Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Seasoning - Budget Friendly Seasoning for Tacos, Burritos.. Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Seasoning - Budget Friendly Seasoning for Tacos, Burritos..

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2011

      My son asked for tacos for dinner but I hesitated, as I am trying to cut out foods that contain MSG because they trigger my DH's migraines and dry seasoning mixes are notorious for that additive. I was so happy to find this recipe...it was easy, is economical and tasted as good as or better than store bought. I made a big batch and look forward to using it over and over. Thanks sooo much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      We thought this was tasty. The 7 tsp. was the right amount for 1lb of beef. I was looking for a little more spice so I will probably add some more cayenne and maybe a bit more salt. Thank you, I always prefer to make my own rather than buy at the store when I can!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Really good! My new standard taco seasoning. I use Penzey's spices and believe that makes a big difference. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      I thought this would be good, but I didn't know it would be THIS GOOD! I used it with a package of extra lean ground turkey and it's got so much FLAVOUR! Thanks for a classic keeper. (I also don't buy commercial taco seasoning because of the MSG content.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Love this taco seasoning recipe...more than store brands! Give your tacos WAAYYYYYY more taste and flavoring! Ohhh sooo yummy! Will never buy a packet again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      great receipe...super easy. I used onion powder since I didn't have the flakes. My man didn't even notice a difference from the store bought seasoning... Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      No more store bought packages for me! This is just perfect! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      After trying this once, I'll never go back to storebought! Tastes so much better, and is much healthier. If you make this size batch, you'll have plenty on hand for whenever you need it. I omitted the salt for our tastes and added a half tablespoon of chipotle powder instead of the cayenne. This is the perfect taco seasoning mix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      This is great and, IMO, better than prepackaged taco seasoning mixes. I double the cumin and paprika because we enjoy those spices immensely in my household, and I nix the cayenne because of the kids. We use lean ground meat when making tacos, so I add some moisture to the ground meat by adding an 8 oz. can of Hunt's tomato sauce with basil, garlic, and oregano already added to the sauce. The 8 oz. can adds just enough sauce to the ground meat and taco seasoning, without making the mixture soppy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Excellent recipe! Those packets at the store are getting to be too expensive and very salty. So I tried this one and I'm keeping it handy to use from now on. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      Leave it to a Texan gal to know what tacos are supposed to taste like. This seasoning is "the bomb." I absolutely loved it. No more Lawry's for me. I'm sure the recipe assumes that you will be seasoning the meat with salt and pepper prior to adding the taco seasoning, as 1/4 tsp. salt for 1 lb. burger was not enough, in my opinion. I usually use between 1/2 tsp. and 3/4 tsp. salt, so next time I make this, I'll double the salt and add some pepper and not pre-season the meat. I absolutely will not be buying taco seasoning at the store again. I highly recommend this - it's the best! (And I've tried other homemade taco seasoning that had higher reviews here.) I did use hot ground chile. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a "T."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Excellent recipe, found myself in a bind, apparently I ran out of the package kind, so I tried your recipe, it it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Great for tacos, and I used the 3/4 of the recipe I had left to perfectly season a pot of chili :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Excellent recipe!
      Instead of 2 tablespoons cumin, I add 1/2 tablespoon nutmeg and 1 1/2 cumin. I also add 2 tablespoon of beer (German type) when adding the seasoning to the beef. It tends to "blend" the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      I used this spice mix to make chicken tacos and my boyfriend love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      It was pretty darn good, I would use 1/4 cup of mix per pound of meat and 3/4 c. water. Some may like a little more cayenne, Had everything in my pantry, even better! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      This was good but I wouldn't cook chicken breasts for 8 hours. The meat shredded into extra fine strands which were almost mushy. In fact I only needed 1fork to shred it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I was so tired of having to run to the store last minute to buy taco seasoning when I wanted it so I tried you recipe instead and I'll tell you I will never go back to store bought again! This has the perfect blend of seasonings yet much less salt than store packages. The whole family raved about how good it was! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      This was a life saver. I promised DS tacos for dinner last night and got home late to start them. I went to get a pkg of seasoning mix and was out! I ran to this site and found your recipe. Phew! This is a recipe I always have the ingredients for and it tastes great. I'm planning on making a triple or quadruple batch and storing it for future uses. Thanks for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe!!! I make it often and store it in an old jelly jar in the cupboard. Love it. Just now made it and my cumin was a bit too strong so i added about 1/2 - 1 tsp more chili powder and about a tsp and half of ancho chili powder (main ingred in chili powder) and wow does that have some zing! Also added a rounded tsp of cayenne... Yeah for home mixes using ingredients on hand!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Seasoning - Budget Friendly Seasoning for Tacos, Burritos..

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 48.2
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    33%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 672.1 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites