Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2003

      Di! This is a winner. Works great for all types of mexican meal meats. I've used in chili, and on ground turkey for nachos and tacos!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      This is a great seasoning for kids! It wasn't too spicy. My kids even mixed it themselves and had a great time doing it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      We wanted tacos for dinner tonight and I was out of the mix (from the store). I used this and my family loved it! I had all the ingredients so I made as is and will make sure I always have this on hand. Thanks Di, good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Amazing! I honestly had doubts that this would be as good as the packaged mix, but it was even better! I won't buy Old El Paso again, Di...this is perfect! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      DiB....you saved my life. My kids wanted tacos for dinner. I started my hamburg and got the stuff together only to realize I had NO seasoning. I went into panic mode and came to my favorite site. I knew there would be something here. Well, low and behold there was your recipe. I made it and added 2/3 cup of water to it also. Thank you!!!! I now will make my own instead of spending the money to buy it. I put it into a shaker jar and will be able to use it as I wish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      This is the best taco seasoning I have ever had. I will never buy store bought again. I actually used 4TBS to season my chicken for a taco salad and the flavor was wonderful!!!! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I forgot the mix at the store and NOW I know that I don't have to think about going back! I mixed up a bunch of the seasoning, seasoned some ground beef, cooked it, froze it and away we go! Thank you for a nifty way to keep my son in soft tacos!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      Good mix! I made a few substitutions-I didn't make a big batch of it(because I didn't have enough of some of the inredients), so I just sprinkled a little of each of the ingredients directly on the meat. Also, I realized after I started that I didn't have cumin, so, I used some of the Tupperware Chipotle Seasoning in it's place. Next time I will try it with the cumin, though! Thanks for posting, Di!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I don't like to buy spice mixes and needed taco seasoning which led me to this recipe. I'm a heat wimp so when I see 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes my heart pounds and my palms sweat. I bravely went ahead with the recipe as directed and couldn't be happier! This will be the taco seasoning I use from here on it. The heck with giving one away...they can make their own! ;) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Thank you for posting this recipe! Finally one that actually tastes like it's supposed to! I did cut the salt in half and only used 2 1/2 tbsp chili powder (my kids don't like too spicy) but it is GREAT!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      SO much healthier than the packages, if you make a large batch the first time you will never have to buy a package again! I gave jars and jars away this Christmas as hostess gifts as well as stuffing them in my grown kids stockings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Great sub..no need to buy the packet stuff, this is exactly the same...tasted great in our dinner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Love this stuff! I like to add one can of Rotel tomatoes with lime juice and cilantro to the beef and seasoning mixture, simmer until liquid evaporates. So easy and fast but tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I hope to never have to buy taco mix again. I can feel good about serving my toddler recipes that call for mix now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Thank you for the great taco seasoning mix recipe! I made numerous batches, went to a craft store and bought pretty storage bowls, attached a bow, and gave them away for Christmas presents. I typed up directions and taped them to the bottom of the container. People enjoyed the gift very much! I tested the recipe before I packaged up the gifts and must say this is a tasty mix, much better than the packaged stuff in the grocery store. Thanks for helping me with my Christmas gift giving DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Thanks, DiB! This is very good! Not too spicy, so would probably be good if you're cooking for little ones (or wimpy adults) who don't like things 'too hot'. I have to really watch the packaged stuff because of the junk in it, plus, it's so much cheaper to make it from scratch. I just whipped up my second batch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I was looking for a low sodium substitue for the package taco seasoning and this fit the bill. I made fish tacos, just sprinkled the steasoning onto chunks of talapia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Thanks so much! I made this tonight in order to make supper - and had to find a recipe to substitute for the chili powder as I was almost out! Even so, it was wonderful, and I felt so much better than using one of those 'mystery packets'! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This is wonderful. I keep this on hand now instead of the prepackaged stuff. Isn't it nice to know what you're actually eating? Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe. This would be a great gift idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      This worked out perfect for the Salsa Chicken #27475. I especially liked it because I had all of the ingredients on hand and I didn't need to purchase one of those expensive taco seasoning packets from the grocery store. This recipe is a little spicy so if you prefer mild, decrease the red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.7
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    29%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5490.1 mg
    228%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 24.7 g
    99%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes