7 Reviews

Yummm! I used the mango and found this dessert very satisfying. I tweaked fewer blueberries and more mango - so mine was a little lighter in color, but still very pretty. I chopped my dates each into thirds, but they didn't really get whirred around enough - I didn't want to overprocess, so enjoyed the little chewy date pieces throughout. Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI April 30, 2010

Tahini is a taste I hadn't realized I had acquired until I tried this recipe. lol This is delicious! I used Cashew Milk (Raw Foods) and frozen peach. Wonderful! I'm feeling a little guilty for making it so late at night, because the kids are all in bed and I can't share it with them. Next time! :) Thanks for the yummy treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 March 03, 2010

What a great recipe!! This is the first ice cream I had in years, and I enjoyed it very much. Instead of peach I used some pieces frozen banana, and instead of the dates I added a teaspoon dextrose. Also I found that I hadn't enough blueberries, so I added some cranberries which was very good, too. I love the tahini flavor - thanks a lot for posting this! Made for Think Pink October 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany October 14, 2009

When I tagged this recipe, I knew I was trying something adventurous and I wasn't sure how the tahini would affect the recipe, but I am really trying to expand my collection of Raw recipes. Boy am I glad I tried it!! :) I really enjoyed this and the recipe will become a life-long keeper! Yummy, very addictive! I used frozen peaches and the consistency was perfect for me, so I will continue to use frozen peaches in the future. I think this makes enough for 2-4 servings -- 2 large & filling bowls or 4 tasty afternoon treats! [Made & reviewed for PRMR Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 June 27, 2009

I really enjoyed this different approach to vegan ice cream. The tahini makes it creamy, but does give it an earthy flavor, but I liked it. I used a banana instead of the peach or mango. After tasting, I added a couple tablespoons of cocoa powder, which made it much richer. Thanks for posting, Syd. Made for Vegetarian Recipe Swap, February, 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose February 22, 2009

I'm going to start this one out with 4 stars. It was good and intriguing, and definitely a recipe I'd like to try again, particularly if these flavors are for me an "acquired taste". I was smart enough to first pit and chop the dates; I did not, in fact, chop them fine enough before placing them into my Magic Bullet, because I still smelled the smoky motor even after trying the chopping blade! My store didn't have fresh peaches this time of year so I used the frozen ones which I recommend when making this out-of-season. I also think this makes enough for 4 servings due to its richness! Thanks, Sydney Mike! Made for Vegetarian Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 24, 2009

I did this as s moothie for toddler DD. I tasted it & quite liked the nutty flavour but not so for miss DD. I had to add some juice to dampen the nutty flavour for her but then she drank it happily. This is an interesting way to enjoy Tahini, thanks Syd!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** January 09, 2009
Tahini Blueberry Blender Ice Cream (Raw Food)