Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tacos from Scratch (Way Better Than a Packet and Just As Easy!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tacos from Scratch (Way Better Than a Packet and Just As Easy!)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2009

      Very tasty! Usually we have leftovers but not this time! I left out the coriander because I didn't have any, but it was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Yum! So easy and very, very much better than those awfully salty packets they sell. And for extra freshness, I used fresh coriander leaves. Thanks! I'll make them over and over again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Wow! I just finished eating this and it's absolutely yummy and SO easy to make. I made it exactly - just minus the hot sauce. It is the perfect blend of spices - it's not overpowering or bland and WAY better than the taco seasoning packets. I probably have about 10 of those in my cupboard and I'm wondering what to do with them now :) I'm sure I will be making this frequently! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Delicious!! I used ground turkey, sauteed it with a diced onion, cut the coriander in half, and increased the cumin & chili powder (we like things spicy). Served in whole-wheat tortillas with cheese, lettuce, sour cream, hot sauce & Spicy Guacamole. DH proclaimed this the "best" taco meat I've made. :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      It's different than the other tacos. Must be the coriander. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Very good!!! Much better then the packets. My family gobbled the tacos up and only left me one. Thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Loved the concept, but the seasoning blend wasn't quite right for us. It was good, but next time I'll tweak the spices. Thank you for posting this. It's a great idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      Jackieblue, I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I can't believe how good the sauce was! It's the first time I've ever tried coriander, and WOW! Beautiful flavor, almost like a subtle lemon-pepperish taste, accompanied by the smoky flavor of cumin -- MUCH better than the "Old Elpaso" taco seasoning I'd tried before...Even my 7 year old (who proclaims to dislike tacos) loved this, and even asked me if he could have a little more of the sauce to eat without the taco shell! (I added hot sauce to mine only, because the kids don't like it -- but it was a great addition!) Thank you for sharing this...It's a keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      I made this a while back but forgot to review it. It was very good & easy to make. We make tacos a lot in our house so I'm always looking for ways to change it up. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      I used to rely on packaged mixes for our taco meals until my granddaughter needed a low salt diet. This recipe fit the bill perfectly. Even if sodium isn't an issue in the future this will still be my "go to" for tacos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      My husband said these were the best tacos he's ever had! I didn't plan ahead and ended up making a few alternations based on what I had. No tomato sauce so I used leftover spaghetti sauce and I didn't crush the garlic just used minced. It was great and would make great nachos too! Thanks for the great recipe its a keeper, no more packets for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tacos from Scratch (Way Better Than a Packet and Just As Easy!)

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.1
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    58%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 409.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites