Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Soup (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Soup (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2011

      Made this for lunch today, wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This is very good. I did have to add an extra 1/2 packet of taco seasoning to make it more "taco flavored" and make a few adjustments for things I can't get easily in England. So instead of tomatoes with chilies and canned chilies, I ended up adding about 2/5 of a jar of sliced jalapenos (I chopped these finely). I made a substitute for the ranch dressing mix and it's not as good as the real deal, but it worked and I think the olives add a nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      This is my favorite main dish stand-by. It is inexpensive (what's cheaper than canned food?!), delicious, and easily feeds a group. I get rave reviews each time I serve this. Thanks for sharing on Food.com, Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Easy and makes a BIG pot of soup! I left out the green olives, then added garlic powder and black pepper. Very little salt is needed because of all the canned ingredients. I served this soup at a party with a variety of garnishes to choose from. My guests all seemed to really enjoy it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This is so yummy & filling for a soup! I used 1 lb extra lean ground beef, 1 onion, and no pinto beans. I used 1/2 of the taco packet and 1/2 of the ranch packet. Other than that I followed exactly. The only change I would make from that is to next time either leave out the red beans or use black beans instead, for personal preference. I topped with shredded cheese and sour cream, but the sour cream reaaaally made it yummy. Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Great Taco Soup recipe. I have made Taco Soup before, but lost the recipe a couple years ago. More like a chili than an actual soup this is a great filling dinner. I did use black beans instead of pinto beans because I have a bunch I need to use up. The rest of the dish I made as written for some friends. Even one who swore he hates beans gobbled it up. I served with Fritos and cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Was definitely better than we thought it would be. My hubby said he'd even consider serving to company. I made a smaller batch and basically halved this. Kicked up the flavor a little with cummin and chili powder, still not too hot for my small children though. Fresh cilantro is excellent in this (or any mexican dish for that matter). The corn chips (fritos really perfect) are a definite must for garnish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Easy to make and everyone loved it - the leftovers were amazing the next day too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      A crowd pleaser! Served with cheesy cornbread muffins and salad. My fiance said it was "too beany", but I liked it. May use more seasonings next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Simple to prepare and good to eat....that in our house makes a five star recipe. I made this the oher night for supper and we loved it. I served it with shredded cheddar,sour cream and fritos. It does make alot but we are loving the leftovers. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Not only is this soup really easy, it is one of the best pantry meals I have ever made! The only real effort involved is in opening all of the cans. ;) I have made it in the crockpot and on the stove. Leftovers freeze easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      For a Paula Deen recipe I was a tad disappointed. It was very spicy, in my opinion, but not very taco flavored. So I added extra tomatoes and tomato sauce which made it more bland...so I added extra taco seasoning and ranch dressing mix. Glad I tried it though! And YES, this makes a ton...I froze some and gave some to the neighbors. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I keep of all the canned goods, taco seasoning and ranch dressing mix in a brown bag in my pantry labeled taco soup. I know I can have a crowd on a moments notice with a quick trip to store for ground beef, onions and toppings. Easy! and tastes yummy as well :) Thank you for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      we all loved this soup! couldn't get mexican stewed tomatoes, so i used regular stewed and 2 cans of diced tomatoes w/green chiles. didn't use the regular diced tomatoes. added more green chiles than called for. we have plenty of leftovers, and i am going to freeze for additional meals. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Great, easy soup. I only had a half pound of ground beef, so I cut the recipe in half and made up the difference with texturized vegetable protein (TVP) to add a little more heartiness. I also left out the olives. The first time I made it with the corn chips in the bottom, but I didn't care for this - too soggy. For the next bowl, I sprinkled them on top - much better. Served with sour cream and shredded cheese. A keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Oh my gosh, this is so-o-o good! Topped with the cheese and sour cream, it was really enjoyed! We scooped it up with Tortilla scoops, and boy, what a yummy bowl it was!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I made this recipe for our soup club at work and it was a hit! I modified the recipe, taking out the cans of chilies and doubling the cans of tomatoes with chilies, just to cut down on the spiciness of the soup. Serving it with sour cream also helped to cut down the heat. It was VERY thick, and almost like a stew so I added a lot of chicken broth to stretch it. It was SUPER easy to make, literally a 2 dish meal. I'll be making this again on a cold winter's night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Oh my gosh...this is SO yummy! I made a half batch, and added two cans of chicken broth to make it "soupier". Also added about a teaspoon of chili powder and a teaspoon or so of garlic powder. And it still made enough for three days worth with three people eating at least one big bowl (two for hubby!) This is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Since this was a big recipe I made it for my restaurant, the patrons raved at how good it was. Very good and can't beat the healthy benefits of this soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This is the best! Glad to see recipe all ready posted. This is one of our favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Soup (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.3
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    31%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1021.9 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites