280 Reviews

Very good taco seasoning. Will use this recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird October 03, 2009

Super Taco mix Opal!!! I needed some for another recipe & I normally don't keep any on hand. Super quick & better than the packet options. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson September 23, 2009

I will never buy packaged again. I added paprika to give it a darker color and I only had garlic powder on hand and it was still great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronandteri September 20, 2009

I love this seasoning mix!!! I didnt have any corn starch so I left it out. I did mix a can of black beans in with the meat/seasoning so that helped thickin the sauce. Some of the best tacos I have ever made! Thank you !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaDolce6499 September 20, 2009

Another 5 stars for this mix. I like the combination of chili powder and the dried chiles ( use ancho chile powder). It makes it a more complex flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan September 20, 2009

Oh my, I have never made homemade taco seasoning, but tonight I wanted to make tacos but had no seasoning..so I looked on RZaar and found this recipe.....I made exactly as posted except for the orgeano which I omitted, only because I did not have any....still DELICIOUS!!!!! I will never buy the packs in the store again.....THANK YOU FOR POSTING!!!!! i would give this recipe 100 stars if I could........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive September 18, 2009

I have been such a dummy for so many years! Wasting a $1 or more for a small packet of seasoning when I can make it at home? This recipe really hit the spot. I used it in a vegetarian taco soup I scaled back on the onion, added extra garlic and cumin. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice September 04, 2009

Wow! I ran out of taco seasoning and had to make a last minute substitution. I like this better than the brand I was using from the store, and I was happy with it too! I will now be using this recipe from now on. I will cut the salt a little next time. Otherwise, great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann in Iowa September 02, 2009

I will never buy packets again! I used 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp onion powder and Cayenne pepper and it wasa wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpamelaj August 25, 2009

I need to tweak this a little for my DD who said it's just a tiny bit hotter than she likes it. But otherwise a good alternative to the seasoning packs from the store. We had everything on hand so it saved me a trip to the store when the family wanted tacos for dinner. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom August 24, 2009
Taco Seasoning Mix