe). http://organiquegal.com/falafel-spinach-salad-tahini-dressing-cold-weather.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I love Annie's Goddess dressing, but can't afford to keep buying it! I'm so glad to have found this recipe - thank you! Maybe my garlic cloves and green onion bulbs are larger (or it's just our taste preference) but I've found that using two garlic cloves and two green onions were more than enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I used apple cider vinegar because that's what is listed on Annie's ingredients. I don't recommend doing that unless you don't like that vinegar tang, which I reeeeeally do. Anyway, I added extra red wine vinegar and was able to get it to my liking. I also used tamari instead of soy sauce. I would say this is as delicious as Annie's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Excellent! Great as is. However as I like things tangy I added a bit more soy sauce and vinegar..personal preference.... Addicting! I love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This stuff is fantastic! I followed the ingredients and directions exactly and it was wonderful! Bye-bye Annie. Hello Kathy228!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      It was good. But - I did not have the exact ingredients to replicate. I used 1/2c olive oil, 1/2c tahani, 1/4c apple cider vinegar, 1/2c water, 5 scallions, 1T lime juice, 4 garlic cloves, 3T 'chinese marinade', 1/2 T tamari, 2t black sesame powder, 1/2t salt, 1/2t pepper, a few T nutritional yeast powder. It is a bit too sesame-y, and a bit too garlicy. I will reduce both next time and increase vinegar and nutritional yeast powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Terrific - and easily adjustable. Glad to have a home-made substitute for the bottled dressing - which I love, but I'm going broke on it! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      A good dressing, made as written, but could be 4, or even 5 stars with some tinkering. If I were making it again, I would cut way back on the sesame oil and garlic, and boost the tahini. I think that would bring it more in line with Annie's too. It has a lot of potential!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Like another poster, I did find this recipe to have a little to much onion-bite. I am usually an onion lover, so that was a surprise, but I think that I will probably try the recipe again and only use 3 green onions, only using the light green and dark green parts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Positively addictive! We really liked this! Personally, I didn't find the taste the same as Annie's, but no matter - similar and just as good! I followed the recipe closely - except I used 3 small cloves of fresh garlic. It only made 1 1/2 cups, which I confirmed was right by adding the ingredient quantities. Also, it was very thick! I thinned it with some water plus some extra this'n'that from the recipe (Although I base my comments on the recipe exactly as written.) I really liked that everything just went into the blender - so it was easy to measure out whenever I had a minute between other dinner prep. Well, thanks very much, Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This dressing seemed bitter at first. I blended in a couple of teaspoons of honey. Much better but still maybe a bit too oniony for me. I may try mixing the rest with some plain yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This is a very good salad dressing. I haven't tried "Annie's Natural Goddess Dressing" so I can't vouch for its authenticity; however, this is a good dressing. I did thin it down a little with water. I made this to go with your Chopped Salad Chopped Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      I had never tried this dressing before, but will be making this often now. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      My new favorite dressing! The tahini makes it deliciously creamy and the garlic, vinegar, soy, etc. add so much flavor. It would work on a light romaine salad as well as a more hearty one perhaps made with kale or beans. I didn't have sesame oil so just used about a Tbsp or two of olive oil (to cut down on the calories for me.) Although this was fantastic as is, I decided to blend in a big handful of spinach to give it a nice 'green goddess' color and add some more nutritional value to my salad. I tasted both ways, and the spinach really doesn't alter the taste. Can't wait to try it as a dip and in my sandwiches. Kathy, thanks so much for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tahini Goddess Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.1
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    86%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 377.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes