Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tagine of Chicken, Preserved Lemon, & Olives Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tagine of Chicken, Preserved Lemon, & Olives

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2012

      Chicken tagine is one of my favorite dishes, and this is a great recipe for it! I really appreciate the flexibility of the spices. I used two fresh meyer lemons instead of preserved lemons, and I was out of chicken stock, so I used water and some white wine and let the sauce simmer down at little at the end of cooking. Delicious over rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Delicious- ending up tasting very similar to curry chicken from my native home of Trinidad. We don't like olives so I omitted and just added a spicy Olive Muffalata relish from That Pickle Guy brand at the end for some spice and a little olive flavor (this muffalata is very hot & spicy). Without it, the sauce would have been too bland for our tastes in terms of spicy-ness. That's just us though. If it weren't that, we would've added a little habanero..lol. I upped the recipe to 16 servings since we had 3 lbs of chicken. That called for about 3 cups of chicken broth but it ended up being way too watery (I couldn't imagine making this with water over broth). So I had to add another serving of the spices to mix in and I actually had to simmer down the sauce for about 1.5 hours. I just kept checking on it until the sauce tasted right. By then, the chicken is broken up and soft. It came out more like pulled chicken the more I stirred. I also didn't use the preserves. I just added fresh lemon juice to taste and a little salt to taste since my chicken broth was the full sodium version. Definitely will be a staple. I just had to play with the spices to get it to the flavor we like. I'm giving a 4 because the sauce was watery and next time I make it I'll have to add even more spices because it still needed more. I recommend you taste it as you go to determine just how much spice is need.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      ZWT6: This recipe definitely tickled the tastebuds!! Delicious Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Just wonderful! Made exactly according to the recipe using the saffron, cumin and turmeric and omitting the other optional ingredients and using preserved lemons. The whole family gave it two thumbs up. Easy to make with complicated and delicious flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Thoroughly enjoyed this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Just recieved a tagine from DD for a gift and had to use it. Followed this recipe exactly only used lamb shanks instead of chicken as that's what DH was requesting. Served over steamed white rice and it was the perfect meal. At first sounded like a lot of steps, but really went together easy. The combination of flavors was unique, kind of sweet and tangy. Thanks Rita for clear instructions to guide me through the use of my tangine. Next I'll try this with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

    • on January 08, 2007

      I made and hungrily devoured this a couple months back but forgot to review it, so I'm writing from memory. (First I made Rita's preserved lemons--#77521)--a process that took 3 weeks.) This is one lemon chicken recipe that REALLY is lemony. Despite the large number of steps in the instructions it's actually pretty easy to make. I had no saffron but did use coriander and a wee bit of cinnamon. I also omitted the olives. Liked it a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      I really liked the marinade for this chicken. I added extra preserved lemons but had to leave the olives out because I forget them at the store. Thanks Rita! I will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was a good recipe! I like the lemon taste to these with the preserved lemons!! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Tasty recipe - I pretty well followed it exactly except - horror - I used some white wine and water instead of stock. I also used black kalamata olives, instead of green olives, because that's what I had in the fridge. I cooked this because I had some leftover preserved lemons and I wasn't disappointed,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      Excellent!! The unusual spice and flavor was a huge hit at a neighborhood dinner. We are all hooked on the Tagine. I used Egyptian pickeled lemons, preserved not available in my area, and gracked green olives. What a meal! Thanks for the recipe. Duke

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      I made this recipe as part of a Moroccan Dinner I was hosting. I used a mixture of boneless, skinless chicken thighs and breasts. I used green olives that I pitted myself rather than a stuffed olive. Good flavours. Easy to make. Thanks Rita L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tagine of Chicken, Preserved Lemon, & Olives

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.5
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    61%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 42.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 489.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    preserved lemons

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites