Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    280 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 280

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2002

      This was the closest to the Ortega brand we use and like so well. I used a whole clove of garlic. It was a bit hot for my youngest so will have to tone it done just a bit. But this is definitely the seasoning I'll use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      I have used this recipe for over a year now. It's my only "go to" for tacos. I prepare it in bulk so it's always ready to go, no prep time. Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Made this tonight, TRUE!
      What a delight to have a seasoning with NO SUGAR in it too!
      Added extra chilli flakes, 1 canned tinned tomatoes (no sugar), 1 cup water, 1 cup no salt/sugar tomato paste and cannelloni beans...WHOO HOO! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I was surprised how bland this was after reading a lot of 5 star reviews. I was very disappointed with this after following the recipe. I had to add other spices to kick it up. I personally think that 1 tsp. of chili powder for a pound of meat is simply not enough. (To me) for a pound of meat, you need at least 3 Tbsp. of chili powder, and sometimes that's not even enough, depending on if you use ground beef or turkey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I've used this a number of times and the flavor is just right. It makes our family taco nights really delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      This is so good! I've just finished off yet another pan of tacos!
      I do it slightly differently:
      Dry onion flakes, garlic powder, cumin seeds, no cornstarch (boyfriend's allergic). Also, I have really spicy chili powder, so I don't do the flakes. (Also sometimes use one small onion and some cloves of garlic instead of dry)
      I do the meat as you say, then stir in a can of refried beans and some cheese - fantastic dinner! We've started eating it with Mexican Crema.
      Anyway. My mouth is currently singing your praises yet again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      No pkgs of taco seasoning mix in the cupboard, and was in a hurry so didn't want to rely on adding a bit of everything and adjusting to taste, so consulted Recipezaar and this looked good. Turned out great - no complaints from a family of five! I did add extra chili powder, and substituted a dash of cayenne for the dried red pepper, and garlic powder for the minced garlic. Thanks Opal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      Who would have know with a few ingredients that I most always have on hand I could make the seasoning to whip up a great taco salad? The only thing that I changed in this was to use Hot Shot Seasoning instead of the Crushed Red Pepper and it turned out wonderfully. I doubled the batch as I made 2 pounds of hamburger and wanted there to be plenty of spice. I agree that this tastes pretty similar to Ortega brand taco seasoning and I too will be using this often. Thank you for a great spice to add to my cupboard Opal Fitzgerald!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      We loved this! We were looking for a taco seasoning that didn't have sugar and all the filler that store bought seasoning has. This will be our go to taco seasoning from here on out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

    • on June 05, 2013

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      My family ate it while I was gone. Apparently my kids weren't impressed, as I son't think any of them really ate it. I made it in red, yellow, and orange peppers which were pre-boiled (parboiled) for 5 min., and used pre cooked burger and a couple of extra eggs to hold it all together. Also used the taco seasoning mix suggested in the recipe description.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      yummy and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      I hate paying money for packages of taco seasoning in the store when you can make it cheaper at home, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. This taco seasoning was better than what you find in the store and it had a nice zing to it, too. I tripled the amounts so that I would have enough for 3 batches of tacos. I didn't have minced, instant garlic so I used garlic powder instead and it worked just fine. No more store bought packages for me, I will be using this recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Finally found a good Taco Seasoning Mix that I can whip up quickly with ingredients I always have on hand. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Flavorful, worked great for our Cinco de Mayo party, made as written...thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Great flavor, I won't be buying those packets at the store anymore! I added paprika, purely for color, but didn't make any difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      I lost my taco seasoning packet and not close to town to go get another one. So I decided to look it up on food.com. Found this with 269 reviews so i had to try it. EXCELLENT. Won't be buying any more pre packaged mixes if I can help it. This was really tasty. Thank you for posting this and I am proud to be the 270th person to review it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This was better than any packaged seasoning mix. So good! Had to use onion powder and garlic powder as that is what I had in the house. Only used half the salt. Still delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      We love this taco seasoning! This is so much better than the store bought taco seasoning. We make it in bulk and package it in glass mason jars. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 29.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    20%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2372.5 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant garlic

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes