Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Seasoning - Budget Friendly Seasoning for Tacos, Burritos.. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Seasoning - Budget Friendly Seasoning for Tacos, Burritos..

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-99 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2007

      I've been wanting to try to make my own seasoning mix for a while so decided to use this recipe. YUM. I made enchiladas with it and the flavor was right on. Thanks for posting this great recipe mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Much better than the store bought packets. I split the paprika between smoked and regular and also added habanero pepper on top of the cayenne. I also added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the whole mix. I like my meat mix to be creamy/thick. I normally would have added some refried beans but didn't have any. Very good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Wow! This was great, used some of it this afternoon instead of the package mix that came with my daughters "taco kit". Have enough to make the taco recipe you posted too later on this week. Thanks, mama, this is going to be a real money saver. ZWT Family Pick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Fabulous! I used Onion Powder. I always have these spices on hand so why go out and buy Taco Seasoning. Also I liked the fact that this is better for you those package seasonings are loaded with sodium! I cooked up 3 pounds of hamburg with this seasonings and seperated and froze in ziplocks so we can have Tacos any night of the week! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Excellent taco seasoning. I used this to make your Tacos and Jen's Taco Salad. Awesome dinner. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      *Made for ZWT III* This taco seasoning has the perfect amount of spices. It has more flavor (and is cheaper) than the store bought packets, and I always have the ingredients on hand. I used this in Touchdown Taco Dip and it worked out perfectly. Thank you for sharing this wonderful, quick, and inexpensive recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I made this for ZWT3 and used it to make tacos. I was worried that it might be too spicey for our tastes, just from the smell when cooking, but I was wrong, it was just perfect, not too spicey and much better than store bought. I will now be using this seasoning for another mexican appetizer this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Very nice. I made tacos tonight and used the recipe.I didnt tell hubby that it wasnt a package and he said he really enjoyed the meal. So it passed the test. I made a bottle of it and will use this more often in other meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I have been looking at this for awhile and made it yesterday for ZWT3. I omitted the salt (one can always add salt if needed) and the rest was by the book. I used it last night to add to polenta that was part of a dish I was making and also in the same dish to stand in for ancho peppers that I can't get here. The recipe turned out to be delicious and I very happily have all the "left over" Taco Seasoning to use in many ways. Thanks mama for a great mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Excellent recipe for taco seasoning. Since finding this website I have not purchased any kind of mixes.... I think I may have found my main taco seasoning! I added more chili powder since I like mine pretty hot. Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      This was perfect!!! I did not have any extra taco seasoning but wanted to make mexican rice to go with our tacos...I made this up and used it in the rice. PERFECT. And much cheaper than the little packets. Made for ZWT 07

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Made this tonight and used it to make Fiesta Chicken Taco Cups. Turned out terrific!! Loved the lower salt - I made exactly as written and used the increased cayenne option and doubled it. I also used slightly more cumin and would say I did not level off any spoons. ;) Delightful - everyone tonight raved over the flavor. Thanks for another keeper, Mama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      So easy. I hate paying $1.29 for those little packets of seasoning. This tasted great in Meximelt a La Amy, and now I have a whole jar for next time I need some seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

    • on September 27, 2006

      Mama, this is much better than any you find in the store. I made it last week and wowzers, I didn't use it until today/yesterday now. I loved it and so did my sisters and dad. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      Not only is this an easy and economical replacement for those store-bought seasoning packets, it also tastes great! I really like the flavor provided by the cumin in this recipe ~ Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Great mix of flavors! Very TexMex! Thank you mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This is great! I kicked it up another notch with the addition of dried chipotle seasoning. Definitely will come in handy down in Mexico where seasoning packets are not available. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      i used this in my chili mac and it works thank you for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Seasoning - Budget Friendly Seasoning for Tacos, Burritos..

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 48.2
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    33%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 672.1 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites