Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Soup

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2010

      SO easy! and a very delicious, healthy soup! more like a chili than a soup, really. i was skeptical about the ranch dressing packet but it was just right! made it twice - once with ground chicken, once with ground turkey. a serving size of only a cup doesn't seem like very much to me, so if you're planning this to serve to others you might want to take that into consideration. Also i didn't simmer for anywhere near an hour and if seemed to be fine to me. Everyone loved it - even the boys who insist chili isn't chili without lots of fatty beef! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Delicious!! I used ground turkey and added garlic as well. Used a can of black beans and a can of kidney beans. I also added about a cup of water and some brown rice to cook while it simmered. The rice in addition was delicious and added a boost of fiber and whole grain. Instead of canned corn I used 4 fresh cobs with the corn cut off and added it in at the last 10 minutes of simmering. Everyone loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This soup is healthy, delicious and filling. You can't go wrong. It's quite hearty. Some people may prefer a bit more liquid, in which case I'd add some tomato or V-8 juice. I used the lean ground turkey. A dallop of fat free sour cream would be nice when served. Thanx for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I used the ground beef and regular chili beans. I used white corn and just petite diced tomatoes as I didn't have any mexican tomatoes. This has great flavor but I thought it was too thick. I added a cup of water and we thought it was a lot better. I topped mine with cheddar cheese. The leftovers heated up nicely. I also put some in the freezer for future lunches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      This was a wonderfully easy and delicious soup. I put it together the night before I served it, so all I had to do was let it cook for an hour. Because of personal preference I rinsed the can of pinto beans. I used frozen corn in place of the canned corn. I used a 10 oz can of Mexican diced tomatoes and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes to make up for the lost liquid. This had a surprising amount of kick. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Delicious! Had to make a few changes due to not having all the listed stuff on hand though.

      I used a can of light red kidney in place of Pinto Beans, and for the 'Chili' Beans I used a can of plain Black Beans. I also made changes to the tomatoes. 14 oz can of plain diced (no salt added) and a 10 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chilies.

      Didn't have any packaged taco seasoning so I used a dry seasoning recipe I had from another cooking site and added to the recipe until I had an ounce. Super yummy! Thank you to the original Poster for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Very good and love that it's so easy to make. Our whole family devoured it. I threw in a few garlic cloves during the end of the browning of the meat and onions. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      Oh my gosh! SO good! It was so easy to make. I made this for a pot luck and just prepared the meat the night before and threw all the other ingredients in the crock pot in the morning. I added more tomatoes than what it called for, and it was a good touch. HOWEVER, I used hot taco seasoning and one little can of mexican style spicy tomatoes and I had a few people say it was too hot....(sissys :) ) I did have one person actually go to the store and buy Tupperware to take the rest home with her. This was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Delicious & Easy recipe! I used 28 oz of Diced Tomatoes instead of 8 oz, and I added a cup of water. This makes the soup a little more "soupy" leaving more room for toppings! We love to top our bowls off with frito chips, cheese and sour cream, mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

    • on April 02, 2013

      More like chili - yes it's easy using all the canned products- to reduce sodium I would buy reduced sodium of all the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      The chilli beans killed it for me. I was debating whether or not to use them and decided to make it like it was posted. The chilli beans overpowered everything else. I'll eat it but the next time I'll use 2 cans of pinto's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      We love this! I leave the hamburger out and just let it simmer for the amount of time I have before starving kids can't wait anymore :) Always turns out yummy! Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Really good soup. Will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      Easy and delicious! I usually make Taco Soup in the crockpot, but was in a pinch for time so made this. It was yummy! I left out the beans and onions but used more tomatoes. I used ground turkey. I topped mine with cheese & sour cream. Very yummy! I think the longer it simmers, the better. ;) Looking forward to munching on the leftovers this week, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      This was okay, reminded me of chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      I've been making this for years and you would NEVER believe that it is a weight watchers recipe. Put a little weight watchers shredded cheese on top when you serve or the real deal. I also make this in a crockpot and it taste better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      One word: Yum! This is such a tasty and filling soup! The only thing I changed was to add some peppers - a green, a chili, & a jalapeno. I noticed afterward that I used a larger can of tomatoes than called for but it was still excellent! I top mine with a little bit of cheese and a couple tablespoons of sour cream and it is soooo good! For some reason I only got 8 cups of soup so my points ended up being 5 points per cup but it's so filling that it's not a problem :) I'll be eating this all the time this fall & winter! Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

    • on June 16, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    15%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 26.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 507.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites