Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Salad

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2010

      We enjoyed this! I would add black olives next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Very good. I think I would cut down on the dressing next time, as it was very sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I followed thi recipe exactly. I loved it and will certainly make it again and again! Terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I used Fat Free Western dressing instead, you really save on fat and calories. This was a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I made this for a family BBQ one night, everyone loved it. I used whole wheat Tostitos and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I made this for us as a trial before the 4th of July party in our neighborhood. Yummy, I plan on doubling this for our block party. I love the flavor of the catalina in this. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This was yummy. I used ground turkey instead of the beef. I think next time, I would use more lettuce and tomatoes- and less ground beef/ dressing per serving. It was a fun recipe to try, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I made this as shown for a party we were attending and it was gone at the end of the night. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      This was a great recipe that I used as a base for a taco salad. I made some changes such as romaine lettuce instead of iceberg, Fritos instead of Doritos, added sliced cucumber to salad, and sauteed garlic and onion with the ground beef. I omitted the dressing, and it was absolutely delicious. Boyfriend and I both loved it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Very tasty and very easy. We half-ed the recipe and had too much left over for the two of us. Unless you have 10 people to feed, definatly make less. Half would have fed 4-5 people. Simple, fast and spicy! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I grew up eating this and it's always been one of my favs. The only change my family makes is subbing crushed fritos instead of doritos. Mmmm, I think I know what I'll be having for dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I love this recipe, hae made it a couple of times and the Catalina give a twag that it needs, it is also excellent the next day, not bad cold either. By the way Molly, I'm sure plain Doritos are the Nacho Cheese ones, since they are the original ones

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      I had actually never tried Catalina dressing, and was suprised to find that it tastes very similar to taco sauce. I didn't know what kind of taste it would have. I mixed this all up in a big bowl, and my family of 5 ended up eating about half of it. I put a lid on it and put it in the fridge, but after reading some of the other reviews, I think I should have kept the meat and chips separate from the lettuce mixture. I guess I didn't think of doing that b/c we usually don't have any taco salad leftovers, but this recipe made a lot. It was definately delicious. I wondered what you meant by "Plain Doritos". I've never seen just plain Doritos, so I thought maybe you meant the original ones with cheese, so that's what i used. It was good. My young daughter said "This is good. Those chips taste just like Doritos!" Ha ha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Good! I taste tested it before the Catalina dressing and I think I liked it more minus the dressing. Great recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Wonderful, easy salad...I had some meat leftover from tacos and some chips so this was easy...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Delicious! I only made one change and that was to use just pound of ground beef and add a drained and rinsed can of kidney beans. I also had to put the onions and tomtoes on the side to add in for those who wanted it. This will be a regular for us as it is so good and so easy (my favorite recipe word...easy)! UPDATE: Don't throw out those leftovers!! I am having the leftovers for lunch today and YUM... the salad is still really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I have tried this recipe many times with different additions and it is always great. My favorite is using italian salad mix with radiccio, homemade taco seasoning, sliced red onion (raw as garnish) 1/2 can of black beans and 1/2 can of corn. I also use the fat free catalina and light cheddar cheese and only use the chips as garnish on the top instead of using the whole bag. I like adding cubed avocado as well. My husband enjoys this as a salad and as a filling for a wrap. He simply fills a flour tortilla with the salad and voila! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I Love this stuff!! Very easy to make and my boyfriend loved it!! (picky eater) Next time I'm going to try french dressing for and extra zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Hubby has been craving taco salad so I decided to try out your version, I added canned diced tomatoes, kidney beans and black olives and topped with sour cream and a little salsa on the side for more taste and color. Hubby said "I don't know what you added to that but it was out of this world!" I think what he couldn't figure out was the dressing...lol Very good! Will make again and THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I have been making this exact recipe for years. It is deceptively tasty -- you wouldn't think this combination of ingredients would taste good, but it does. The only thing I do differently is add a can (sometimes less) of rinsed kidney beans, and I use fritos instead of doritos. On the dressing, make sure to add it based on preference -- don't dump the whole bottle on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 692.2
     
    Calories from Fat 457
    66%
    Total Fat 50.8 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 85.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 804.8 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 26.5 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites