31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious and hearty quick meal that really goes together in a hurry. And the ranch seasonings cool it off, so it was not too spicy for our kindergartener. I did saute the onion with the beef because I was running short on time and wanted to make sure it was soft. Also, the mixture looked a little too thick to me, so I added a cup of beef stock. Thanks for sharing this yummy meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie December 31, 2003

This was a delicious meal for our family, even for my husband who usually turns his nose up at soups. It was thick enough to compare to a chili, and tasted just like tacos. I made as directed, except I drained the corn, used ground chicken instead of beef and rinsed and drained the black beans to get rid of some of the sodium. We smashed up tortilla chips and stirred them in instead of using crackers like you would with a traditional soup. That only thing I think I would do differently next time is that I would add more meat. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness September 14, 2012

This was so easy to make and my family raved over it.I did add some mroe meat (prolly about 1 1/2 lb), that's just what I had on hand and let it sit in the crock for 7 1/2 hours (I made after lunch and then had it for dinner later after I had my riding lesson, it's always hard for me to make diner on tuesday cuz I dont get home until 7:30 and need to take a shower and I leave @ 4:30) and this was already made up and we just heated up soem leftover cornbread and served w/a salad...great meal, will be a staple. And I felt good eating it w/all the vegies in it ;)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina January 28, 2004

This recipe was recommended to me by Denise! and I really enjoyed it. I like my foods a little spicier so I added some cayenne pepper, and used hot sauce, but thats just me! Thanks for the recipe! I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dissie January 05, 2011

Very tasty. I used 1.5 lb ground beef (it's what I had) so I think next time I'll use more taco seasoning. I added beef broth to make it more soup-like. Otherwise, it would be more like a chili. 4.5 stars. Definitely goes on the "make-again" list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie February 28, 2010

LOVED this! I think the Ranch packet makes all the difference in the world, and in fact, when I make various other Mexican-ish dishes, I will frequently add a little Ranch powder to the ground beef and it adds a fun zip, all thanks to this recipe! So good and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VioletAndPurple November 08, 2009

DD's favorite soup. If it were up to here I would make this soup each week. Its so simple to throw together and the flavor is so full of different tastes. I too love this soup and will make often (just not each week....lol). Thank you for a new staple in our winter meal plan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 24, 2009

my kids LOVE this! i made no changes at all and we have had it many times now... thanks!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennaMissMama November 06, 2008

This was good and easy to make. I made this for Freezer Tag 2008. I made this recipe as written other then I drained the corn and added a can of beef broth to the mixture. I also doubled all the ingredients as I wanted to freeze for lunches. I followed all the directions and then cooled the soup. Once it was cooled, I placed in gladware containers and froze. I pulled a serving for lunch and let thaw overnight in the fridge. I heated in the microwave for two minutes. I added cheddar cheese before eating. Makes for a nice lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 17, 2008
Taco Soup