8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is a huge hit. Everyone I know has asked for it. I throw it all in the crockpot, and use a bit of flour and water to thicken it more. Awesome, with melted Mexican Cheese and tortilla chips!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyme223 May 14, 2003

Just fantastic flavors and a hearty and quick soup! I made as directed but added one fresh jalapeno(diced) and 1 can green beans--to add some green veggies. Also, halved the recipe since there were only two of us. thanks for the idea of freezing and thawing! Made and reviewed for my adoptee, Pick a Chef, Spring 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy April 05, 2009

Hi Laura, Just wanted to tell you we loved your stew, did it just as you said,and took a hint from you and served it with shreddd cheese and also cornbread,Yum that was perfect. Thanks so much, Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers January 29, 2006

I have a recipe that is almost identical and my help those that think it needs more zest 1 lb ground beef 1 onion, chopped 1 package ranch dressing mix (the dry stuff in the packet 1 package taco seasoning 1 can black beans, undrained 1 can kidney beans, undrained 1 can pinto beans, undrained 1 16oz can corn, undrained 1 can Rotel tomatoes (the ones with the chilies) 1 can diced tomatoes 2 cups water Everyone loves this! You can add cooked pasta and/or chili powder if you want- I cook this in the crockpot- brown the meat and onion, transfer to crockpot and add all the other ingredients. Cook for 4-6 hours on low. Freezes well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 September 13, 2005

Very good recipe. I took this to a potluck at dd's school & it was well received. I used chicken, and had to make a couple of substitutions based on availablity. By mistake, I bought one can of regular corn & one of creamed, so I used it anyway. And - somehow - I had no tomato sauce in the kitchen, so I used condensed tomato soup. I did up the spices a bit, as the taco seasoning was labeled "mild". All in all, an easy to make, yet very tasty dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii August 29, 2004

Very good! I went home @ lunch and threw it all in the crockpot! I left out the water and drained the corn and it came out great (the consistency of chili)! I would probably add more taco seasoning next time for some more flavor. I think the water in the beans drowned it out a little. Ate it with scoops and loved every bite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryKayJes January 20, 2004

This made a tasty chili when I made it without the optional water. I used a vegetarian meat substitute and it turned out very nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola68 October 31, 2003

This is great! Everyone always loves it and wants more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Blanton May 30, 2003
Taco Stew