Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Salad

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      An absolutely awesome salad! Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This stuff is unbelievably yummy! We add diced raw onions and black olives. The flavors blend together perfectly. The kids use Creamy French dressing but I love the Catalina. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it...five stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

      I was looking for something different to make using ground beef and came across this recipe. I was skeptical about trying it because of the dressing but it was good. I used Frito Lay corn chip scoops instead of the doritos. Instead of mixing it all together, I made individual salads and topped it off with a dollop of sour cream. The leftover ingredients are easier to store this way and you don't have to worry about the salad getting soggy. My son and I really enjoyed this meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Ah...the classic taco salad...I add black olives, green onions and kidney beans to mine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I have to give this 5 stars becasue every time I make it people love it. However, I am not a big fan of it. The dish is just okay to me, but everyone else loves it!!!! Everytime we have a potluck they ask me to bring it. I also add Jalapeno peppers and sour cream to top it off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Hi and thanks so much for posting this recipe. My mom used to make this when we were kids but she left off the dressing so we could choose what flavor..it goes with southwestern ranch, green goddess, french, catalina, blue cheese and plan ole' sour cream. She also sauteed the onions and added fresh green ones and used chili beans and left some of the chili flavored juice in the lettuce. The chili juice and the juice from the tomatoes coats the lettuce so much already that we don't miss the added calories from all that added dressing! Anyway, I made your posted recipe tonight and added my mom's changes and as I ate I found myself thinking about old times....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      We loved this! I halved the recipe for the 2 of us. I had some home-made thousand island dressing left over I had to use up, so I mixed half Catalina and half thousand and it was great! Like other reviewers, I added some black olives, topped with some sour cream and made individual salads so the leftovers would stay good for the next day. Thanks for posting, busy mom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This recipe is great - the only changes I made was to use Ortega Taco Sauce instead of the Catalina dressing,and Nacho Cheese Doritos. My family loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      Good recipe i added a can of drained kidney beans as well as crushed taco flavored doritos instead of a packet of taco seasoning. I did add a teaspoon of cumin to the ground beef. Everyone loved it and have made it for many potlucks and tail gates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      SO GOOD! I added diced green onions, black beans, and kidney beans and served it with http://www.food.com/recipe/chef-salad-dressing-176110. Quick, easy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      This is a great recipe. Wasn't sure about the dressing but I think that is what made the salad. This salad creates so much that it would be great for a pot luck or other social gathering. Absolutely keeping this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Love it love it! I cooked my onions along with my ground beef, and I added black olives as a topping choice also!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      This turned out so wonderful, and it's so simple to prepare! I'll keep this recipe on hand for those days that we're craving Taco Salad. I liked the comments from others of adding black olives and green onions, which I might consider for the future. Thank you for sharing your recipe, busy mom. Made for Zaar Cookbook tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Great easy salad. Instead of iceberg since no one in my house likes it, I used 2 romaine hearts. Also instead of 2 tomatoes, I used a pint of grape/cherry tomatoes diced. To add some extra protein, a can of drained and rinsed kidney beans! Even as left overs tastes good, although the chips lose their crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      Terrific taco salad! So easy to make, too. I must say that I'm used to either a ranch-based or sour cream dressing on my taco salads, but I really enjoyed the tangy catalina dressing. It is best to keep the chips seperate and stir them in just before eating. Like other taco salads, it's best eaten the same day. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      Very good! I made it with http://www.food.com/recipe/kittencals-taco-seasoning-mix-76616 (used half) instead of taco seasoning and I used seasoned Arriba tortilla chips in zesty taco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      I love this because it is sweet and savory and I swear by plain doritos as the best chip to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Very good and easy. It was a hit with my family! This is just the way I like taco salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

    • on September 22, 2010

      This was a hit! I changed it a little by using regular tortilla chips, green onions, and spicy ranch dressing. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 692.2
     
    Calories from Fat 457
    66%
    Total Fat 50.8 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 85.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 804.8 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 26.5 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes