Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Soup

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2003

      This is a delicious and hearty quick meal that really goes together in a hurry. And the ranch seasonings cool it off, so it was not too spicy for our kindergartener. I did saute the onion with the beef because I was running short on time and wanted to make sure it was soft. Also, the mixture looked a little too thick to me, so I added a cup of beef stock. Thanks for sharing this yummy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      This was a delicious meal for our family, even for my husband who usually turns his nose up at soups. It was thick enough to compare to a chili, and tasted just like tacos. I made as directed, except I drained the corn, used ground chicken instead of beef and rinsed and drained the black beans to get rid of some of the sodium. We smashed up tortilla chips and stirred them in instead of using crackers like you would with a traditional soup. That only thing I think I would do differently next time is that I would add more meat. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      This was so easy to make and my family raved over it.I did add some mroe meat (prolly about 1 1/2 lb), that's just what I had on hand and let it sit in the crock for 7 1/2 hours (I made after lunch and then had it for dinner later after I had my riding lesson, it's always hard for me to make diner on tuesday cuz I dont get home until 7:30 and need to take a shower and I leave @ 4:30) and this was already made up and we just heated up soem leftover cornbread and served w/a salad...great meal, will be a staple. And I felt good eating it w/all the vegies in it ;)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

    • on January 05, 2011

      This recipe was recommended to me by Denise! and I really enjoyed it. I like my foods a little spicier so I added some cayenne pepper, and used hot sauce, but thats just me! Thanks for the recipe! I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Very tasty. I used 1.5 lb ground beef (it's what I had) so I think next time I'll use more taco seasoning. I added beef broth to make it more soup-like. Otherwise, it would be more like a chili. 4.5 stars. Definitely goes on the "make-again" list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      LOVED this! I think the Ranch packet makes all the difference in the world, and in fact, when I make various other Mexican-ish dishes, I will frequently add a little Ranch powder to the ground beef and it adds a fun zip, all thanks to this recipe! So good and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      DD's favorite soup. If it were up to here I would make this soup each week. Its so simple to throw together and the flavor is so full of different tastes. I too love this soup and will make often (just not each week....lol). Thank you for a new staple in our winter meal plan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      my kids LOVE this! i made no changes at all and we have had it many times now... thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This was good and easy to make. I made this for Freezer Tag 2008. I made this recipe as written other then I drained the corn and added a can of beef broth to the mixture. I also doubled all the ingredients as I wanted to freeze for lunches. I followed all the directions and then cooled the soup. Once it was cooled, I placed in gladware containers and froze. I pulled a serving for lunch and let thaw overnight in the fridge. I heated in the microwave for two minutes. I added cheddar cheese before eating. Makes for a nice lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      We loved this recipe; it's so tasty and EASY too! The flavors are just right...especially as a leftover. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This is very easy and delicious as well. I had to skip the onion and used 1 teaspoon onion powder instead. I was afraid the entire packet of Taco Seasoning would make it too spicy but everyone – including the babies loved it! This is a really thick soup that I served with Chili Cheese Fritos, sour cream and flour tortillas on the side. I love coming home to a GREAT dinner already cooked and this recipe accomplishes that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Loved it! I am not a huge fan of ground beef but I had cooked a huge beef roast the night before so I threw it in and it was fantastic! I added a little bit of garlic too but thats it! Everyone thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      My kids love this soup! I served it with Sweet Cornbread. What a yummy dinner! We always add a splash of lime juice to each bowl to "wake up" the flavor. It's an easy and satisfying soup!-HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      This is one of our favorite soup recipes, we've been using it for about 3 years. It's so easy to throw together and the ranch dressing mix really adds a great flavor to it. I've had several other taco soup recipes and none of them have compared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This was excellent & very easy to throw together! I put it in before work so it actually cooked on low for about 10 hours and still tasted wonderful! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      Honestly, I thought this was just OK, and my teenage son said the same. I didn't see anything about this recipe that stood out other than the ease of it. And actually, I don't think the ranch dressing mix had a place in here--Ranch has dill and tarragon and other assorted herbs in here and it drew away from the southwestern flavor of the soup. I was looking for something unique and was a bit disappointed, and don't think I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      So simple and so tasty, I browned the beef and onion together and used frozen corn. Sprinkled with some grated cheese and a dollop of sour cream, delicious and thick. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      I made this yesterday, and we loved it! I followed the recipe except I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so I used stewed tomatoes and mashed them with my potato masher. I also added a can of diced green chilis. We put sour cream, cheese, salsa and crushed tortilla chips on top. We will definitely make this again! Not only is it simple, but it is a great winter soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      Our family liked this recipe. My daughter commented that it reminded her of my chili...and now that I think of it, it does. Mine turned out very very thick, more like a stew. I'm not sure that I tasted the ranch dressing packet at all, since I regularly use most of these ingredients in my chili except the ranch dressing packet and it tastes very similar. In any event, we had a nice meal thanks to your recipe. Thank you for your contribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Black Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.4
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    41%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 310.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corn

    black beans

    ranch dressing mix

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes