36 Reviews

I made this recipe for a family the other day, thought the kids would really like it. Just did it on the stove and couldn't believe how easy it was - and how yummy! I only added one can of beans, and it seemed like enough for them. I made it last night for my husband and I - and he just absolutely loved it! It is sort of like chili - but not. It really is a taco in a bowl. We put the corn chips on the bottom and then topped the soup with cheese and sour cream. It is very filling and satisfying - and so easy and delicious - all the right ingredients. Next time I will try it in the crockpot!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina1 November 07, 2001

**** 1/2 Stars. Super simple to make. Very tasty and filling...I have three kids they all loved it (though one is of the opinion we are just tricking her to eat chili -- but she still ate all she was served). We like to top it with pleanty of cheese, sour cream and cilantro and serve with tortilla chips. We substitute a can of 'Ro-tel'-like Meexican style tomatoes in place of the can of diced tomatoes and the can of chilis, and like to use two cans of kidney and one can of black beans. I also like to throw in several sprigs of cilantro near the last hour or two of cooking. We've had this 3 or 4 times in the past month since first making it and made it one of our 'regulars'.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sladeums December 11, 2001

Super easy to make and more like a stew/chili type than a soup, very thick and hearty. I did add more stewed tomatoes and served over crushed fritos with a sprinkle of cheese and dab of sour cream on top. Very good, will make again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorianne April 09, 2002

Excellent soup...my sister-in-law made this for me and I couldn't stop raving about it...this will be a keeper recipe in my house!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie Woytovech February 04, 2002

I liked this but got mixed reviews from the family. My daughter thought that it tasted too much like chili and said to just stick with my chili recipe. However, it was very simple and nice to have mixed up in the crock pot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl December 10, 2001

Made this for the first time and took it to a family gathering and everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe. This was very easy to make and taste great I didn't use the chiles (forgot) so i sliced up a jalopeno and it worked well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boots October 17, 2001

This is so easy and excellent on a cold day! I have made it many times and passed the recipe on to friends. My kids like it, too, which is a huge telling factor of its goodness. I use taco seasoning mix (Taco Seasoning Mix) and ranch dressing mix (Ranch Dressing and Seasoning Mix). I also use frozen corn instead of canned. The beans I prefer are dark red kidney, black, and pinto. LOVE IT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjgrime January 03, 2010

Yummy, VERY GOOD!!! I like a little more juice to my soups so I did a total of about 2 cups water and I went ahead and threw in a bouillon cube. I only used one can of beans (pinto) but 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef. Topped with cheese, cilantro and a few green onions. Everyone pretty much licked their bowls :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyluvs2cook January 27, 2016

Just made this recipe for lunch today very good I used two cans of been and 2lbs of beef got plenty of left over for the week. I added Frito chips and cheese to the soup and it was yummy. Thanks again for an easy recipe I'll be using this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Char C. November 11, 2014

Very easy, very good! We substituted ground turkey for the beef, simmered it in the crock pot for a couple of hours and ate it with corn chips. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan_L April 27, 2013
Taco Soup