54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was SUPER easy & delish! I HIGHLY recommend using shredded chicken rather than ground beef. I made it both ways and the chicken gets far better reviews.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clamoleon January 16, 2009

My family loved this. I used "Ranch Dressing Mix Plus" for the ranch dressing, and also used homemade taco seasoning. It also tastes great served over tostitios. Thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada November 18, 2009

This is the best out there. We double the recipe and freeze for easy-prep dinner nights. Even our kids love this! We use all the toppings we have on hand: crushed tortilla chips, shredded cheese, chopped tomatoes, sour cream, diced green onions and olives.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jemaco May 28, 2009

AMAZING RECIPE! In fact, I am eating it right now! I too made a minor change by using a whole kernel corn as well as adding an additional can of Rotel. I did one can original Rotel and one can of HOT because we like it spicy! I then topped it with green onions and sour cream. YUMMMMMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carroll_jo November 23, 2008

This was a fantastic soup. The second time I made it I added a can of spicy red enchilada sauce to kick up the heat and people were licking it off the bowl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chvyluvgrl November 08, 2008

Big recipe!! Made 1/2 for the first batch... I never change a thing on the first try. That wouldn't be fair, 'cause it wouldn't be the same recipe... First try was delicious! I wanted more Tex-Mex taste, so, on the second 1/2 batch, I added 1/2 tsp ground cumin and 1 Tbs light chili powder to the meat while it was cooking... Still delicious, and just a tad more toward my "Tex-Mex" tastes.. Next week I gonna do a full batch with the small adjustment, and see how it freezes... We love it! Keep doin what you do!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WokBurner April 03, 2008

GF and I had been talking about making Taco soup for some time when I found this wonderfully easy and very tasty recipe. Prepared it just as directions stated with the exception of leaving out the pinto beans but only because GF isn't a fan of beans. I did add the taco

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain Trips January 11, 2015

Love this! but I did add some hominy! I make a big batch and freeze it in single servings for those nights when other plans fall through. It heats up well in the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glenajo July 31, 2014

We really did enjoy this soup. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 14, 2013

Love this soup, made it twice in two weeks!! I like a versatile recipe where you can add the veggies you have in the pantry or the ones you like without sacrificing the overall taste. I followed the recipe pretty closely but used stewed tomatoes and niblets corn and served with sour cream, shredded cheese and tortilla chips. I think it would be good with cornbread too. Thanks for giving me the inspiration to try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSippigirl October 25, 2013
Taco Soup