Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Seasoning Packet for the Frugal Home-Maker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Seasoning Packet for the Frugal Home-Maker

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2009

      This was really easy to make. Not too spicy, but what packaged taco seasoning is? Worked well in the recipe I prepared it for. It might be better with some salt, but for those looking to eliminate salt, this is great. Made by a Saucy Senorita for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Well, I liked that it wasn't all that spicy. I like the taste of spices and herbs but am not great with spicy. So, this was perfect for me and my husband could then pile on the hot sauce and other stuff to increase the heat to his levels. It was nice to be able to taste the actual meat in the tacos rather than simply spices. The only problem is that I now feel totally loco for ever having bought the packets before when it is this simple to do yourself. Made for the Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      So there were good things, bad things, and middle of the road things about this recipe for my gang. For the hotheads, there wasn't nearly enough heat. For the kids, this was great. For me, I liked that it had (as NELady said) an herby flavor, and NOT a cumin flavor. And still others said it tasted liked taco meat, which I guess is a good thing! :) Overall a good recipe in my book, which I may kick up with some ancho or cayenne next time I make it. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT5, for the Groovy GastrpGnomes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I am most frugal, so this taco seasoning packet made sense to me! Also, I really like the freshness of the seasoning as I put it together myself instead of opening one of those pouches. I, like other reviewers, was happy that there was no flour, cornstarch, or chemicals in this. I made a double batch of this seasoning mix (for taco salads today and I will use it in Taco Macaroni Skillet #141733 tomorrow for lunch). I enjoyed the basil and oregano in the mix as it gave it a more herby flavor. The spice-level was pretty tame (that's okay for me!). Easy to kick it up with some cayenne. I added some salt to the meat mixture after it cooked as I use a salt-free chili powder. Made for ZWT5, Groovy GastroGnomes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Great save Debber... the only problem according to my DH is that it lacked a bit of "zing". Next time I'll increase the cumin and chilli powder. Otherwise... yummmmo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      This was just right. I used a zipper bag and all the ingredients except cumin (personal preference). I was pleased to be able to eliminate the cumin! The recipe does *not* turn the ground beef that weird reddish colour that most store bought packets do and for that I was also pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Just perfect! When searching for a taco seasoning recipe, all the others I found had a thickening agent - flour, cornstarch, etc. - which I did _not_ need for Ole Crock Pot Chicken . Other than adding a generous dash of cayenne pepper from the top shelf of _Mrs. Hubbard's Cupboard_ I made it as written. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Oh, Debber, you saved my fall from good mother status by posting this rather necessary recipe! I had promised DD (11yo) taco salad for dinner last night but didn't have time to run to town for taco seasoning. Thanks, it was a great save and much better than the packets with added chemicals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Seasoning Packet for the Frugal Home-Maker

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.5
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    24%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 74.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes