18 Reviews

very good mix, i used this as the base because i like to add cumin to my taco seasoning, and absolutely loved the cinnamon in it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 17, 2009

I enjoy cinnamon in my chili and my chocolate, so I thought I would give this a shot. I did like the flavor, but I missed the "taco" taste I am used to that comes from a packet. I did like that this only has three carbs per serving with no preservatives, msg, or artificial flavors. I will be trying a few other recipes though in search of the "taco" taste I want.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth January 17, 2016

I disliked the cinnamon flavor. I thought it would be interesting, yet it did not work for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Weston September 22, 2013

I was a little suspicious of using cinnamon in the mix but found that I liked it very much. I agree -- I love the fact there's no MSG and tons of salt. I will be making this one again. Made for Zaar I Recommend Tag Game 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty November 21, 2011

Love money saving recipes and this is a wonderful one. Made as written and have to admit the cinnamon while good is a little strong. Will definitely be making again. Used as the base seasoning for tostados. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 15, 2010

What a brilliant alternative to the packet mixes! I wasn't sure if the recipe was for 1 package of seasoning (which I assumed) or 1 person. I made the recipe exactly as written with 1lb of ground beef and found the flavour wonderful but a little weak, so I threw in a bit more of each ingredient and it was amazing! I agree the cinnamon really works- it smells wonderful as it cooks and gives the mix an earthy flavour. BF usually rates 1 star lower than me and very rarely gives 5 stars. For this recipe he said "You even need to ask? 5 stars, duh", so that's gotta be good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud April 26, 2010

I was intrigued by the use of cinnamon in this and just had to try it! Well, I can tell you that it works! I like the heat level of this and can't think of anything that I would change. I also like that you made this for one serving so I can just make some up when I need it. Made for Zaar Stars. Thanks LARavenscroft! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif March 06, 2010

This is awesome stuff - I'm so glad to be able to make this at home now with so much more flavour and no MSG! I love the combination of different flavours that you can never make out from the packaged stuff! Thanks, LAR! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 09, 2010

For ease and convenience alone this recipe gets 5 stars - sure beats having to buy it at the grocery store. The cinnamon is a bit unusual but adds to the flavour in a good way. Made for Went to the Market tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini November 02, 2009

Excellent mix. Much less expensive than commercial mixes. It's great that it makes the equivilant of just one package.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 01, 2009
Taco Seasoning Mix