Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Soup

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2001

      I made this recipe for a family the other day, thought the kids would really like it. Just did it on the stove and couldn't believe how easy it was - and how yummy! I only added one can of beans, and it seemed like enough for them. I made it last night for my husband and I - and he just absolutely loved it! It is sort of like chili - but not. It really is a taco in a bowl. We put the corn chips on the bottom and then topped the soup with cheese and sour cream. It is very filling and satisfying - and so easy and delicious - all the right ingredients. Next time I will try it in the crockpot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2001

      **** 1/2 Stars. Super simple to make. Very tasty and filling...I have three kids they all loved it (though one is of the opinion we are just tricking her to eat chili -- but she still ate all she was served). We like to top it with pleanty of cheese, sour cream and cilantro and serve with tortilla chips. We substitute a can of 'Ro-tel'-like Meexican style tomatoes in place of the can of diced tomatoes and the can of chilis, and like to use two cans of kidney and one can of black beans. I also like to throw in several sprigs of cilantro near the last hour or two of cooking. We've had this 3 or 4 times in the past month since first making it and made it one of our 'regulars'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2002

      Super easy to make and more like a stew/chili type than a soup, very thick and hearty. I did add more stewed tomatoes and served over crushed fritos with a sprinkle of cheese and dab of sour cream on top. Very good, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      Excellent soup...my sister-in-law made this for me and I couldn't stop raving about it...this will be a keeper recipe in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2001

      I liked this but got mixed reviews from the family. My daughter thought that it tasted too much like chili and said to just stick with my chili recipe. However, it was very simple and nice to have mixed up in the crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2001

      Made this for the first time and took it to a family gathering and everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe. This was very easy to make and taste great I didn't use the chiles (forgot) so i sliced up a jalopeno and it worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is so easy and excellent on a cold day! I have made it many times and passed the recipe on to friends. My kids like it, too, which is a huge telling factor of its goodness. I use taco seasoning mix (Taco Seasoning Mix) and ranch dressing mix (Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix). I also use frozen corn instead of canned. The beans I prefer are dark red kidney, black, and pinto. LOVE IT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      Very easy, very good! We substituted ground turkey for the beef, simmered it in the crock pot for a couple of hours and ate it with corn chips. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Excellent! I made this today and was so thrilled with the easy preparation, delicious taste and the fact that I had these things in my pantry! I was out of onions so I used dehydrated ones. Next time, I'll use fresh ones but this still turned out great. I used 2 cans of garbanzo beans and one can of Navy beans. I also used yellow corn. Two thumbs up for this meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      After reading some reviews, I really didn't want it to taste too much like chili so I substituted shredded chicken for the ground beef, substituted enchilada sauce for tomato sauce and used black, pinto and kidney beans.....OMG YUMMMMMMMMMMY! We are making it again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This soup is very tasty with a dollop of sour cream on top. I'd only give it 3 stars without it. We used kidney beans, black beans, and pinto beans. Next time I'm going to try hominy instead of corn. Makes a bunch, and tastes even better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Kathy, Thanks for the recipe. I work construction commercially doing drywall finishing and sometimes, I'll make Taco soup and bring it to the work site & my co-workers are happy campers when I do bring it. By the time I leave to go home, the crock pot (6 qt.) is empty. Thanks again for the recipe, Take care, Phil Anderson-Newburgh, Indiana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This is one of my top 10 recipes. It is easy and makes ALOT! I usually have all the ingredients in the pantry and can make it quickly. I can also convert to a vegetarian dish for my daughter by taking out the meat and adding another can of beans or removing a small portion for her before adding the meat. I follow the recipe exactly and it's perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is my favorite pantry meal. I have made it a zillion times and will probably make it a zillion more. We top it with cheddar cheese, sour cream, and cilantro. Thank for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      My kids rated this a five star recipe. DH and I were out of town on vacation and the kids prepared this meal. They loved it and the fact that they were able to make it themselves AND enjoyed it leads me to give you all five stars.....Thank you for sharing this winner of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Yumm! I didn"t use any green chilies & I had to use dried beans (I pre-soaked) but it tasted great for dinner with corn chips. Thanks for sharing this simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Quick and easy! Makes it look like Dad (me) is a good man in the kitchen.The rest of the family really likes this soup. Even tastes good with Morningstar Crumblers in place of the ground beef for the folks that are vegetarians.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This is a gr8 recipe! I used ground pork in place of grnd beef. I wld agree that it's a smoke screen for a chili recipe tho. We enjoyed it, and, will look fwd to it throughout the Winter season. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Oh my goodness how delicious is this soup! I love it and better yet it was super easy to make! I ended up using a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes without the chiles (didnt have the other) and used only 2 cans of beans (I used Cannellini beans ie white kidney beans) and used yellow corn taken right off of the cob. I browned the meat with the onions and then threw it all in the crockpot. I think it was done in probably 2 hours??? Thanks for sharing! I am keeping this in my favorite files :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Love this...a family favorite. I add a small can of green chilies and substitute a can of Ro Tel tomatoes to spice it up a bit. I have also made this with chicken instead of beef...just using the meat from a precooked grocery store rotisserie chicken. Either way, beef or chicken, it's good and everyone seems to love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 431.9
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    39%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1378.3 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 28.2 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beans

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites