74 Reviews

An absolutely awesome salad! Will definitely make this again and again. Thanks so much for the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnne Conaway August 12, 2002

This stuff is unbelievably yummy! We add diced raw onions and black olives. The flavors blend together perfectly. The kids use Creamy French dressing but I love the Catalina. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it...five stars all the way!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsWevs May 13, 2010

I was looking for something different to make using ground beef and came across this recipe. I was skeptical about trying it because of the dressing but it was good. I used Frito Lay corn chip scoops instead of the doritos. Instead of mixing it all together, I made individual salads and topped it off with a dollop of sour cream. The leftover ingredients are easier to store this way and you don't have to worry about the salad getting soggy. My son and I really enjoyed this meal.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smithwj July 25, 2003

Ah...the classic taco salad...I add black olives, green onions and kidney beans to mine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jstaylor62 June 29, 2011

Hi and thanks so much for posting this recipe. My mom used to make this when we were kids but she left off the dressing so we could choose what flavor..it goes with southwestern ranch, green goddess, french, catalina, blue cheese and plan ole' sour cream. She also sauteed the onions and added fresh green ones and used chili beans and left some of the chili flavored juice in the lettuce. The chili juice and the juice from the tomatoes coats the lettuce so much already that we don't miss the added calories from all that added dressing! Anyway, I made your posted recipe tonight and added my mom's changes and as I ate I found myself thinking about old times....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton September 05, 2009

I have to give this 5 stars becasue every time I make it people love it. However, I am not a big fan of it. The dish is just okay to me, but everyone else loves it!!!! Everytime we have a potluck they ask me to bring it. I also add Jalapeno peppers and sour cream to top it off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jimmy's Cook December 24, 2009

We loved this! I halved the recipe for the 2 of us. I had some home-made thousand island dressing left over I had to use up, so I mixed half Catalina and half thousand and it was great! Like other reviewers, I added some black olives, topped with some sour cream and made individual salads so the leftovers would stay good for the next day. Thanks for posting, busy mom.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 21, 2009

This recipe is great - the only changes I made was to use Ortega Taco Sauce instead of the Catalina dressing,and Nacho Cheese Doritos. My family loves it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GRANNYLKM August 15, 2005

I took this to a potluck, it was a hit, in fact, I didn't get to try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth December 27, 2015

Good recipe i added a can of drained kidney beans as well as crushed taco flavored doritos instead of a packet of taco seasoning. I did add a teaspoon of cumin to the ground beef. Everyone loved it and have made it for many potlucks and tail gates.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STU H. September 25, 2014
Taco Salad