Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Tater Tots Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Tater Tots Casserole

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2008

      My roommates and I made this last night. We decided it was just ok but could definitely be great with a few changes. We thought the dish would be over the top if the tater tots were crispy. Next time we'll put the salsa con queso over the meat & corn mixture and put the tater tots on top of that, keeping our eyes peeled to make sure they won't burn. I also thought it needed something to brighten up the flavor - maybe some cilantro or Rotel with lime. Thank you for posting. Can't wait to try it again with the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      This was great! Very easy to prepare and a good flavor combination. I didn't have any salsa con queso, so I mixed a can of cheddar cheese soup with some salsa and it worked great. I used my convection oven and baked for about 40 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      WOW , This is good !! Even my picky DH loved it ab]nd said I could make it again ! I do think the 13x9 casserole dish is too large . I used an 11x7 , 2 quart casserole dish and it was just perfect !! The recipe does not say to drain the corn (I did) , otherwise I think there would have been too much liquid . This is VERY good and I will be sharing this one with all my friends at work !!! It is a great , easy to fix meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      This was GREAT, and so easy! I did make a few changes though: I used frozen corn thawed under running water (as OzCoMartha did), used cheddar flavored tatter tots, combined salsa and cheese whiz in a pot and poured over tatter tots (didn't have salsa con queso and didn't feel like running out to the store), baked that for 30 minutes then topped the entire thing off with grated cheddar & mozerella cheese.....YUMMY!!!! Even my picky 6 year old ate all of it and asked if we could have it again tomorrow night!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      This was very good..my husband loved it. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I think next time though I will try using grated cheese and salsa instead of the salsa con queso. The salsa con queso made it a little too rich for my liking. Definitely will make again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      My 7-yr old's comments while we were eating this were, "Mom, you should make this more often!" Plus, she and my husband had seconds! I followed the recipe pretty closely, only I used frozen corn kernels I thawed under running water. Since I didn't have salsa con queso, I took a jar of regular salsa and added some grated sharp cheddar cheese and spooned that on top of the casserole and baked for about 50 minutes. YUM! A very nice casserole with a Mexican twist! Thanks, Mary!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      I enjoyed this and used it as a starting base. I use a mix of chorizo and ground beef. And since I do like it a bit crispy put the tots on top with everything else below as well as put them in the refrigerator the night before so they are just chilled not frozen. ALso make sure to space them like the picture so they get a good flow of heat around them and let the steam out. <br/>Very enjoyable meal and not expensive or time consuming at all.<br/>:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      This was tasty and only thing I changed was the potatoes to Has Browns and I did add the sour cream Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      My family loved this. I was using up some cheese dip and chose your recipe. They loved it. I loved the fact that it was a one dish meal. I had some chopped onion, chopped tomato and sour cream on the side. Delicious. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      My husband made this for us. He put a little shredded cheese on top. We liked it! However, we probably won't make it again. My 9 year old wouldn't eat it. We have been making another tater tot casserole for years. We prefer that one better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Loved it! Only thing I did different was add a can of Rotel to the ground beef before baking. Good as leftovers, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      A great and easy recipe! Nice change from slimy green beans in the regular version. My father and DH LOVED it! I used 1 cup frozen corn in place of the canned corn and I used 1/2 pkg of velveeta cheese and about 3/4 cup of salsa in place of the salsa con queso. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      We thought this was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This is a pretty darn good tater tot casserole recipe! I'm not a huge fan of the tater tot casseroles, but when I saw TACO flavored , I figured this was one I could deal with. I used an 11x7 pan , and also did as someone else suggested , put the tots on top so they'd be crunchier , rather than soggy. I put a plop of sour cream on my serving and I'm scarfing it up as I type this review. The more I eat , the more I like it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This was a great recipe! I substituted green beans for the corn and it was delicious. I didn't change the pan size or anything else. It worked out just fine. Thanks for sharing it~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I was a little disappointed... it was just ok to me. I probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was really yummy! My daughter made it and invited me for dinner. It is very easy to put together and it hit the spot on a cold winter evening. Next time we thought we might add some diced peppers along with the corn layer. Thanks, Mary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      We really enjoyed this. However, my toddler (who is not a picky eater)would not eat it. The flavors were great and it was easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      This was AWESOME!!! My whole family, even kids, want it for dinner again tomorrow!! I doubled the recipe which was good for a 9 X 13 pan. I didn't double the meat though, since were not huge ground beef fans, and it was still a perfect amount of beef! I didn't have the salsa con queso so I combined a 15 oz. jar of cheeze whiz & 16 oz. jar of salsa and it was perfect! I also took advice of draining and corn. Very yummy and will definately be a keeper! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      I really liked this recipe. I too cooked in a smaller casserole. About 11 minutes before it was done I sprinkled the top with about 1 cup of mexican blend shredded cheese and then finished baking. Wow- wonderfully cheesy top! Thanks for a keeper Mary. Tweeky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Tater Tots Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.0
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    48%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1735.5 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salsa con queso

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes