280 Reviews

This was the closest to the Ortega brand we use and like so well. I used a whole clove of garlic. It was a bit hot for my youngest so will have to tone it done just a bit. But this is definitely the seasoning I'll use from now on.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J March 17, 2002

I have used this recipe for over a year now. It's my only "go to" for tacos. I prepare it in bulk so it's always ready to go, no prep time. Love it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlenderking July 30, 2011

Made this tonight, TRUE!
What a delight to have a seasoning with NO SUGAR in it too!
Added extra chilli flakes, 1 canned tinned tomatoes (no sugar), 1 cup water, 1 cup no salt/sugar tomato paste and cannelloni beans...WHOO HOO! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder April 08, 2012

I was surprised how bland this was after reading a lot of 5 star reviews. I was very disappointed with this after following the recipe. I had to add other spices to kick it up. I personally think that 1 tsp. of chili powder for a pound of meat is simply not enough. (To me) for a pound of meat, you need at least 3 Tbsp. of chili powder, and sometimes that's not even enough, depending on if you use ground beef or turkey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat February 19, 2012

I've used this a number of times and the flavor is just right. It makes our family taco nights really delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuestick August 27, 2011

This is so good! I've just finished off yet another pan of tacos!
I do it slightly differently:
Dry onion flakes, garlic powder, cumin seeds, no cornstarch (boyfriend's allergic). Also, I have really spicy chili powder, so I don't do the flakes. (Also sometimes use one small onion and some cloves of garlic instead of dry)
I do the meat as you say, then stir in a can of refried beans and some cheese - fantastic dinner! We've started eating it with Mexican Crema.
Anyway. My mouth is currently singing your praises yet again. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zentariana September 26, 2010

No pkgs of taco seasoning mix in the cupboard, and was in a hurry so didn't want to rely on adding a bit of everything and adjusting to taste, so consulted Recipezaar and this looked good. Turned out great - no complaints from a family of five! I did add extra chili powder, and substituted a dash of cayenne for the dried red pepper, and garlic powder for the minced garlic. Thanks Opal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vetmom November 30, 2009

Who would have know with a few ingredients that I most always have on hand I could make the seasoning to whip up a great taco salad? The only thing that I changed in this was to use Hot Shot Seasoning instead of the Crushed Red Pepper and it turned out wonderfully. I doubled the batch as I made 2 pounds of hamburger and wanted there to be plenty of spice. I agree that this tastes pretty similar to Ortega brand taco seasoning and I too will be using this often. Thank you for a great spice to add to my cupboard Opal Fitzgerald!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely June 03, 2014

We loved this! We were looking for a taco seasoning that didn't have sugar and all the filler that store bought seasoning has. This will be our go to taco seasoning from here on out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere February 12, 2014
Taco Seasoning Mix