42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for lunch today, wonderful!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riggsmom1 December 19, 2011

This is very good. I did have to add an extra 1/2 packet of taco seasoning to make it more "taco flavored" and make a few adjustments for things I can't get easily in England. So instead of tomatoes with chilies and canned chilies, I ended up adding about 2/5 of a jar of sliced jalapenos (I chopped these finely). I made a substitute for the ranch dressing mix and it's not as good as the real deal, but it worked and I think the olives add a nice touch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK October 03, 2010

This is my favorite main dish stand-by. It is inexpensive (what's cheaper than canned food?!), delicious, and easily feeds a group. I get rave reviews each time I serve this. Thanks for sharing on Food.com, Sharlene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curvy October 18, 2010

Easy and makes a BIG pot of soup! I left out the green olives, then added garlic powder and black pepper. Very little salt is needed because of all the canned ingredients. I served this soup at a party with a variety of garnishes to choose from. My guests all seemed to really enjoy it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes May 20, 2010

This is so yummy & filling for a soup! I used 1 lb extra lean ground beef, 1 onion, and no pinto beans. I used 1/2 of the taco packet and 1/2 of the ranch packet. Other than that I followed exactly. The only change I would make from that is to next time either leave out the red beans or use black beans instead, for personal preference. I topped with shredded cheese and sour cream, but the sour cream reaaaally made it yummy. Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ February 06, 2010

Great Taco Soup recipe. I have made Taco Soup before, but lost the recipe a couple years ago. More like a chili than an actual soup this is a great filling dinner. I did use black beans instead of pinto beans because I have a bunch I need to use up. The rest of the dish I made as written for some friends. Even one who swore he hates beans gobbled it up. I served with Fritos and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity January 12, 2010

Was definitely better than we thought it would be. My hubby said he'd even consider serving to company. I made a smaller batch and basically halved this. Kicked up the flavor a little with cummin and chili powder, still not too hot for my small children though. Fresh cilantro is excellent in this (or any mexican dish for that matter). The corn chips (fritos really perfect) are a definite must for garnish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo-nana January 10, 2010

Easy to make and everyone loved it - the leftovers were amazing the next day too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plannermom November 02, 2009

A crowd pleaser! Served with cheesy cornbread muffins and salad. My fiance said it was "too beany", but I liked it. May use more seasonings next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug October 15, 2009

Simple to prepare and good to eat....that in our house makes a five star recipe. I made this the oher night for supper and we loved it. I served it with shredded cheddar,sour cream and fritos. It does make alot but we are loving the leftovers. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 12, 2009
Taco Soup (Paula Deen)