Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Sauce

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2007

      I'm ashamed to admit, that I just LOVE Taco Bell's taco sauce! I like the mild and the hot! Well, I made this recipe and couldn't believe how good it was. I don't like the store bought brands, have tried every one. Yet another "DiB's" recipe that is tried and true, AND VERY MUCH LOVED! I quadrupled the recipe the 2nd time and canned into pint size jars. Janine in Illinois

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Very Good! Like the fact that you don't use fresh onions. Has a nice heat to it. I think the chili pwd is a little over-powering, so next time I will probally reduce it to 1 TBS or less.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Really good sauce. I followed the directions exactly, except that I didn't puree the canned jalapenos. I bought the diced peppers, so I left them diced. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks DiB's for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I made this for the first time last summer. It was delicious. I was looking to can a sauce for my taco salad and this is perfect. Except, now I use it for much more things then just the salad. The flavor is very good. I love it on any mexican food. Thank you for this lovely recipe....Stephanie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      What a great sauce! I doubled this and processed them in 8 1/2 pint canning jars. My DH was shocked that each jar only costed around 12 cents! The easiest recipe I have ever canned!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Great five star flavor but a bit thin. Next time I'll reduce the water to 2.5 cups to thicken it up. Ok I've made it several time and I like the 2.5 cups of water better. To make sure it is extra smooth I just add a little of the sauce to the food processor with the jalapenos and onion, just enough to keep them moving. I double the recipe and it fits perfectly in an empty 64oz ketchup squeeze bottle. My family and I put this stuff on everything. A

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This is a great recipe! It is easy and the leftover sauce was great the next day on a taco salad. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Finally, a taco sauce I love! I have never before found a recipe I liked. I'm so glad I decided to give another recipe a try. Just enough spice and heat. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      awesome the best yet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I have made this a couple times. I love it! My 3yr old calls it the "hot ketchup" It is really good as an enchilada sauce too. For a quick easy dinner I make chimis and pour this over them. I use with fried potatoes and eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Hey this is great!! I tasted ot and thought it was kinda HOT...LOL..So I just added a bit more tomato paste and water..It was ready and very very good. I think next time I would like some garlic and cummin and fresh onion chopped fine and bell peppers chopped fine also..You alway have recipes that I love..Thank You for a wonderful recipe..Hugs 2 U

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      This is the my first year of making this Taco Sauce and Boy is it ever great!! Thank you so much for posting this!! It has wonderful flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Excellent taco sauce. Just what I was looking for. I used this to make Jen's Taco Salad. The dressing made that salad so good. Also used it on Tacos and Dave loved it. I didn't have dried onions so used fresh, but other than that, made as written. thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Absolutely the best Taco sauce I have ever had. I used this in Sportsman's Appetizer and words can not describe how delicious both recipe are. WOW!! This is a keeper for sure and very easy made and "The BEST" than any store brands. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      This was a very delicious, spicy sauce. I use it on everything including homefries, eggs, toast...anything that comes to mind. A real keeper!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

    • on October 20, 2005

      This sauce is great! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly . The second time I made it I cut the water in half to make it thicker. It worked wonderfully, but concentrates the heat. So if you want thicker sauce without too much heat, cut back on the cayenne & jalapenos. Otherwise enjoy the spice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      Wow! This ones a keeper! I made the sauce and LOVED IT! As a personal preference I used less Cayenne and only 1 TBS of jalapenos to make it less hot. I experimented with it again a 2nd time and added garlic & cilantro just for fun and again it was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      GREAT SAUCE I loved the cayenne pepper..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (946 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.4
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    12%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2173.2 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites