Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Seasoning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Seasoning

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2010

      very good taco seasoning, definitely beats those packages! I added 1/2 tsp cornstarch and 1/4 tsp coriander. I used this recipe with 1 lb of ground turkey and added about 2/3 C water with seasoning after browning meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This is the taco seasoning recipe that I always use, though I add corn starch if needed for the dish. I sometimes eave out the red pepper flakes, or substitute cayenne pepper, depending on mood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Very, very tasty mix and has a bit of a spicy kick to it!! I haven't made tacos yet but I tasted it on a bit of cooked chicken. I always used less of the packaged mixes because of the high amount of salt they have.....sometimes the tacos were a bit bland because of that. Now they won't be!! My son also likes to sprinkle taco seasoning on popcorn. I did use only 1/2 the salt called for and I'm happy with that. Thanks for a great alternative to those salt-filled packages!! Added Note: Finally made tacos!! And they were flavorful! My son made them and he's now calling himself the "taco master"!!I'd advise anyone with "tender tastebuds" to use it at their own discretion and not just pour the whole mix into 1 lb. of meat since it is much stronger than the packaged mixes. Which is a good thing!!! You get more "bang for your buck"!! Also, anyone who doesn't like "heat" might want to lower the amount of red pepper flakes. It does have a kick!! I have already made the mix in multiples to store for future use and can't wait to use it in other recipes and dips! Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I've used this several times now and it has never failed me -- it's a wonderful blend of flavors and the ingredients are things I always have on hand. I omit the salt so I can season to taste while cooking, but other than that, follow along completely. I've stopped buying the packages -- no need to.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Thanks for sharing this recipe, Tigerlilly. Knowing exactly what's in the mix makes for a healthier product. I mix ours in a little jar, shake it up, and use about 1/2 the recipe for 1-lb of ground beef. I also add a heaping tsp of cornstarch for thickening, and experiment with various chili powders to change it up. We're having taco salad tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      This is a great taco seasoning. I omitted the salt and pepper for personal preference. Thanks Tiger :) Made for Help a Naked recipe event

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      I thought this was great! Tastier than the store packets, and so much better for you -- none of that nasty MSG and total control over the sodium! I reduced the salt by half and didn't miss it, and I added the 1/2 tsp of cornstarch and 2/3 c of water. I make my tacos with ground turkey and serve on low carb tortillas, so this "fun" meal is actually very healthy this way. I knocked off 1 star since I think the salt content is a bit too much and the cornstarch and water were missing, but otherwise it'd be 5. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

    • on February 19, 2011

      Well, I'm joining the fan club. I did cut the salt due to DH's diet. I'm so glad that I stumbled on to this recipe, it's a keeper. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I thought I'd give this a try since I didn't need to use a whole packet of the store bought seasoning. This worked out great! I cut down on the salt for us. Will definitely use this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Nice mix. I used this in burritos and was very happy with it. However, salt fanatic that I am I think I would half it next time. Thanks! I'll use this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This was great! I've tried a few other taco seasoning recipes, but this one has been the best one so far. Lots of flavour and great blend of spices. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      This was great! My DH is on a low sodium diet now, so pretty much anything in a package is off limits. But I thought this was fabulous, even with only using half the sea salt! The red pepper flakes made it a bit too hot for the kids, so I'll leave those out next time. They kept saying, "These are the best tacos you've ever made, Mom!-but they're really HOT!" then shoveling them in and guzzling milk. lol I added a 1/2 tsp of cornstarch to it, then simmered the meat with 3/4 cup water. I really like that it makes the perfect amount to just throw in the meat, like a package would be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This is perfect! My whole family loved it and the flavor was fantastic. I made as is except I left out the red pepper flakes.My daughter has a low tolerance for spicy heat but it still was so flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This recipe saved me when I realized that I didn't have taco seasoning on hand. I had everything in my spice cabinet and it tasted great. Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Delicious and easy- I will never buy the packaged stuff again. I do have one question- how much of this is equal to a store bought packet? Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Good combination of flavours albeit that it needed a bit more heat. The first time I used it just as stated and made a chicken meatloaf. Then I realized that we wanted it more spicy so the next time I used it (made a chili) I added 3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, that gave it just the taste we wanted. Thanks for posting. Made for PAC, Fall 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I made this to go with your extremely delicious Ground Beef Burritos, but then I completely forgot to rate the seasoning mix. This taco seasoning is wonderful, much better than the store varieties. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      You saved the day, Brandess! I was in the middle of making Chicken-Ranch Tacos when I realized I did not have any store packaged taco seasoning! I of course, ran straight to the computer and RecipeZaar and did a search. Lo and Behold, this wonderful recipe came up and saved our chicken tacos! This is a wonderful recipe! The best part is that it only makes the same amount called for in one package of packaged taco seasoning! None to store away to forget I had saved some ; ) I will always make this fresh and will never buy store packaged taco seasoning again! Perfect! I would not change a thing! Thanks so much, Brandess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      The name of this recipe says it all! WoW! It is one of the best taco seasonings I've ever made. Flavor was just perfect. This recipe is a keeper for sure. No need to ever buy store brought again :) Thanks so much for sharing the recipe Brandess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Seasoning

    Serving Size: 1 (2 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    38%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 246.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites